Today I’m very serious.

Swedish television is showing a short tv-series ( documentary mixed with some fiction and the characters have different names) about when AIDS started to kill homosexuals here in Sweden. The two main characters are two young men, one from a small town out on the country side (Rasmus) and one from Stockholm (our capital) and he is a Jehovah’s witness (Benjamin). The series shows how they were treated in media and especially how Benjamin is treated by his parents when he leaves Jehovah’s witness, they visit him with flowers and cake because this is his funeral. We also see news bills that has existed and especially the christians says horrible things. One said: A priest says it’s good that they die. I remember that one very well because I wondered how evil someone could be.

I was 19 years old 1983 when the first man died of Aids in Sweden and the characters in the series is around that age too. One after one they die or take their lives and it is a heart breaking story. After I saw that news bill again after so many years I’ve been wondering why christians so gladly tells homosexuals (and others they don’t like) that they will end up in hell because of that, because that’s simply not true and they know it! So I thought I would get very serious today and write about religion, the christian religion.

Lets start with the easy part🙂 going to hell because of a sin. I know many of You that read my blog has another religion now days but was brought up in the christian faith so most of You’ll know what I write about. So what sins leads directly to hell? Most of You now most likely start to think about the seven deadly sins, like gluttony. But I’m sorry to say that You’re wrong, there’s only one sin according to the New Testament. It’s blasphemy towards the Holy Spirit. Jesus himself says (Matt 12: 31-32) Even blasphemy towards me or any other sin can be forgiven. All but one: If one sin towards the Holy Spirit one will never be forgiven, not in this wold or in the world that will come. So it is a lie to say that someone will go to hell just because he or she is living in a homosexual partnership/ marriage.

By Jesus saying this shows how important he thinks the Holy Spirit is, more important than himself! That helps us with the next part, why homosexuality isn’t a sin at all! Back in the Old Testament days the Jews had (and still have) lots of rules given by god. One weren’t allowed to have two kinds of crop in the same field, weren’t allowed to eat all kinds of food, not allowed to be anything else than heterosexual or my favorite, You weren’t allowed to have two different kinds of fibers in the cloth of Your clothes. Breaking most of these rules usually meant that the villagers could drag You out of the village and stone you to death. Most rules did however have a rather sensible explanation, sea food that weren’t kept cold and pigs meat could be dangerous.

After Jesus had been crucified and resurrected the Apostles started to spread the new belief, the one we now call Christianity. Some of them started to tell the pagans who believe in Jesus that they had to adapt to the jewish rule of circumcision and that they had to follow the old jewish customs and ceremonies, something that upset many of them. So the apostles had a meeting in Jerusalem discussing and praying about this. When they had reached a decision they sent a letter to the christians in Antioch, Syria and Cilicia (I hope I translated these places name right now) . In the Acts of the Apostles 15: 28-29 it says: The Holy Spirit and we have decided not to put any burden of the jewish laws on You. But You should absolutely not eat food that has been sacrificed to idols as well as meat from suffocated animals where the blood still is left. You should naturally not have extramarital relations. If You follow this it’s enough. (I do hope my own translation isn’t to bad).

As You can see it says nothing about same-sex relations at all. I know there are other places that mentions this in the New Testament ( Paul’s letter to the Christians in Rome, Letter of Jude) but here it says that the Holy Spirit has together with the Apostles decided that the only exceptions are those mentioned above (the Holy Spirit isn’t mentioned at all in the two above and therefore it can only be their personal opinion in my opinion)! As we now know Jesus himself considered the Holy Spirit even more important than himself and to say that homosexuality is a deadly sin is to say that one knows better than the Holy Spirit and by saying that one is awfully close to commit the only sin that can’t be forgiven. Now You might say that the Old Testament says otherwise and I would answer yes it does. But since I’m christian the New Testament is my most important book and what is written there is more important than what’s written in the Old Testament. If You like those old rules so much that You actually don’t care about what Jesus, the Holy Spirit and the Apostles has said why don’t You convert to Judaism since that seems to be Your real faith?

I hope that some of You have managed to stay awake until now🙂 But it is important to know that many people who calls themselves Christian really aren’t! They claim they judge people to hell with love but look in to their eyes and You won’t see anything but hate. It is not our job to judge anyone anytime! Jesus is all about love, understanding and forgiveness nothing else! If I ever write anything religious again I might bring up Love Your enemy, something many “christians” rather die than do🙂 Or love Your neighbor, who is Your neighbor? have You ever tought about that?

It’s time to make something to eat and naturally a pot of tea🙂

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Today I’m very serious.

  1. Christer, excellent post! You have captured the Spirit and Meaning of being a Christian. Unfortunately there are so many, many who call themselves Christian, but who absolutely do not follow the ways and teachings of their Savior. This is one of the reasons I left the Christian faith (there are other reasons, too…but that is a long story). It is a sad reality that hatred and intolerance is the driving force behind many religious people.
    You have written well on this subject.

    • Hi Robin!

      Glad You liked it🙂
      Yes too many call themselves christian but really doesn’t know what that means, full of hate and envy as they are. I have my own ideas as well🙂🙂🙂 but hate is not one of them and that seems to be the force behind too many of those calling themselves chritian.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. things are finally beginning to change in this country. more and more celebrities are coming out and they sure get people’s attention. i don’t care who anyone loves. love is a good thing. your post shows exactly why i hate religion. they are all composed of man’s rules to get other people to do things the way they want them to be done.

    • Hi Joyce!

      It still very much the dark ages out here on the countryside but more and more people dares to be who they are and they have my full support. In the big cities however most people don’t think about seeing two men or women walking hand in hand or kissing each other. Love can never hurt anyone so I can’t understand all this hate so many christians show?!

      Most religions are actually not that bad, it’s the followers that are dangerous I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Christianity, as we know it today, is a Roman construct designed to further Roman imperialist ideals. It has nothing to do with anything that the historical Jesus (if there was one) was talking about.
    Jesus had very little to say about sex but he had quite a lot to say about money and what should be done with it. Some modern “Christians” have gotten it the wrong way round.

    I wish more people were like Roger Williams. He was an early proponent of religious freedom and separation of church and state. He founded Providence Rhode Island and made it a haven for those “distressed of conscience”. Don’t get me wrong, he believed that his way was the right way and all others were flawed but he also believed that people were free to choose their way. People should only be converted to his way by him being a shining example of that message.
    Be your faith. Show me by the living example of your life that your faith might be worthy of my consideration. Get all up in my face about it and try to force it on me and I will close my ears, eyes and mind to the entire message.

    Nice fire cat in photo 1.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true and those putting our bible together worked under death threat if they couldn’t put it together🙂🙂
      I think there’s enough evidence that a man called Jesus and that did strange things has existed and not only from christian sources. I guess sex wasn’t that a big issue to be honest, as You say money and rich people and their ways was way more important to talk about! Something man of those hateful people tend not to understand🙂

      I’ve read about Roger Williams and he too had his ways🙂🙂🙂

      I do like that photo!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Debby!

      Thank You🙂

      Those hateful are so much noisier than the ones that actually follows what Jesus said I’m afraid. There vare few people that can be as hateful as some that call themselves christian, well muslims too but then again we do share the same God🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Excellent post today, Christer. And, that’s how I always interpreted the loss of Heaven, was to deny the Holy Spirit. The Bible has been written by many different people, including Jesus, and Satan, but you’ll sure fire up a lot of Christians when you remind them of that – not to mention the many revisions. If people truly lived by the Book, they could not call themselves Christians if they gossiped. There are 141 proscriptions against gossip in the Bible which, in my opinion, says you’re not supposed to do it because of all the harm that results. Most isms have been created to control the people who are comfortable within the doctrine. I think it’s important to use discernment and know the difference between what God has written and what man has written; but, I feel I will be well under ground when, and if, that occurs. Come visit when you can.

    • Hi Sharlene!

      Yes the bible is written by many and not always or in any case by the one that is said to be the author.

      No, they don’t like to be reminded of that at all🙂🙂

      So true about the gossip! Still even the apostles gossiped quite a lot🙂 Gossip is most likely one of the worst things we can to do be honest, that can hurt so much more than anything else. The problem is that so many people stops to use their brain as soon as they call themselves christian. If someone tells them that this is how we’re supposed to think and believe they’ll do it without thinking if it’s right or wrong. I guess that it’s a good thing to have problems with authorities sometimes🙂🙂🙂

      Even if they aren’t written to controll people someones will use them to do so. That’s why I never would like a christian party to have power in my country, power corrupts no matter who gets it.

      I’m afraid that never will happen🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Last week I found a movie at the library called “Religulous” , yes I spelled that right. It’s done by Bill Maher.
    It’s his take on religion and the people who follow. When I checked it out, I swear the librarian frowned. Yeah, she’s probably a Christian angry that someone might want to hear the other side of things. But I have to say, I really agreed with him. Truthfully, some of the meanest people that I have met in my life, get up and go to church every Sunday. That’s ONE of the reasons that organized religion scares the hell out of me. Yep, large groups of loud angry righteous people are not a good thing. Personally, I don’t discuss my views on religion usually since I’m surrounded by church goers but I believe more in Science and Magic! 😀😀😀😀😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      I can imagine how that librarian looked when You borrowed that book🙂🙂🙂 Over here she would most likely not understand that it might be about her in that book🙂🙂🙂 You see we all think we’re very normal in this coüntry, but other places …🙂🙂🙂

      It is true, most of the meanest people call themselves christian and is anything but! The most evil deeds have done by the christians churches during history and there’s no use denying it!

      I never hesitate to say what I think especially amongst church goers🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Very interesting post, my friend. You make some very valid points!

    Sad to say that some of us are so filled with hate, like many folks that I know! While I may not agree with some of the lifestyles out there, I can’t condem anyone because of it. After all, doesn’t the bible say ” Judge not, lest ye be judged?”

    • Hi Jim!

      Yes it is sad! I think that it’s ok not to agree with some lifestyles as long as we respect those people living them. And You are right, Judge not, let ye be judge. That’s something too many tends to forget.

      Have a great day my friend!
      Christer.

  7. I was enjoying your photos and switching around your archives when I came to this post. It saddens me when people say certain people are destined to go to Hell. I try to live by Jesus’s word. ” Love one another as I have loved you.” Aren’t we all Gods children. I don’t believe our Heavenly father has favorites. Lovely post.

    • Hi frombeyondmykitchenwindow and welcome to my blog🙂

      I think You are so right! It’s unfortunate that so many that call themselves Christian’s love to hate and condemn people to hell. Sometimes I think that’s the only reason they actually call themselves Christians.

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

