Why can’t they just put up a sign?

 

They had promised sun all day today so I’m not the least surprised that it has been cloudy big parts of it so far. It has snowed rather heavily not especially far south of this village to, thankfully the wind blew it south-east so at least that snowfall won’t come here🙂 But it has been a rather nice day anyway even though it was -7 c ( 19,4 F) this morning.

 

 

 

 

 

I had planned to walk down to the creek this morning to get some sunrise photographs, with the sun reflecting in the creek and rime on trees, bushes and grass. But we had no rime and the sun kept hiding behind the clouds so we walked through the village instead. But it was tough to get any photographs at all since it was so dark so when we were almost home we continued out to the fields instead of turning homewards, the morning was just to nice to be honest.

 

 

 

 

 

I got a relapse of the cold when we came home so I took a nap for a couple of hours (now I feel fine again, that nap was just what I needed). The sun was finally shining so we went out for a walk again. I couldn’t see any cars so I guessed that the hunters had given up for the day, something I realized they hadn’t when I suddenly heard someone shooting out on the bog and someone whistling to get the dog to return🙂🙂🙂 Why can’t they just put up a sign that says they are out there???

 

These two deers insisted on walking beside us all the way down the fields. At first I didn’t know how to do with Nova but since she really doesn’t care about anything else than hares I let her of the leash. Both her and Sune behaved perfect🙂

 

Can You see them? Deers are very well camofagued this time of year🙂

 

 

Bertil preffered to sleep on the big flower pot close to the window today🙂

 

So we quite quickly turned back and walked in to the part of the forest where they are thinning out the trees. It’s surrounded by fields and are always safe to walk in during hunting season. I have to say that it looks less bad than I had thought even though the logging machine does make ugly wounds where ever it goes. I think they are done for this time so the coming cattle will have plenty of places to hide during bad weather.

 

It was when I took this photograph the shooting started🙂 so we turned left and walked to the other, safe part of the forest.

 

 

 

 

 

The fire is burning in my stove and will continue to do so today, the America clock is ticking and all animals are sleeping all over the cottage. I think I’ll make a pot of tea and then I might re read the Harry Potter books or perhaps watch the dvd’s instead, especially the last ones were rather good.

 

 

 

 

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Why can’t they just put up a sign?

  1. Hi Christer,
    If the hunters put out signs, it would give away their position to the deer.🙂

    Was there a plant in that pot before Bertil settled down for a nap?

    There was a doe across the roadway late last night when I went to put Rocky out for his last pee. He started barking furiously and forgot about everything else. The doe continued to eat my neighbor’s ground cover and probably some of the fallen dogwood fruits as well. She was nervous but didn’t run. I got Rocky quieted down but he was still too excited to think about doing his business so we went back inside. The doe was went on eating.

    It’s sunny here now though the morning was foggy. We’re waiting for Sandy. I have batteries, candles and lamp oil but I need chips and dip, chocolate and dog treats so I will be braving the shops today.

    Enjoy the day!

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true🙂🙂🙂

      There still is a big plant in that pot🙂 A Monstera deliciosa. It flowered when I had it in my gardencenter but it isn’t happy here, I’m not sure if both Teo and Bertil might fertilize it every now and again🙂🙂🙂

      Deers close to bigger villages or towns are usually prepared for everything🙂 and food is after all more important than a barking dog🙂🙂🙂 These are way to used to us so they really don’t care at all and that can be problematic when it comes to Sune and Nova, but none of them cared enough to even look towards them🙂

      As long as there is chocolate everything is calm and nice no matter what storm is outside the home🙂 But I do hope she will calm down much now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      There were never any problems when my old neighbors lived here, they knew exactly when I could walk in to the forest, they always came out and stopped me if they still were out there, now I have to guess.

      I’ll show where the deers are in tomorrows post🙂

      Yes it is🙂 It’s a tough hardy one🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! haha…you grew a kitty! i knew you were a good gardener but i did not know you were that good! maybe you can grow a hybrid and add a little bit of nice to the next one. these photos are just gorgeous! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I have my specialities🙂 Unfortunately they all turn out angry and grumpy🙂🙂🙂

      I’m glad You like them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hmmm. I think that you should start wearing a reflecting coat or vest and the dogs need reflective collars.
    Just so those hunters don’t accidently aim at you all.
    Love the bird feeder photos!🙂
    and of course adore that Bertil.😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      Reflection coats doesn’t help much during the day I’m afraid. But I know what areas they aren’t allowed to aim towards and this road is one of those places. But further towards the bog and I would have walked in to troubles🙂🙂🙂

      I like how we can see their wings so clearly🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. beautiful photos! I especially liked the the action shots of the birds at the feeder.I’m so glad the dogs don’t give chase to the deer, its always such a nuisance getting them home, ( at least it was with ours) I have the Harry Potter dvd’s always out because they are my go too movies when I’m bored.I have all the books on cd so I can still enjoy them even though my eyes find ing reading difficult.The books or the movies make a great time passer, enjoy your weekend and hopefully that cold will stay away!

    • Hi Laurie!

      I like how clearly we can see their wings and not just a fuzzy area🙂

      No problems with deers but I know what You mean. The same problem with hares here. But Nova does return to the place she left me or she runs home. It usually take a couple of minutes until she realizes the hare was to fast and smart for her🙂

      I love the Harry Potter books but not the movies that much. The first one and the two last are good though🙂

      Yes I’m tired of that cold so I do hope it’ll stay away now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer, I have been away the past week visiting my mother in NJ and my internet access was very limited there. So tonight I have been spending time catching up on reading blogs and surprised to see the snow flurries already. The first few photos in this post were very dark and made me think of winter already, but then the rest were brighter and Bertil sitting in the pot was very funny. We are prepared for the storm named Sandy and all the outside things that could blow around have been stacked or tied down so we will hope for the best for everyone also at risk in it’s path. Hope your weekend is a good one and that you are feeling better.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It’s actually a bit late for the snow to fall now, normally it happoens inn the beginning of October. You have to remember that I live far, far north from You🙂 So we now have almost nine hours less daylight compared to Midsummer.

      I do hope Sandy will calm down, I’m pretty sure she won’t change direction and stay out in the ocean.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    The dark made the day look even colder, but the sun looked spectacular. I would not be at all happy if it got so cold this early in the season. Our mornings are crisp which is enough.

    Gracie would have chased the deer. She barks when anyone with or without a dog goes by the house. Before I put up the fence, she chased the animals which used to get in the yard.

    If Sandy comes, I’m all set. I got animal food yesterday and food for me as well. I just have to take down the bird feeders, but I’ll wait until the last minute to do that.

    • Hi Kat!

      It’s actually a bit late for the snow to arrive, remember that I live rather far north from You, Alaska north🙂

      Thankfully none of my dogs are especially interested in deers or bigger animals, not even Nova. Makes life so much easier when living like this. Thankfully they all are afraid of cows🙂🙂🙂

      I do hope Sandy will calm down a lot even if I’ve heard it might be just the opposite. I’m glad You are prepared!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

