All these diseases.

 

They say we’ll have frost tonight and I do believe them, It’s 6:42 pm and it’s only 4,1 C (39,4 F) outdoors. The newspapers call it Arctic cooling. The critical part of me says that it will most likely be colder later on in winter so if I was one of them I would start a bit less dramatic like Fridge cold? It’s so much easier to make sensational headlines after that๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

Most of us at work now have stuffed noses, sour throats andย one freeze all the time. It wouldn’t be a good thing if we all had to stay at home at the same time๐Ÿ™‚ But if we would miss getting sick by this cold we might get impetigo instead๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ A work friend saw a signย at the preschool her kids goes to that some kids had gotten impetigo, just by telling us that we all started to scratch ourselves๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

While I was searching for info about how impetigo infects others (by touch only) I read about cowpox. Did You know that if one gets cowpox one can’t get smallpox? I didn’t know that but since we all now days are vaccinated against smallpox we really don’t need to know. But if I understood things right that was how they started vaccinate people against smallpox, they simply infected people with cowpox instead.

 

 

 

 

It’s time to make something to eat and a pot of tea of course. My dogs are sleeping all over the place and my cats are out hunting, they might start staying indoors during night from now on if we’ll get a couple of frost nights. Teodor first and after a long time even Bertil will give up his night-timeย hunting. Talking about hunting, the moose hunt has started here now so I’ll stay out of the forest for a week or so when we’ll take our walks after work. I’m not sure they still are out there but won’t take aย  chance that they aren’t๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “All these diseases.

  1. I love the contrast in your top photos…dark looming skies, with golden trees and fields below.
    It was 31 degrees F this early morning, but no frost. I had to wear my winter coat, ugh.
    Bertil is too stubborn to let you think he is cold outside. Teo has much more sense!!
    Impetigo, gosh, I haven’t heard of that since the kids were little. But I have never heard of cow pox!!

    • Hi Robin!

      I like the one with the stable/barn and yeloow maple too, especially the orange reflection in the ditch.

      Icy cold here this morning and black ice on the roads, it was a veru exiting drive to work but I’ll tell You more about that tomorrow.

      Bertil is to wild I think๐Ÿ™‚ He still doesn’t understand that he wouldn’t survive by him self in this climate๐Ÿ™‚

      Long time since I heard about any of them, impetigos do turn up every now and again though especially at preeschools.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    You know the protective gear that you wear at the other factory? You might want to start wearing it all the time until cold and impetigo season has passed.๐Ÿ™‚
    I knew about the cowpox preventing smallpox. Read it school a long time ago. Someone or other noticed that the dairy maids who had been exposed to cowpox didn’t get smallpox and that’s how they came up with smallpox vaccine.
    The third photo is my favorite along with the side shot of Nova. She’s beautiful.
    The weather here is murky at the moment. I was up north in New Hampshire for the day and it was murky there, too. It’s mid 50’s Fahrenheit. I was giving a massage so I had to wear short sleeved shirt and I ran out without a jacket this morning. It wasn’t too cold, though.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Not a bad idea but I’ll boil in that overall after a while๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I can’t remember ever learning anything about cowpox stopping smallpox, I wonder if cowpox behaves like chickenpox and only shows one time? Well not exactly true, I’ve had chickenpox several times๐Ÿ™‚ Normally it becomes shingles after that.

      Warm and sunny here today but the night was rather cold and we had blck ice wich I can’t say I liked at all, more about that tomorrow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! have you made anything else in your slow cooker? did you get the link for recipes that i sent to you? i almost got a cold but it went away thank gods! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      No I’ll start this weekend. I want to be able to check what happens the first times before I let it handle things totally by it self๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes I got the link and it will be very useful!

      I still have that cold but it doesn’t seem to wantb to break out, just as well we have way to much to do at work๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Well, Christer, you have been very busy! The last few weeks I have barely been home and got woefully behind on visiting. I, too, love the look of this new blog and am only sorry that your summer month has gone and you are, once again, facing the winter and all the aches and pains that that brings. Impetigo is never to be taken lightly and I’m glad that your taking precaution. Has Sure adjusted to walking the different route or will you have to tie her to one of the other dogs, again? I don’t think she will like that. We are just starting to get cooler weather and the last two days were overcast and rainy and the temperature had dropped into the 50s โ€“ which is summertime, for you! โ€“ and I almost had to turn on my heat. As usual, your pictures are absolutely gorgeous and definitely brightened my day.๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ˜‰ Come visit when you can.

    • Hi Sharlene!

      Yes our summer was too short, a week in May๐Ÿ™‚ The rest was really just a very early autumn here๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m not quite sure if You mean Sune or Nova๐Ÿ™‚ Sune walks mostly by himself now and Nova has one field that is leash free. I can see the entire field so no hares are waiting just to tease her๐Ÿ™‚ The rest of the time she walks either with me or together with Orvar. They work really good together and he stops her every time she wants to do something stupid๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I have a fire in the stove every day now, last night was really cold and we had blck ice on the roads. I’ll tell You more about that tomorrow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    Your pictures even look cold to me. There is something about that dark sky and the light.

    I was complaining about it being in the 40’s last night, and there you are with frost and ice. i guess I’ll hold off my complaints until winter really does arrive though my heat did come on this morning and Gracie’s ears were cold.

    Gracie stays out less on cold nights. During the day, when the sun is warmer, she roams but nighttime is for sleeping on the couch.

    • Hi Kat!

      As You say, it shows in the photographs that we’re having colder weather now. Nasty cold in the mornings๐Ÿ™‚
      None of my dogs seems to care though, not even Sune think that it’s especially cold๐Ÿ™‚

      I start a fire in the stove as soon as I come home now and the radiators are working as well. I do hope this is temporary and that warmer weather soon will arrive again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I’m so sorry that you have to deal with Fridge Cold. I agree, it’s probably going to get much much colder, Grrrr or should I say Brrrrr
    I had Chickenpox when I was young and then several years ago I had this burning pain. I kept telling people that it hurt and no one really listened. I thought I had a rash or something and finally went to the Doctor and I had Shingles!
    Everyone said to me that Shingles are very painful and I replied to them – “That is what I tried to tell you!”. I now realize that most of the people I know just wave off any complaints so I just whine about them on the Internet! Ha!๐Ÿ˜€

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m not happy about this but I can’t stop it. I’m just hoping we won’t get freezer cold for quite some time yet๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I just keep on getting chickenpox but I won’t complain, I’ve heard how painful shingles can be and how long that pain can stay!

      That’s the way to do it, it’s easier to get sympathie on the internet๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

