First signs of senility.

 

I’m not talking about me now even though I’m pretty sure thereย are plenty of signs there too๐Ÿ™‚ No I’m talking about my big, kind bear Orvar. I’ve seen it before in his grandmother Viran so I’m pretty sure it has started on him to. Normally when we’re out walking he always is a long way ahead of me but now days he stays so much closer and when he’s leashed to Nova he stops and waits until I walk beside him, nothing he ever cared about before๐Ÿ™‚

 

Orvar making sure that I’m coming along.

 

It was a rather nice but cold walk today.

 

Suddenly the sky got unhealthy yellowish.

 

 

He has also always slept by himself in the livingroom no matter where I have been in the cottage, now he comes looking for me every now and again and sometimes he sleep here in the kitchen beside me when I’m out surfing the internet. What finally convinced me that he’s slowly getting senile was when he was eating the other morning, he didn’t just eat he was pooping at the same time๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I know it’s sad but I just had to laugh when I saw it, he looked so surprised when he saw what he had done.

 

 

 

Nicer weather yesterday though and I was able to apreciate it too, my stomach had started to settle down๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

This doesn’t mean that it’s close to the end for my big bear, it took a couple of years for his grandmother to get completely senile. In the end she didn’t know who I was but still always happy๐Ÿ™‚ So I’ll have to keep an eye on him from now and, I can’t let him walk around like he always has visiting my neighbors and their animals, one day he might forget the way home.

 

 

 

Hector.

 

Sune is trying me more and more now๐Ÿ™‚ But stops as soon as I use my deep angry voice๐Ÿ™‚

 

We’ve had the first snow fall here today, mostly it’s been pellet snow. Looks like hail but is soft and it sort of thumps towards the windows, I like the sound but not the snow๐Ÿ™‚ It’ll stay over the night because we’ll have frost but as soon as the sun goes up tomorrow (the weather men says we’ll have sunshine but the devil believes it๐Ÿ™‚ ) it will melt away again. I do hope they’ll be out early taking care of the roads, I don’t want another experience like the one I had a couple of weeks ago one more time๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

I went back to work today and I had no bigger problems, mostly because I worked in the neighboring factory and could work in my own pace. Well it’s time to make a pot of tea and perhaps something to eat, I can’t say that I’m especially hungry yet๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “First signs of senility.

  1. Sad news about Orvar, but thankfully you are aware of the situation and can watch him closely, sweet old bear that he is. Glad to hear you are feeling more lively. Yuck, snow! It is 72 degrees F here today!
    The last picture of Sune shows his impressive swirly coat, love it!

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes it is sad and it’s way to early. But that’s the way it is so I’ll keep my eyes on him and as long as he’s happy he’ll stay around๐Ÿ™‚ He’s sleeping here in the kitchen right now close to the stove.

      I do hope this just is a short period of cold weather, it would be nice if we got a winter like the last one๐Ÿ™‚

      I think Sune’s fur is the only thing he got from his father, everything else is cocker spaniel๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      It is way to early though, he’s only nine years old. But he’ll stay as long as he’s happy and enjoyes life๐Ÿ™‚

      I hope the same๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Poor Orvar! Yes, that is definitely a sign โ€“ especially, if you haven’t been feeding him that mature dog food that runs through them like Roto-Rooter!๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ There should be at least a few more years that you can share with him but it is time to not let him roam by himself. It would be sad to have him lost but even sadder to know that he knows he’s lost and can come home. The photos are beautiful, today, and I loved the last one Orvar in the doorway.๐Ÿ™‚ And, I’m definitely glad that you are feeling better and able to go to work. I would hate to think of you lounging around all day, watching DVDs, eating bonbons, and not having a thing to do! Enjoy your tea and give Orvar a hug for me.

    • Hi Sharlene!

      If I only had had bobons I would have stayed at home๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      No I haven’t given hm any food like that๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ but I know what You mean๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes I think I’ll have a couple of years more before it’s time, it took three years for his grandmother to be totally gone if You know what I mean. But it was easier when I had her, she was with me all day at the gardencenter. Concrete floors are very forgiving๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Thankfully everyone here knows who he is and where he belongs so if he just don’t walk to far he’ll soon be home in one way or the other๐Ÿ™‚ Thankfully he’s as peaceful as a puppy๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ve been hgugging him most part of the evening, he liked that๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    It’s sad when you see things start to go on your pets. Or your people either. I hope that you will have several more good years with Orvar before it gets very bad.
    My old dog Tegan went senile after she had a stroke. She was reasonably good for a few years but then started a rapid decline after she became blind and deaf. She couldn’t remember where she was and sometimes she would start howling piteously because she thought she was alone. I would have to touch her to get her to stop.

    I have to say the moon in that first shot looks a bit like a big snowball. Nice shaggy ponies, too.

    We’re on the possible hit zones for a hurricane early next week. It will be interesting at the shops this weekend as everyone stocks up on milk, eggs and toilet paper. Oh, and chips and dip and chocolate and wine/beer. Preparedness: it’s a national obsession.๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€

    Enjoy the day and keep hugging Orvar and all the others, too.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it is and there’s so little one can do to at least slow it down. It took several years for his grandmother before she was totally in the mist so I hope itr will be the same with Orvar.
      Viran never got especially worried but then she had her daughter and two grandchildren with her all the time and me too. I do hope Orvar will be just as happy as she was, he’s way to big if he would get aggressive, not for me but towrรกrds the others.

      The snow started to fall shortly after I’ve taken that photograph, so perhaps it is๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I think most of us here in the countryside already has enough of cans and food in our freezers so even if a big storm approaches no one rush to the store to buy more. In the big cities no one has enough but still won’t prepare if it would be a really bad storm๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I hug them all all the time๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. It is indeed sad. My old dog Griffin turned 15 last Monday…at least 15. I found him 12 years ago and the vet said “He’s at least 3 yrs old” so that’s why i say that. He’s really lost it lately. I don’t think he knows his name and if I touch him, he gets startled and backs away and looks at me like he has no idea who I am. I’ll clap my hands and call him and he will run fast past me and stand in the yard looking at me. Breaks my heart.
    But, he still is running and loves to “love” on one of my cats and he likes to lick his food. Yep, it’s like he’s a stranger but if he’s happy, I guess i’m happy.
    LOVE all your photos today. So many were my favorites but I guess the last one is my #1 fav today.
    I’ll think warm weather thoughts for you but I don’t if it will help because it was in low 80’s here yesterday and now it’s COLD outside and raining….so my power of thought isn’t working so well!
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes it is but I do hope it will take years until he’s totally in the mist.

      Viran had no idea who I was but she loved to meet people she didn’t know so she always greeted me with joy๐Ÿ™‚ And as You say, as long as they are happy it’s ok.

      Your thought haven’t reached us yet, really cold even if it is above freezing point today๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. oh poor orvar! maybe it is not what you think and maybe when he ate and pooped he was just imitating seeing you sick???? haha!!! teddy sticks closer to me these days now that she is getting older and she is just 7 1/2!

    • Hi Joyce!
      ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ But why did he have to poop on the kitchen floor๐Ÿ™‚

      I do hope that Orvar still has a few good years ahead and I hope Teddy stays away from senility.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Really Christer, that last photo of him sitting in the doorway, is just beautiful…you should have it framed one day to remember him by…although I know you won’t need a photo to remember your beloved Orvar! The important thing is he is loved and so well cared for and I’m also sure when the time comes, he will have a gentle passing too in your hands…..

    • Hi Chris!

      I do have lots of good photographs of Orvar but the last photo shows Sune๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ I have lots of photographs of him too๐Ÿ™‚

      He stays as long as he’s happy my old bear๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. You know Christer, I thought that was Sune myself but when someone else mentioned that it was Orvar is the doorway photo, I thought I must be wrong but should of gone with my first hunch as to who it really was…Anyway, it’s a great photo and here’s to many more good yrs. with your big, old, bear!!๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

