Winter is here.

The sky is absolutely clear and it will be easy to see lots of stars up in the sky. But it is already rather cold so I doubt I’ll get out to watch them, I’ll be able to see them tomorrow morning instead and perhaps take a photo or two of them. We got rather much snow during last evening and night but since the sun shone all day most of it was gone by the time I got home.

It’s only 6 pm but the sun has already sunken down behind the forest, some birds are singing for a reason I can’t understand but otherwise it’s totally silent. The Jackdaws tries to keep thew Blackbirds away from the apples that still hangs in my apple tree but it looks like they for once have met their match๐Ÿ™‚ I guess there’s just to many Blackbirds around. I’ve bought seeds and will fill the feeders tomorrow morning, over here we seldom give birds anything to eat during the warmer half of the year so this will be the premiere this season.

There are still lots of food for them but better to be over fed and perhaps be caught by a predator than to freeze and perhaps die because of the cold weather. I’m having a fire in the stove but the heat seems to have problems spreading in my cottage, I sit just a few meters (the same in yards) away from the stove and can’t feel any heat at all๐Ÿ™‚ Nova tries to get my attention and every time she gets it Sune comes and bites her leg๐Ÿ™‚ That boy will get in troubles if he continues like that I’m afraid๐Ÿ™‚

Teodor want to get inside but refuses to go to the entrance, it’s the kitchen door or not at all so he sits there just waiting. I’ve called but no! He wants to go via the kitchen and that’s it๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ He’ll change his mind when it gets really cold later tonight. It’s time to make a pot with tea and perhaps a sandwich or two. It’s Grimm on channel six tonight but besides that nothing worth watching.

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Winter is here.

  1. hi christer! so, you are getting snow? we are glued to the weather watching hurricane sandy! it is heading straight towards us and they are saying this is the worst storm they have seen since they began keeping records. and it is going to hit right on halloween. so here i sit with 150 candy bags with probably no trick or treaters. it is fun to watch how this storm forms. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s over for this time but we might get more snow later next week. But it will get warmer again so that snow will melt as soon as it hits the ground๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ve heard that Sandy won’t become as bad as predicted but still really bad anyway. We rarely get those strong winds here thankfully.
      I hope all kids will go out trick and treating either before Sandy arrives or after she has passed! 150 bags with candy and no one to eat it is just sad๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. winter has arrived for you but not for us, keep warm, its so funny the way dogs become accustom to using one entrance, our old dog was like that.During the last few years we had to carry him up the back porch stairs even though there was a front door on higher ground with no stairs.We will be watching Grim tonight as well, I look away when the scary parts come, I am chicken !@#$

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes it’s finally here but it will get warmer already next week๐Ÿ™‚

      Teo is one of the cats and cats is even worse than dogs when it comes to this๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      We had a good Grimm last evening but I never look away๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I certainly don’t envy you the snow. But glad it melted away quickly. Hurricane Sandy is supposed to bring us alot of rain and high winds; thank goodness it is not cold enough for snow, unless there is a sudden change. Of course, it is not supposed to hit here till Sunday or Monday or later, and a lot can happen before then. And we all know how accurate the Weather People are. They are even calling it “Frankenstorm”, can you believe that, lol!
    Grimm tonight here too, but we record it and watch without commercials later.

    • Hi Robin!

      I think I would have minded it less if just the roads could have been better. Some places was covered with ice when I was driving home yesterday and I know they won’t do anything about it, they rather wait until warm winds arrive later next week.

      Yes we all know how accurate they are๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ It’s hard to find good names now days๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ but surely they could have found a better name than Frankenstorm๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Cats really do prefer it to be their way if at all possible. I particularly love their insistence upon visiting all the doors in bad weather in case one of the doors happens to open upon summer and sunshine. Wouldn’t it be lovely to have one door that was always the door into summer?๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

    A dusting of snow is always lovely. Any more than that is annoying.

    I’m still picking up walnuts. The end is almost in sight except for the part of the lawn where they are buried under a thick carpet of maple leaves. I may let Sandy blow the leaves away so that I can see the underlying walnuts after she passes. I’m pretty sure she won’t blow them away, more’s the pity.๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, last time I went out that door the sun shone so therefore it must do so today too๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I like a dusting of snow at Christmas but that’s it๐Ÿ™‚

      Or Sandy might just blow more leafs over the walnuts so You can’t get rid of them at all๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. So sorry about the snow.๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    It’s dropped to the 40’s during the days now.
    and last Wednesday it was in the 80’s!
    I will be upset if it goes right to Winter because Fall and it’s wonderful weather are my favorite season.
    Stay warm.๐Ÿ™‚ – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!

      We did at least get an autumn๐Ÿ™‚ But even if it will get warmer I think we can say winter is here now.

      29F at the moment and sinking.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi dq!

      I guess it was the combination with the angle of the sun (that was going down) and lots of snow in the air. I’ve only seen that color twice in my life as I can remember anyway so it isn’t common.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

