They behave like I’m trying to kill them :-)

Now I can see even more craters on the moon when using the new lens🙂

Finally a morning with just a few clouds in the sky, the ones we had were fog clouds and naturally most of them were placed so that the sunrise was blocked by them🙂 But I’m happy anyway🙂 At least I got a chance to try my new telephoto lens. I never use the automatic focus function in the beginning because if the technique would start to fail I would have problems using the lens properly. I’ve always done like that no matter what it’s all about and that’s because of a friend of mine.

The house You can see in the background is at least 500 meters (much the same in yards) away, I like my new lens🙂

You wouldn’t have been able to see those deers at all without the new lens. It was still quite dark so I used ISO 800 and 1/30 second to take this photo.

It started when I had bought a sailing boat and really didn’t know how to sail🙂 A good friend of mine that was the reason why I bought the boat, I had been out sailing in his big wonderful boat when I decided that I too should have one even if I had no idea how to sail at all🙂 He thought it was a great idea and promised to teach me how to sail. That’s a story for another day but he them told me that he refused to teach me how to use any kind of motor the boat might have because if the motor broke down I never would be able to leave harbor or to dock to a jetty. I never understood how to use the motor the entire time I had the boat🙂🙂🙂

The Forbidden Forest.

But there is a little problem taking photographs when it’s frost in the morning, that is if one insists on breathing🙂 My glasses got foggy and so did the camera so I really couldn’t see if I got a clear photograph or not🙂 It didn’t help that we had some fog too but I have to say that it worked quite well anyway. I like the new lens but like all telephoto lenses it does need more light than the smaller ones.

I decided to bathe my dogs after we’d been out on our walk, their fur felt sort of dry and lifeless. It is shedding time and the fur usually do feel sort of sad when that starts but it was even worse now. I never bathe them in the bathroom any longer, when I try it’s a fight for life and death🙂🙂🙂 Orvar is way to big and strong so he usually win those battles🙂 and Hector is, despite his bad legs way to fast if he gets the chance to escape🙂 So I do it in the garden and they except that for a reason I don’t understand.

 

 

Well they still don’t like it and it does look like they believe I’m trying to kill them🙂 The tail between their legs and they shiver as if they know they are doomed🙂 and that starts long before I’ve even turned on the water🙂 Orvar stood absolutely still all the time but Hector walked around like mad🙂 I don’t know why but he hates it when I’m trying to wash the backside of the legs, he lifts them and tries to keep them so high that I can’t reach them at all. But it went fairly well until it was time to bathe Nova. At first she refused to come close at all and after that she tried to escape three times🙂🙂🙂 Sune didn’t need a bath today, I bathed him the other day when he had jumped in a ditch🙂🙂🙂 But he’s a dream to bathe, just stands there and seems to enjoy it.

I need to bring in more fire logs, the sun is gone again and it is a bit chilly outdoors. After that I think I’ll take a nap. I’ve already finished the book I bought yesterday, it was so good that I couldn’t put it away🙂

Great tit.

Bluetit.

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “They behave like I’m trying to kill them :-)

  1. hi christer! i have a chow chow that needs a bath! want to give it a try? good luck! teddy is the nightmare of nightmares! thank god chows are naturally clean dogs. we groom her every day now that she won’t take baths. that lens is wonderful. i love the photos. we might get our first snow today! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      This is one of those few times I’m glad that I live far, far away from You🙂 I have to say that bathing a chow is way to exiting for me🙂🙂🙂 So no thanks🙂🙂🙂
      My dogs are anything but naturally clean🙂

      Since You actually like snow I really hope You’ll get some🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Love that moon photo, Christer. Your new lens is going to be fun for all of us! The picture of the cows, that one cow is sticking her(his?) tongue out at you, lol. Oh the bathing of dogs is truly a challenge. Lexie does just like Hector and Nova. Gwennie doesn’t like it, but will just stand there like a stoic prisoner about to be shot by a firing squad. Sune must be a water dog, I bet he’d go swimming in the pools and ponds around there. We watched Grimm last night, it is certainly getting a complex plot. Though I think we may be in different seasons?
    Better go buy another book to read, but go slower this time!

    • Hi Robin!

      I got surprised over vhow much clearer the moon got with this lens! So many craters I’ve never seen before🙂

      But still ,most dogs have no problems running in mud or down ditches🙂🙂🙂

      Yes we are still watching the first season. We came to close to You so tyhey had to stop showing it for quite some time. I really don’t care about the Grimm, his sidekicks are so much better🙂

      I’ll see if I can find another book next week🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    The new lens is doing a good job. What a deal you got! I love the picture of the cow with its tongue sticking out.

    As for washing dogs, apparently the issue is the intent with which the water is applied. Water applied for purposes of having fun is harmless to dogs. The same water, applied in the same way, for purposes of cleaning is full of evil.🙂 You are, after all, removing their personal scent. A dog would feel the same way as those tribal people who believe that cameras steal their souls.🙂
    Rocky jumps out of the tub at every opportunity. He’s only about 14 inches tall. The tub is one of those old victorian ones that is very deep and has feet. It’s quite a job for him to jump out of it so many times but he manages.

    It’s a so-so day weather-wise. Cloudy with a few glimpses of sun. I woke up with a huge bruise on the heel of my hand from all the raking I did yesterday. It was weird-looking so I took a picture. The wages of yard work is pain. I might reform.😀😀😀

    Enjoy the day!

    • Hi Caryn!

      I did indeed🙂
      I thought You all would like that photo🙂

      You are so right! It is like taking away their soul but I hope it will return again later🙂🙂 Dogs can do the most amazing things to escape a bath🙂 so I am surprised that Sune seems to like it🙂

      Much the same weather here, it was only in the morning that we had some sunshine here and a few minutes before the sun sunk down. Tomorrow they say it will rain and that’s usually the weather they actually can predict sometimes🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I have bathed dogs before and I remember it was challenging. The time our cat was covered in oil turned out to be the worst. Put in the bathtub and one torn up shower curtain and more claw marks than I care to remember it was done and so was I! ha…never again.

    • Hi JD!
      Thankfully I’ve only had to bathe one of my cats🙂🙂🙂 I think it hated me for over a year after that🙂🙂🙂

      I hope You are the same JD that comented here before, otherwise welcome to my blog and welcome back🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Yes, the same. My husband and I really love to look at the pictures you post. They are wonderful. We now live in the desert so it brings back some memories…most of them are cold though. lol

      • I forgot that I had moved so I wondered why I had to approve Your comment🙂🙂🙂
        Nice to see You here too🙂

        At the moment it feels like it would be nice to live in a desert, we’ve gotten way to much rain and more is on its way🙂

        Christer.

  5. wow, hats a beautiful moon shot, that new lense was worth every penny! I can sympathize with the dog bathing, our dogs loved to roll in anything that had died or anything rotten or any poop that might be on the beach or field, bathing was a regular pastime for our last dog, he got to the point where if he rolled in something stinking he just went straight to the tub, I never had to even tell him, of course he was 17 by then and I guess had lost some of his battling skills,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I didn’t think the new lens would show the moon surface that good🙂 So I’m really happy with that new lens! I tried the camera that came with it yesterday and it is really good too. The original lens to that camera is even better than the one I have to my big camera so I feel I’ve really made a bargain here🙂

      My first two dogs behaved like Your last one, they always walked two meters behind me when they had rolled in something and they jumped straight in to the tub when we came home🙂🙂🙂

      Yes anything rotten or wild hog poop is wonderful to roll around in🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. OMG. Fabulous moon photo and that cow! Hahahahaha!
    I love that new lens.
    I’m lucky, I bathe my dogs at work…well, Blue, Jimmy and Nora.
    they are all very good about it. But of course Blue will decide to shake the water off and then I am drenched. But other than that, they are all very good.
    What’s the name of the good book?

    • Hi Cindi!

      I thought most of You would like that cow photo🙂 and I really like the moon photo as well! So clear!

      Orvar usually waits until he’s indoorsuntil he shakes of all water🙂🙂🙂 His fur is like a sponge so the water is running down the walls🙂🙂🙂

      It’s the book that the short tv-series is based on that I wrote about some days ago. It’s called Never dry tears without gloves. It might actually come out in english since the britts wants to show the series. It’s about when AIDS came to Sweden and I think You would cry all through the book🙂 (well it’s actually three books). It’s a documantary/fictional story with anything but a happy ending, something we swedes love🙂

      • Hi Cindi!

        It’s only the first part of this trilogy that is happy, the rest is so sad. People get shunned by their families, friends die all the time. You would cry Your way through this story, even I with the stone heart got tears in my eyes. That’s what I call a love story🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

Leave a Reply

