Logging machines always disturbs the peace.

 

We went out to the bog on our walk when I came home from work and even if it rained it was quite nice. The dogs ran around close enough so I didn’t have to shout after them and small birds were flying between the trees. I think I heard a squirrel or two as well somewhere high up in the pines.

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was that strange kind of light that usually comes just before the sun sets, sort of yellowish-orange and it sort of makes me feel warm and the forest cosy. Suddenly I heard a car coming down the gravel road that goes parallel with the one we walked on, it drove fast down the road and came back in that high speed after a minute or two. Suddenly deers came running in panic and then it sounded like all hell broke loose in front of us.

 

 

 

 

 

I didn’t understand what it was at first but I could hear big trees cracking and falling down and then I heard what it was, a logging machine. Some trees it saw before they fell but some it just broke. I knew this day was coming but still I got sort of schocked. They are thinning out that little part of the forest where I have taken some of the best mushroom photographs. I haven’t been able to go there this year since they had trimmed down all small trees and bushes and just left them there.

 

 

 

 

 

They won’t take down the entire forest though because they’ll have cattle there all year long and need the forest to protect them when bad storms arrive. But still, it has always been a favorite place for me to walk around in and the only place really safe during hunting season, the former owner wanted as many deers as possible to hide there se we would have plenty left after the hunting season.

 

 

 

 

 

tonight it’s Grimm on channel six and I do hope I can stay awake until then🙂🙂🙂 I’ll see if I have any coffee left, that usually helps for a short while anyway🙂

 

I could see the head lights on the logging machine so I decided to take the road in the forest instead.

 

 

I could feelthe ground tremble every time the machine dragged down one of the big trees. I felt it even here at home.

 

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Logging machines always disturbs the peace.

    • Hejsan Renate!

      Ja det var riktigt skönt idag trots regnet. Tolv grader varmt gör att man står ut med mycket nu på hösten🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  1. hi christer! did the truck scare the pups? it’s a shame to see the trees go but i guess it will be good for the cows. we are about to get warm again here. glad to hear your slow cooker is working out! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      We were at some distance so Hector, that usually is the most nervous one of them didn’t care about it and Sune wanted to go closer to take a look at ait🙂

      If the new owner, the one that owns the castle, informed me correct only the old trees will be taken down. Back in the days old trees were the best but today the old trees rot.

      It’s actually quite warm here too, not even remotely close to what You’ll have but anyway🙂🙂🙂

      That slow cooker is probably one of the best things I’ve bought!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer, I would love to live near a forest and did at one time when I was small…I spent my childhood years in Oregon..and I’ve never got over missing it. The smells and the feeling. We never went back.
    I guess that’s why I love you blog. It reminds me so much of my childhood. A magical time for me.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I have both the big forest and the open fields so I feel quite happy🙂 I try to vary our walks but tends to end up in the forest more times than by the fields🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Hi Mona!

        I’m lucky enough to have both🙂 But I do miss the ocean and that’s far away from here.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  3. Sad to read about the trees being cut down as it will take years for them to be replaced. And do hope you will find other safe places to walk, Christer, because we would miss the beautiful photos in your posts! The leaves are certainly very colorful there, but not so much here. We still have at least a month or so and sadly no forest near our home to walk through.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It is sad but has to be done I guess, the trees are close to rotting they say. Back in the days the old trees were the best now it’s the opposite.
      I have plenty of forest to walk in still and a huge bog🙂

      Yes they are colorful but now they fall off as soon there’s the slightest breeze.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

