And so the continuing starts.

 

So now we’ve moved, my cats, dogs and I. Like all moves it will take some time to adjust to the new place even though it shouldn’t be any different. My front page looks different even though it’s the same design and I have no idea why🙂 I guess the text will look a bit different and the photographs will be a bit smaller, perhaps not a totally bad idea since they were bigger than what our screens sometimes could show🙂

 

 

 

 

 

I’ll also have to change some settings in my computer so this place will be the first thing I’ll see every time I start the internet. I’ve already tried that several times but since I just recently have changed web browser to Lunascape I’m not sure how to do it🙂 Perhaps I’ll try another if I can’t figure out how to do the change, but I have to say this that Lunascape is very fast and that’s a plus that is hard to ignore. I could of course use Google chrome but I don’t like it when a company gets too big, power will always be abused in one way or the other when companies get that big. Just think about how Google agreed on China’s terms of censorship. It doesn’t help that they changed their minds after a while, they had already shown that money changes rules way to easily.

 

 

 

We walked down to the abandoned church this morning. The hill on the right is actually covering several tombs and what’s left of old settlements. It stretches for a couple of hundred meters (much the same in yards).

 

 

It’s a bit chilly today and it doesn’t help that the sun shines from time to time it’s still just as cold outside. So I have a fire in the stove so that at least my little cottage feel nice and warm. This is one of those days one won’t get a guilty conscience by staying indoors most of the time even if it doesn’t rain🙂 I think I’ll bake a bread instead and perhaps watch a dvd or two.

 

There isn’t much left of the old church and now I know why it was abandoned. The Black plague had hit this area badly several times and they believed that the grave yard continued to spread the disease. So they left the place to never return. Well they used the stones from that church to build the new one hundreds of years later.

 

So there is a lot of graves here but I have never seen any stones though. Perhaps they used wooden cross instead?

 

 

 

Well, I better get started if I want that bread to be baked. The soup I made yesterday got a bit over cooked but still tasted just great anyway. I guess that all electric things works a bit different, like stoves can be a bit warmer or colder than what we have adjusted them to be. So next time I’ll have a better check on what’s happening in the slow cooker. I read some recipes and none of them had potatoes in them, even if the piucture clearly showed potatoes on the plate. Does it take too long top cook them or too fast compared to the other things in the cooker?

 

 

 

 

 

I think I’ll take another walk with my dogs before I start anything else, they really don’t care if it is a bit chilly, on the contrary🙂 the colder the better🙂

 

 

Have a great day and welcome to my new home here in the blogosphere!

12 thoughts on “And so the continuing starts.

  1. Beautiful pictures of the sun casting its light in various places. The abandoned church area looks like a desolate spot. Always enjoy seeing the horses, and the mushrooms too. Little Sune always moving at full speed. your new home is looking good, I should have brought a housewarming gift. Good luck working out all the settings and such.

    • Hi Robin!

      It is a desolate area but still very close to the nearest houses. I love walking there, it does feel like I am walking around in a church even if it is gone since long.

      Sune has started to walk more slowly now, now slow but more slowly🙂 Soon he’ll be six months old!

      An old tradition over here when coming to a new home is to either throw lots of copins or rice on the kitchen floor. That means that the home will never be out of money or food. The rice must be dry though🙂🙂🙂 But I’m just glad if You all will follow me to this place🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! welcome to your new home. i will send you a link to lots of slow cooker recipes. today’s photos are fabulous! i love the one with the gate and of course, the suni ones! joyce

  3. Hi Christer,
    Love the new space. Nice and roomy and big fonts, too. The old space had acquired a weird pop-up banner at the bottom of the screen and interfered with the photos. I remember Z&M complaining about it. It’s gone now. He would have been pleased.

    Glad the soup tasted good even if overcooked. It takes a few uses to figure out your slowcooker. I still say the recipes have not been upgraded to the hotter temperatures that the new slowcookers use. Potatoes might need to be added at the last hour of cooking. They cook quickly and would probably turn to mush if you put them in at the beginning. I get a lot of recipes off the crockpot group on Ravelry which is a knitting website. Knitters like to talk about a lot of other things, though.🙂
    If you google slowcooker recipes, I’m sure you’ll find a ton of them.
    Here’s a good slow cooker blog: http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/

    My niece’s dance team did a lovely job yesterday and I only had to watch 20 minutes of actual football. It’s a minor conference university team and most students had gone home for the long weekend holiday so not crowded. The weather was warm and sunny. Best way to watch football, if you have to actually be at the field.🙂

    Today is cold, autumn weather and we’re going back into a rainy cycle.
    Enjoy the bread. You can make it in a crockpot, you know.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      Kat has the same banner in her blog too but it’s white so it doesn’t show that much. I don’t want it but can’t find any way to get rid of it!
      Yes Z&M woyld have been plkeased🙂

      Yes I guess they all give a little different temperatures so I’ll have to keep an eye on it now in the beginning. I’ll start buying things tomorrow so I at least can start cooking properly next weekend. I don’t like to have things working while I’m at sleep. I know they are safe but there’s always one or two that will malfunktion and start burning🙂🙂🙂

      Thanks for the link! I’ll check it out after this!

      I’m glad You didn’t have to suffer for too long before Your niece danced🙂 I’m more of a baseball watcher🙂

      Yes I saw that I could make bread in the crokpot, but I was just about to start baking when I realized that I had neither yeast nor bakingsoda at home🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Well Hey!
    I love the new place! very nice.🙂🙂🙂
    fav photos are the one of the horse, way back in the distance.
    and of course Sune.
    I stayed inside all day myself (except a quick trip to the library and grocery store) and then came home and moved furniture all over the place. It’s like a new house! Ha!
    I broke down last night and turned the heat on.😦
    I wasn’t going to do it yet but my toes were so very cold and what really made me turn on the furnace was the sight of all my little dogs piled together on ONE dog bed. Obviously to share their body heat.
    sigh.
    so, I turned the damn thing on, guess I will always have a high bill from the electric company.
    well, at least I’m fortunate that I actually have the ability to get warm.
    I had soup last night too! Tomato Basil with BIG fat noodles. Yum.
    Mine cooked a bit faster than yours.
    I pulled the tab on the lid, dumped it into the saucepan and it was ready in less tham 5 minutes!
    my kind of cooking! hahahahahaha!😀

    • Hi again🙂

      The one with the horses way back is my favorite for the day too🙂

      I hate to have to turn on the radiators! Thankfully I have my stove so no radiator is working yet🙂 I did however turn it on a couple of days before the stove was renovated. I really don’t like those electricity bills we get during winter. For some reason all nuclear powerplants have to be repaired when it is as coldest during winter, so they can keepm the electricity prices way up higher than they need to be! That’s the way it is when a few companies co-owns all powerplants.

      I think a slow cooker will be great because now I can cook the entire day withoutr having to keep an eye on it all the time🙂 OPn pot like that and I have dinner for an entire week🙂 Falköping (my town) is a Citta Slow so it’s nice that I can say I’m a Human slow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Kul med ett nytt ställe, även om mycket är sig likt! Härliga hästliga foton, speciellt dom med flyttfåglarna!!
    Jag gjorde en potatis- och purjolökssoppa igår och det tog bara 15 minuter för potatisen att koka sönder i en vanlig kastrull. Fast jag skulle gärna ha en modern tryckkokare också, kommer ihåg mammas som hon använde jättemycket – men den var lite läskig!🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja någon större skilnad är det inte trots allt. Men här finns 3 GB utrymme🙂

      Tryckkokare har jag alltid haft repect för, de var ju inte alltid helt säkra i början🙂 Men en slowcooker passar mig perfekt, då kan jag laga mat hela dagen utan att behöva bry mig om det🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, like any move things take time to adjust too. I seem to have a problem with WordPress blogs because for some reason the comments area always keeps jumping when I try to get to it. Not sure if this happens to everyone, but it is very unique to the WP blogs I read. We really enjoy using our crockpot, although we put it away during the warmer months and will be glad to start using it again. Chicken is one of our favorites to cook, along with pork and soup is always a good thing to make in a crockpot and all are so easy and cook themselves with a bit of prep work. Never tried bread in one or any desserts.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      That happens to me when I use my mobile phone to check if there are any comments here. Really annoying but I think it has to do with the downloading of the photographs.

      I’ll start using my crock-pot this weekend, I don’t want it to work while I’m sleeping or when I am at work just in case🙂 But I was thinking about chicken and that it most probably would be perfect in it. I won’t bake in it though, that’s easier to do in the stove while I still have the fire burning.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

