Up way to early.

We went back to normal time, or winter time as we tend to call it here, today and I don’t like it. I always have big problems adjusting to these changes we do every spring and autumn. Just as I have gotten in to it we’ll change back to normal again. So I wasn’t especially happy when I woke up at 4 am and let the dogs out, I just couldn’t go back to sleep after opening the door and letting -9 C (15,8 F ) cold air hit me🙂

I started a fire in the stove and tried to read some blogs and even wrote my blog in swedish but time just didn’t want to move at all🙂 I read that they had tsunami warnings on Hawaii but it doesn’t look like the waves were too bad thankfully. There were no news about Sandy though, when is she due to hit the east coast?

The Forbidden Forest.

We went out as soon as there was enough with daylight and walked down to the creek. There’s no risk of walking in to any hunting at that hour in this village, they didn’t arrive until we already had come home again🙂 It was absolutely quiet outside, no animals were walking around in that cold but I did hear a couple of trumpet swans flying towards the smaller lake. There’s no traffic on any road at that hour on a Sunday morning either.

I had hoped for the sun to rise when we reached the creek but we got there perhaps ten minutes to early for that, dogs really don’t want to just stop without any reason, ar least not to wait for the sunrise🙂 I have to say that it was a really pleasant walk despite the low temperatures, it would have been nasty if even the weakest breeze would have blown.

I watched Disney Time when we came home, something I do every Saturday and Sunday mornings🙂 They are showing Phineas and Ferb and I think that is the best thing Disney have created since I was a kid! We swedes have a special relationship with Disney, every year since over 50 years we have a Christmas tradition here, Every Christmas eve at 3 pm we watch Donald Duck and his friends celebrate Christmas🙂 It’s almost the same films they’ve shown all these years and every time they try to change one to a newer we get furious🙂🙂🙂

One year they decided not to show Ferdinand the friendly bull and they regretted it as soon as they told us that. People refused to pay the TV-license (something all European countries have to finance public service tv), even a bomb threat or two was mentioned🙂🙂🙂 So they had to show Ferdinand after the Disney program🙂🙂🙂 They do however put in a short episode of any new animated Disney movie for the year.

Even though very few says they’ll watch this program it still is one of the most popular programs every year, over three million people watch it and that’s not bad since we only are nine million people in this country🙂 Christmas presents are usually given before the show and the food right after. Most of us would be very confused if we didn’t have our Disney friends to watch every year, we wouldn’t know when to eat or getting presents :-)

I promised to show where those two deers stood in yesterday’s blog. I drew a circle around them in this photograph and still they are hard to see.

It’s even hard to see them in this close up🙂

Woodpeckers can’t resist tallow🙂

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Up way to early.

  1. Christer, your photo’s cured me of wanting cold weather. I think I am going to crawl back into my toasty warm bed for awhile…soooo cold looking. Poor Teodor looks like he is freezing!
    (I’ll start the coffee before I go so it will be ready when I get up again. 🙂 Can’t believe how cold it looks there and the snow hasn’t even arrived yet!!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      🙂 I’m glad I could help🙂

      I would do the same but I don’t have any coffee at home🙂 It was cold but kind of nice since there were no wind.

      But we did get snow the other day! Most of it melted away though🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I was up too early as well. I woke up at 2:30AM and couldn’t go back to sleep. After trying to lounge around and fall asleep for a couple of hours I gave up and got up. Even the dog wouldn’t wake up that early. I messed about on the computer for awhile until Rocky asked to go out. I went to the back yard and pulled in the wheelbarrow and fed the birds. I took some photos. Then I decided to get gasoline because that’s what you do when you’re waiting on a hurricane or blizzard. You go get gasoline.🙂 On the way, I decided to stop at the park and let the dog run for a bit. I took some more photos. It started to rain. As I drove out of the park I looked at the clock and it said 8:43AM. No way I should have done all that stuff so early in the morning. I should still have been in my jammies.

    Your world looks very cold and crunchy right now. Beautiful, though. I like the shot of the creek even though the sun is not yet up. It’s silvery and probably shivery as well.🙂

    Sandy is making her way north. Supposed to hit northern NJ sometime tomorrow night, I think. We wait with bated breath.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I wasn’t that productive🙂 After our walk I went back to bed and took a nap, all dogs joined me in the bed so it was a bit warm🙂🙂🙂 I did feed the birds before the nap though🙂

      Why do You go get gasoline? I’m trying to figure out what You need it for and the best I come up with is that You have Your own power generator. I’ve been thinking of getting one of those but we rarely have any problems when it comes to electricity so I’ve never bought one. The stove takes care of the heat and food situation if we would get any powr problems.

      I can say that the creek is anything but nice now🙂
      I’ll keep my eyes on Your weather forecsats, well all newspapers here shows what happens when Sandy arrives.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • You fill up the gasoline tank of the car in case you have to evacuate, I think. Anyway, it’s what people do. They also go to the store and stock up on bottled water, bread, milk, eggs. Right before a big snow forecast the dairy aisle in the grocery store is a crowded place indeed.🙂

  3. Hi Christer, From the first Moon photo to the last frosty scene, your post today is beautiful. I like the way the frost makes everything look so different. Those deer were definitely hard to see. What did Sune think of the snow you had the other day?

    • Hi Robin!

      I’m glad You like it🙂

      Sune didn’t seem to like the snow at all🙂 At least not when it was falling on him and he shows little interest in it when it is on the ground as well. I think I might have my first dog that doesn’t get crazy happy when snow arrives🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi dq!

      People, the ones that have those machines connected to their tv sets must record howe many people that are watching, what age group they belong to and if they are male or female. I had one of those things once and it’s funny how strictly one follow these rules🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. You are such a good Doggy Daddy to take your gang out that early and that cold for a walk.🙂
    Mine tried to wake me early but I burrowed under my comforter and kept my eyes closed. I could feel Blue standing next to the bed staring at me! But I know if I open my eyes, there is no going back.🙂 everyone starts barking and jumping around and then I HAVE to get up. Yep, Sundays are for sleeping in…until almost 7 today!
    Interesting about Sweden and Disney. Personally I must see “It’s a Wonderful Life” or it’s just not the holiday season for me. (although I could probably recite every line right along with them since I’ve seen it so many times.)
    Stay warm! (it’s only going to be 40 here today😦 )

    • Hi Cindi!

      This time it was I who woke up the others🙂 >So it wasn’t more than fair that I went out with them as soon as the daylight started🙂

      Everyone is fascinated about Disney and us🙂 Even the Disney comapny is🙂 I guess that’s why Swedish Television still have the rights to the Christmas show and Disney time even though they do have their own channel here.

      I must admit that I can’t stand “It’s a wonderful life”🙂🙂🙂 but it’s rarely shown in any channel here.

      Have a great day, we weren’t even close to that heat, 33 was what we got🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Good morning. It does look nippy in your neck of the woods. I just got home from Colorado where we had snow the last three days. I live in Ohio and we are preparing for the effects of Sandy. We are at the very edge of the predicted winds. You wouldn’t think it would affect us at all. But once we had hurricane winds that left us a week without power. If we loose power now it will be forever because the East will most likely be a mess withoutages. We don’t have alternate heat which is a worry.
    Love the picture with the bigger doggie and the kitty. Love your dogs.
    Love that everyone watches Donald Duck. We watch all the sappy Halmark movies leading up to ChristmAS.
    Stay warm.
    Debby

    • Hi Debby!

      Yes I’ve heard about the snow fall in Colorado, quite heavy in some places. I don’t mind cold weather I just can’t stand the snow🙂

      Well we all know how well they predict weather now days so I would prepare myself for bad weather if I lived in Ohio too. Better to be prepared just in case than not tyo be prepared and the storm hits. Can’t You get one of those kerosene heaters? They usually don’t cost that much and one doesn’t have to be afraid of dying because of smoke like one could with the old ones. I have my stove but if I didn’t I would buy one of those. At least one room would be warm and nice.

      I have to say that most tv channels here are lousy when it comes to Christma movies! They show a few but that’s it. But I think Donald Duck and his friends always will celebrate Christmas with us, Swedish Television won’t dare doing anything else and I think even Disney would have to pay the consequenses if they stopped the show🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. beautiful photos today! I had to laugh when you said if you didn’t have the shows you wouldn’t know when to eat or open gifts! Have a great Sunday, its probably almost over for you, its just lunch time here and we’re have split pea soup and we had pan cakes for breakfast so I suppose we are eating Swedish cuisine today, lol, Our clocks go back tonight, it will be dark at 5pm, yuk!

    • Hi Laurie!

      We swedes are very traditional when it comes to christmas🙂 Take away one part and we’re totally lost🙂🙂🙂

      I think we’re seven hours ahead of You, so we still have some time left before we must go to bed🙂

      I don’t know anyone here eating pancakes for breakfast, normally we have it as a light lunch or as dessert. We even make birthday cakes with pancakes🙂 Very tasty🙂

      It was almost dark here at five, not fun at all!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hej Christer, det var ett tag sedan jag kommenterade på din blogg. Har så himla svårt att få in dig på min blogglista sedan du bytte och på min blogg har de ändrat utseende så jag hittar inte längre hur man ska göra för att lägga till bloggar. Så eftersom jag inte längre ser att du gjort inlägg glömmer jag tyvärr bort dig:) Men nu jäklar i min lilla låda;) hoppas jag att jag ska klara av det. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Det är krångligt med blogger men det är nog krångligare med WordPress, vet inte ens om man kan lägga in en sådan lista här🙂🙂🙂

      Du är alltid välkommen🙂
      Ha det!
      Christrer.

  8. Hi. I have not gotten posts in a long time. Has there been a long period between this blog and the former one? I have missed reading about your adventures. Hope all are well.

Leave a Reply

