I’ve bought something at an auction.

I would like to write that the winds blow hard here but since I know how hard they blow on the north-eastern coast of the US it sort of sounds silly🙂 Our winds are more like a nice breeze compared to Sandy🙂 So the nice breeze tossed around my car like it wanted to and some times it felt like my little Mazda would start to fly🙂 Many of us are following the storm via the internet and I do hope that people listens and evacuate as they are told to.

It was already so dark that I had to adjust my camera for night time photography.

I love the sound of a good storm, the roar from the wind passing through trees. What I don’t like is when I hear something hit the wall of my cottage, mostly it’s branches from trees or things I’ve forgotten to put away before the storm hits. No such sound so far but I’ve heard the most strange sound from the bog, a sort of whining but not from any animal I know of. Well I haven’t heard all whining sounds our animals can make so it might be from a hog or perhaps a lynx.

I won an auction today🙂 It was on the web site I bought my little camera, The Pawn shop. I’ve just paid it and it will arrive here within a week or so. It is of course another camera but I really don’t care about the camera to be honest, but with it came two lenses and one of them is a really nice tele lens. At first I didn’t think much of it because they had named the lens in the wrong way🙂 The name they had given it was the name of the sun visor that was attached to the lens🙂

Ravens had lots of fun in the strong wind🙂

Much nicer weather yesterday. A Magpie wants some of the food in the feeder too.

They had also placed the lens in the photograph so that it was difficult to see what it was but I looked carefully and could see a bigger part of the name and it shows it is a very expensive lens🙂 I looked it up on the net and an American site said it was a lens that professionals usually used🙂🙂 The price on the lens was higher than my camera and something I never could afford to buy🙂🙂🙂 The camera is a Nikon D70 and to be honest, mobile phones has better cameras now days🙂 But it could be a good camera for a kid that wants to try photography.

It’s time to make something to eat and I think tonight is a cocoa night. There’s nothing on tv today so perhaps I’ll read a book and listen to the wind instead. All of You that lives where Sandy will tour please stay safe!!!

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “I’ve bought something at an auction.

  1. i think this is going to be bad. i couldn’t find teddy, which never happens. she was in the back corner of my basement with her head stuck in the corner. she never has done this before. uh oh!

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes if Teddy does that It most likely will be bad I’m afraid!
      I’ll keep my eyes on the news and I hold my thumbs that You’ll ghet through this without to much problems!

      Stay safe!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I love your door. It’s like the Last Homely House. Except you have bears on the stairs.🙂🙂🙂

    I did find a lantern that is a bit like yours but I couldn’t find a long burning candle and didn’t really want to have a real candle in it unattended. However, I found some battery operated candles that flicker like a real one, turn on the same time every day, run for 5 hours and turn off. We have the technology!😀 They work just as advertised. Usually. But, most importantly, my lanterns can sit on the steps and look warm and inviting without burning down the house. My neighbors covet them.🙂

    The wind is howling and the sky is getting even darker than it was. The rain is sideways. The Department of Public Works guys have finished taking down the dead tree in a hurricane and nobody died as far as I can tell. The bureaucratic mind is a complete mystery to me.🙂

    Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      But it is very friendly bears🙂

      This time of year we have lots of long burning candles, the ones I’ve bought will burn for at least three days. We have a tradition of placing lanterna on graves this time of year, look so beautiful at grave yards when lots of lanterns shine at night. But those battery operated candles sounds great! It’s fun, I never have burning candles indoors but doesn’t mind having them burning on my wooden stairs all night🙂🙂🙂

      It seem bureaucratic minds works just the same all over the world🙂🙂🙂

      I do hope sandy won’t become to bad!
      Stay safe my friend!
      Christer.

      • We do solar powered lanterns on the graves but it isn’t a tradition yet so there aren’t many of them out there.

  3. Your night time photos are awesome, Christer. I am looking forward to seeing what kind of photos you will take with the new lens! We are told to expect very high winds starting this evening; the rain they are having trouble determining how much. All tucked in here, with plenty of water, batteries, soups, etc. Hoping everyone is taking the precautions they need to. I saw on the news that there are the usual idiots that refuse mandatory evacuation. I don’t think rescuers should put themselves at risk to go save those fools. Maybe that is harsh but they chose to stay when told to leave. Anyway, sorry for getting rant-ish! Take care.

    • Hi Robin!

      I’m glad You are prepared for Sandy’s arrival!
      They showed people jogging in the storm in Manhattan???!!! I agree, if they can’t use their brains that much they shouldn’t get help when they will get problems. They risk not only their own lives, they risk those trying to rescue them as well!

      I’m looking forward to getting that lens🙂 well the camera as well but especially that lens🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. So nice to be getting your posts again. I really missed them. As I am near Philadelphia, we are gearing up for Sandy’s full effect on our area later tonight. What it is has done to the New Jersey and Delaware coasts is just terrible. We will have very high winds, power outages, heavy rain and lots of trees down – oh and stream and roadway flooding. Glad I had a chance to post now because only Heaven knows how long the power will be out. I too like wind and I love rain, but not the damage each can do.

    • Hi myroseindecember!

      They have more or less only sent us reports from New York here and that a dam broke somewhere in New Jersey I think. So I hope it isn’t too bad where You are!

      We are lucky up here because most storms are calm compared to the one Your continent can get. But we get a bad one every ten or fifteen years and they create chaos here.

      Take care!
      Christer.

  5. Grattis till nya köpet! Här regnar det och blåser också men tack o lov inte i de styrkorna som de har “over there”. Hoppas att det inte blir för illa för människorna där. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Tack skall du ha🙂

      Ja det drog på rätt bra igår och i morse var det svartis på vägarna. Satt i kö i en timme på väg till jobbet eftersom en lastbil kört i diket och släpet blockerade båda körriktningarna.
      Det har varit hemskt på vissa ställen i USA har jag sett, men det verkar som om de jag känner klarat sig riktigt bra🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer, the first few photos are perfect for the type of weather conditions we are experiencing today with the storm called Sandy. Since Sunday we have had over 7 inches of rain here on the Virginia eastern shore with yet more to come. The winds are gusting outside, but we are safely indoors and going nowhere and have some nice soup and homemade bread and a salad for dinner, so all is well here. We have contacted friends and family in other east coast states to check on them. Also following fellow bloggers reports. Hope the winds don’t do any damage to your little cottage which looks wonderfully cozy from the front door. Enjoy the reading because it’s a good night to do that here too.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      7 inches is a lot of rain🙂 I hope it didn’t get worse after You posted here!

      No damages here but we got black ice on the roads this morning and I came one hour late to work because a lorry had driven, or slided is perhaps a better word, down in to a ditch and the trailer blocked the entire road.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Maybe that whining noise is the Headless Horseman…it’s the right time of year for him!🙂🙂🙂
    Very cool about the lens! Sometimes you can get a great bargain on those auction sites. Or even Amazon.
    I got my camera from there for very cheap and I’ve been very happy with it.
    I love windy weather too but hate when things fall on my house or if my family is out in it,
    I am very worried about all my Blogger friends that live on the East Coast. I didn’t realize that so many of them do!
    I’m safely tucked away in the middle of the country. I live on a hill in Illinois so I’m safe from flooding that we sometimes get too. I guess I need to count my lucky stars that I live in a good location.
    Oh, that reminds me. Love the photos.
    Especially the first one.🙂

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’ve never heard of any headless horsemen over here🙂 But I think he would have problems whining is he didn’t have a head🙂🙂🙂 It might have been werewolf though🙂🙂🙂

      I’ve never bought anything from any other place than this Pawnshop. I know it’s safe and that I won’t get tricked if I buy from them. I would most probably not be fooled on any other site either but I don’t trust other sites🙂🙂🙂

      Yes You have had Your experience with falling trees🙂 My biggest concern here is if the old crab apple tree falls over the dog yard, but then again I can always bring my dogs to work🙂
      I’m glad You are safe from this storm!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

