I’ll follow it all on tv :-)

Today I’ll show You photographes taken with the latest camera (Nikon D70) with its original lens.

I’m trying to find as much info as possible about the election in the USA today. Not so much so far but those voting machines they have in some states should really be replaced. I read about one place with bad machines, when someone pressed the button for Obama it signaled that the person gave his/her vote to Romney! If I remember right this has been a problem for many, many years now, why don’t they replace them?

There’s one thing I can’t understand with the system You have in the USA, You have to register to be allowed to vote! It’s my god given right to vote as soon as I’m 18 years old here in Sweden and all other democratic countries I know of, we don’t have to register at all. They just send me an envelope with all information I need to have to vote and that’s it. I can understand it if it’s a person that has emigrated to another country but not if one is born there or if one has become citizen later in life. Otherwise we all have slightly different systems.

 

Here for instance, if a political party get 30% of the votes it get 30% of the seats in the parliament. That’s why so many countries in Europe have so many parties in the parliament. In Great Britain however it’s the winner takes it all and that’s why they only have three different parties in their parliament. I think that’s the system most states use in the USA? But enough with politics, I’ll follow it for as long as I’m awake and I’ll turn on the tv first thing tomorrow morning🙂

Sune is sleeping on the floor by the stove, it’s actually slightly cooler close to it since the heat works its way upwards. Orvar sleeps in the livingroom that is the coolest place in the cottage. Nova and Hector sleeps in my bed, it’s still not so hot up there but as soon as the heat reaches my bedroom they both will move to a cooler place🙂 Both cats prefer to stay outdoors even if it rains.

I have one ripe pepper that I will harvest as soon as I’m done here🙂 It’s much smaller than the one the seeds came from but who cares🙂 I’m just happy that I actually got one this year🙂🙂🙂 It’s time to make a pot of tea and a couple of sandwiches. I’ll use the pepper and combine it with some tasty cheese and ham🙂

Have a great day!

24 thoughts on “I’ll follow it all on tv :-)

  1. hi christer! i think they make it too hard to vote in this country. they need to make a lot of changes to the system. it is good weather here today so there should be a good turnout at the polls. your new camera takes great photos! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I agree! They do make it hard to vote in the US and really, why haven’t they changed those machines that never works as they should🙂🙂🙂

      We do have very different systems but I guess they all have good and bad side effects no matter what system we ave.

      I’m amazed over how good that old camera is! I was going to sell it to a work friend but it’s so good that I’ll keep it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. we don’t have to register in Canada to vote, if you are a citizen you vote.I think politics can be very nasty when it comes to election time and I dislike some of the advertizing tactics they have in the states, belittling each other.I would never vote for a bully!

    • Hi Laurie!

      Just like here then.
      Especially the Us politics seems to be more nasty than any other🙂
      They lie here too sometimes but nothing compared to what they do in the US🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I, for one, am not happy with the US political system. The electoral college should be done away with. There always seems to be problems with the voting machines, or the ballots are misprinted or some kind of screw-up. The negative, mud-slinging campaigns are truly embarrassing and denigrating. But..what is the average American citizen to do? And my husband and I did vote first thing this morning. I hope my ballot scanned the correct vote!!!

    • Hi Robin!

      It is a bit strange in my eyes to be honest butn the Finns have those electoral college as well.
      Those voting machines should really be changed to ones that actually works🙂🙂🙂 But we all have problems no matter what suýstem we have to be honest. We sometimes think our campaigns are dirty but they actually behave like stubborn children when comparing to Your polititians🙂🙂🙂

      Everything worked as it should🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    I guess here we figure that it is your civic responsibility to vote and if you can’t get up off your arse to register then maybe you are not responsible enough to vote. I have no problem with having to register though I agree that it should be easier. Many states have gone to registering voters at the DMV when people renew their driver’s license or car registrations.
    Unfortunately, we have political parties, as do other countries, and it is in the interests of each party that certain groups of people not vote in large numbers. Quite a lot of effort is expended by each party to ensure that those groups don’t vote. Politics is a dirty business no matter where it is practiced.
    My town does not use the voting machines. We still use a paper ballot that you have to color in with a black pen. The voting machines you are reading about are especially interesting because one of Romney’s sons works for or is part owner of that company. Those machines happen to be the very ones that are in use in the all-important swing state of Ohio. Hmm.
    I would say that other countries politics are just as nasty as ours and some are much nastier. The difference is that everybody hears about US politics and nobody cares about other countries’ politics quite as much. Except the people who live in those countries, of course.🙂
    I voted early and it was half crowded. My precinct was lined up waiting to vote. The precinct we share the hall with was empty and I was a bit miffed that we couldn’t go over to that side of the room and use the empty voting booths.
    Now we wait to see who gets the brass ring.
    Enjoy!

    • Hi Caryn!

      That’s one way to look at it, another is to stop people to vote🙂🙂🙂 I think that’s one reason so few of You actually vote. Here 80% – 90% vote every time.
      Yes politics is a dirty business and unfortunatelt it’s those people that lead our countries🙂🙂🙂

      I’ve nothing against the machines as long as they work as they should🙂 and since his son has an interst in them I’m not thst surprised that they signaled Romney every time they pressed Obama🙂🙂🙂

      We usually follow many elections in the countries around us and yes they play dirty but Yours and the British polititians are a level higher than most others🙂🙂🙂

      But despite it all I feel the right person won🙂 They told us so on tv just before I went to work🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Det blir till att avvakta och se vem som har vunnit, orkar inte engagera mig i valet det blir den det blir och förhoppningsvis Obama:) Här är det absolut kallaste rummet/n sovrumsavdelningen som ligger två trappsteg upp från vardagsrummet. Så när man går upp från vardagsrummet där både värmepump och braskamin “jobbat” hela dagen känns det som om det står fönster öppna där uppe:) Men man sover bra i lite kallare temperatur:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Det blev klart alldeles innan jag åkte till jobbet i morse🙂

      Mitt sovrum är det varmaste i hela stugan, all värme från vedspisen går dit🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. I’m moving to Sweden if Romney gets elected…that’s all I have to say!! Hopefully you won’t have to clean out an extra room Christer!!🙂

  7. I went to vote this morning before work and waited in line outside, finally I got in the door and saw the line weave back and forth and all the way down around the pews (my polling place is a church) so I left. I went AFTER work and it took a whole hour to get throught the line and vote. I’m sick today so I will probably go to bed early. I actually feel like I did when I was a little kid and went to bed on Xmas eve and wondered if Santa would leave me what I wanted. I’m praying that he doesn’t leave me COAL (Romney). Weird thing is, my sister and her husband actually voted for him.
    ARRGGHHH. fingers crossed!

    • Hi Cindi!

      They told us that Obama had won just before I was leaving for work today🙂 So I’m glad that You didn’t get coal this year🙂🙂🙂

      So many people vote earlier here that we usually don’t get lines if we want to vote on that day.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Could I be happier??? NO! I am overwhelmed with joy that President Obama has won another 4 years! And..you have a new blog!
    What a great day!! Hooray!! He has not made an acceptance speech as yet…but you should see Time Square!
    It is fantastic!!! :):):) Thanks for rooting for him!

    • Hi Mona!
      🙂 They told us just before I was leaving for work this morning and the ride to work was so much nicer because of that even if we had black ice all the way🙂🙂🙂
      The world feels a bit safer now when we know he stays in office four more years🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. OBAMA HAS WON! OBAMA HAS WON! I WANT TO YELL IT FROM THE ROOF TOPS!
    I’m sorry, lol, I came back to comment on your photo’s…especially Bertril! He is the greatest cat! The photo of the winding dirt road is wonderful!! Brings back childhood memories of living in a logging camp and mining for gold in the river. The forest is so beautiful. I never get tired of seeing how happy the dogs are. (except when they run off! )🙂
    I have to go watch TV. I don’t want to miss Obama when he come out to talk to us! 🙂 I am mad with JOY!!!

    • 🙂🙂🙂

      I was hoping to hear Romneys speach before I left but he waited to long, I knew I wouldn’t get a chance to listen to Obama. But a loosers speach is just as important, well almost🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • The reason it took President Obama so long to make his acceptance speech was because it took so long for Romney to accept that he had lost the election and to call the President to concede. Both speeches were well done, however Romney started his off with sour grapes..but came out fine at the end. I was proud of him. I know how badly he wanted the Presidency. He is a good man I am sure..and well intentioned, however the road to hell was paved with good intentions!! You know?
        So say I!
        Mona

      • Hi Mona!

        I heard that Romney wanted to see if ohio (I think) would change to his advantage.

        I have no bigger problems with Romney himself, but I fear those behind him! Romney is a polititian that follows the wind when he can🙂🙂🙂

        Yes the road to hell is certainly paved with good intentions🙂

        have a great day!
        Christer.

  10. :)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

  11. Christer,
    I love my Nikon D90. It takes the best pictures. I always leave the telephoto lens on it.

    We still use paper ballots. You fill in a circle with a black magic marker pen. No mistakes with any machines that way. I have no problem with registering to vote. I have voted in four different places (when I’d move) and had to register each time in the new town, no big deal.

    I voted around two when I figured it would be slow: it was. I had no wait at all. The morning had lines out the door as did the late afternoon and early evening. I timed it perfectly.

    I was totally happy with the results.

    • Hi Kat!

      Minolta used to be my favorite brand of camera before but since Mamya bought it I changed to Nikon and I really like both my Nikons🙂 So now I have D3000 and D70🙂

      We have paper ballots too, we can mark one person if we wish but we really vote for the party here and not so much the person. But if enough people mark one person his or her chances of getting in to what ever kind of parliament, local, regional or the country grows considerable. I still think that a registration can stop some people to vote even if it isn’t a big deal.

      I usually vote early if I haven’t done it before the actual voting day. We always vote on the third Sunday in September so few people are awake especially early on that day🙂

      I was very happy too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

