A bit more exiting than what I like!

 

It feels like autumn has moved in to a new stage, the cold part. We now have -5 C (23 F) at night and just above 8 C (46 F) duri´ng the day even if the sun is shining. Well what else is to expect, winter’s just around the corner but I still hope it’ll turn towards warmer (and perhaps rainier) weather again. I so want a warm winter again like the one we had last time.

 

 

 

 

It rained all Tuesday and I wrote here that the drive to work would be very exiting. I’ve never been more right in my entire life🙂 The road in the village was no problem and I test braked a couple of times n the road outside the village, no problems at all. I was really surprised that the road was as good as it was. I did drive a bit slower than normal though and came down to the big highway without any problems. Before I turned left I saw a car that behaved rather strangely, it sort of swerved and suddenly the flashers started to flash that show it would turn to the right, even if it was impossible to turn right for several hundred meters (much the same in yards)

 

 

 

 

I wondered if it was a drunk driver and decided it was best to pass it as quickly as possible. I came up in speed rather quickly and then I realized that the driver wasn’t drunk at all, most possibly very sober. I realized that when the back wheels of my car tried to pass the front ones🙂🙂🙂 I don’t think I’ve ever been as afraid as I was yesterday morning. It is anything but fun when a car can’t decide if the front or the back should go first in 90 km/t (56 mi/h) Thankfully I was alone on the road by that time, the other car had finally found a parking spot and there were no other cars that I could meet.

 

 

 

 

There’s nothing much one can do that just sit in the car hoping the front will win when the road is covered with black ice. I was lucky and let the car slow down very much🙂 But that didn’t help at all, any speed was too fast to be honest so I too found a parking spot by the road and then I phoned my boss. Even though I have speed dial on my mobile phone I shivered so much that I hardly could make the phone make the call🙂🙂🙂 I sat there for a long time and since no other cars were to be seen I slowly, slowly started ti drive to work again. My boss said that the smaller roads to work were just fine and I was rather close to one of them🙂

 

 

 

 

There were other people who weren’t as lucky as I was and one died. So I was very, very careful this morning and started very early just so I could drive when nobody else was out on the roads but today was a much better day when it came to roads🙂 But I still am worried in my stomach after yesterdays exiting drive to work🙂🙂🙂 I’ll turn back home again if I ever find the roads in that condition again! Now it’s time for something to eat and a pot of tea🙂

 

 

 

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “A bit more exiting than what I like!

  1. oh wow christer! so glad you are safe. nothing is worse than black ice. i made a drive all the way to new york once on black ice. it was awful. that photo of the tree hugging bertil is so funny! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Me too🙂 If there had been only one car coming towards me I’m not sure I would sit here today because that car couldn’t have braked either. I have never driven on a road totally covered in black ice beafore and I hope I’ll never do again! How You made it to New York I can’t understand🙂🙂🙂

      I thought You all would like that photo of Bertil🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Your guardian angel was definitely watching over you, Christer. Icy roads are the scariest and most dangerous. Very thankful you made it through in one piece. I have had some bad experiences here in the winter too.
    Bertil on the tree! great shot. And the one of all the dogs is excellent!
    It is very chilly here today with a strong breeze. Low temps at night, tomorrow it’s forecast to be a low of 29 degrees F. Ack!!

    • Hi Robin!

      I think my guardian angel never have worked as hard as it did yesterday🙂🙂🙂 I’ve never driven on a road totally covered by black ice before, it’s bad enough when it has spots of it but this was worse🙂🙂🙂

      It was rather nice in the sunshine but it’s already below freezing point here now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. We haven’t yet had frost here in Ontario, last night it was down to 3.2c, and today it has reached 11c, but cloudy. Have not turned on the furnace yet, trying to wait until November.

    • Hi Lois!

      We’ve had unusually little frost here so far and I was hoping it would stay that way🙂

      I have a fire in my stove every evening and I have turned on the radiators but on a low temperature. It would be nasty cold here if I waited until November🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I am glad you are okay. I know the feeling you had. I went to pass a semi on a major freeway. All of a sudden I hit black ice. I remember thinking of how bad this was going to hurt when I hit the semi. He saw the ice as well…..and pulled off the road. I kept the same speed and never slid. Whew, I thought it was all over. I love winter as long as I have food, heat and can stay in., hah.

    • Hi Debby!

      Me too🙂 It was just awful!

      We both are lucky that nothing worse happened! I was at least alone on the road🙂 But it wouldn’t have been nice to hit the wild life fence and perhaps keep on going in to a tree in the forest.

      Yes winter is nice as long as I don’t have to go anywhere🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    My computer is acting up so I hope this post goes somewhere. Half your photos didn’t show up until I clicked on the blank space of one of the missing ones. When I back arrowed, all the rest were there.
    Your drive to work sounds awful. Glad nothing serious happened. Black ice is scary stuff. I’ve had my experiences with it many times.
    Frost is predicted for us on Friday night. When I happened to look out my front well before dawn this morning I saw that Orion the Hunter was a couple of hours up in the sky. Haven’t seen him since last spring. The first sighting of Orion out my front door in the early hours before dawn always made me a bit sad. It means winter is coming. Now I don’t mind so much because I’m retired and I don’t have to go out in the winter weather unless I feel like it. I can afford to appreciate Orion the Hunter again.😀
    I have beef stew planned for my crockpot tomorrow.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It reached me🙂 But something I can’t understand is why I have to approve You all once again? I’m still at WordPress and still have that old blog so I can’t understand that.
      That happens to me too in other peoples blogs, I can’t understand that either🙂🙂🙂

      I can see Orion all year long so that’s no sign of winter here, it’s actually the first star sign I see when I open up the kitchen door in the morning. I have to admit that I don’t see it especially often during summer though, it’s only dark a couple of hours way after I’ve went to bed🙂🙂🙂 Frost every night now but the roads are good now🙂 Normally it’s the smaller roads that are bad and not the opposite🙂

      I’ll see what I put in mine this weekend🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Of course I love the Bertil photo.🙂🙂🙂
    I think I might know how you felt on that black ice. One winter when I went to drive down the hill that I usually take to go to work, I watched a huge truck slide out of control as it tried to make it up the hill, I was able to turn down a side street and drive over to a more traveled hill. But it’s just as steep. So I very very slowly started down, my van just slid this way and that. It slowly spun to an almost backwards position and the car behind me was sliding right for my drivers side door.
    I really thought that was the end but they slowly spun in a half circle and ended up side by side with me. I didn’t know what to do so I slowly took my foot off the brake and turned the wheels and slid the rest of the way down, right through the traffic light. It was a miracle that I didn’t get hit then too! I figured I couldn’t go back home and back UP the hill, so I drove on to work. I still remember how shaky I was.
    Yep, in the future I hope the streets are salted better or better yet, just stay home.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Thank God I didn’t have to drive down or up a hill🙂🙂🙂 Thankfully there’s very few ups and down on the road to work🙂 Breaking on black ice is probably the worst thing one can do though🙂 That usually only make things woirse🙂

      I was shaky the whole day and I really hope I never have to go through anything like that again! Normally the salt our roads as soon as someone thinks of frost but this time they never came out at all. I’ll never complain if they start early again🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      I’m quite happy about that too🙂🙂🙂 I’m so glad I start to work early in the morning so very few cars are out on the roads, things could have gone so much worse.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Deanna!

      I’m too🙂 It is nasty and I do hope they are out early with the salt lorry next time!

      Bertil often climb up trees like that and he knows how to get down again, his brother Teodor doesn’t so he usually sits at thetop of a low tree (he’s to fat to climb up the higer trees🙂 ) shouting until I can bring him down again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

