I remember our rice porridge breakfasts.

 

Another rainy day but I really don’t care any longer, I’ve given up๐Ÿ™‚ I know how the end of the world will be like, we will all drown because of the rain up here in this little country of mine๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ To make things even better it will be mixed with snow tomorrow and then temperatures will drop and we will all drive on a layer of ice, that’ll be fun๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ But I have to say I’m in a good mood today despite it all.

 

 

 

But I did refuse to take a walk in the darkness while the rain was pouring down and now I pay the price for that. I have two hyper active dogs running around like mad all over the cottage๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ The old boys just fell asleep but Nova and Sune wanted to get rid of that energy they had in their bodies๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ My cats fled the cottage and preferred to go outside in to the rain๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

My bills are paid and I filled up my car this morning. I had to pay 14,95 swedish kronor per liter, that would be something like $ 8,2/US gallon. It hurts when seeing that๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ But if I plan my driving well I should be able to drive for two weeks without having to buy any more.

 

 

 

I’m thinking of making some rice porridge today, perhaps make that much so I can have it for breakfast tomorrow as well. I and some friends used to have rice porridge breakfast every Saturday before Yule and I used to borrow a 16 liter (4,2 US gallons) pan to be able to make enough of it๐Ÿ™‚ It took me hours to make that much๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ But it was fun having those breakfasts with lots of people early mornings. We were a quite demanding group of people so we had to have at least three kinds of bread, two different cheese, Yule ham, spotted sausage, liver pate and lots of other things๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

Well it’s time to start making that porridge if I want some๐Ÿ™‚ thankfully I don’t need to borrow that pan any longer๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “I remember our rice porridge breakfasts.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think it might be the same as rice pudding. But I got mixed answers when I searched the web. Rice boiled a couple of minutes in water and then one pours milk in it and continues to boil it for around 15 minutes. It should be sort of still be running when it’s finished so one doesn’t need to pour in more milk in it.

      No I forgot so I’ll do it right now๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Christer,
    We had rain most of the day too, and it was cold, 35หš, and is supposed to be as cold for a while. I went out and Gracie got bored while riding with me. She went to sleep in the backseat.

    I have about given up expecting a sunny day.

    I hope your porridge was good. That breakfast you used to have sounds fun and delicious.

    • Hi Kat!

      It’s only Nova that likes to watch out the windows no matter how far we go, she loves to follow me in the car. Sune usually falls asleep on the floor behind my seat and the two others in the back.

      Snow here now and around 35 so it won’t stay, unless it gets cold quickly tonight. I’ll know tomorrow morning and I guess the roads will be slippery with or without snow.

      They actually say that we’ll get sunshine on Saturday but I won’t even start hoping for it, I know the disappointment will be to big if the sun doesn’t show itself๐Ÿ™‚

      It was delicious๐Ÿ™‚ We had so much fun while having those breakfasts๐Ÿ™‚ And every year we raised the bar on what we must have on the table๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer, beautiful photos today, which camera did you use?
    I know the feeling of having animals with too much energy in the house; the kittens are like that from sun up to past sun down!!
    You must find a link for the directions for rice porridge so we can all try it. Although I think I will pass on the spotted sausage, thanks!

    • Hi Robin!

      I used the Nikon D70 and the telephoto lens. I actually like that camera more than my newer one, It’s very much like my old Minolta I used before the digital cameras came.

      It is fun that they like to play and run around with each other but things do fall on the floor and lots of pieces must be taken care of๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ll post the recipe on that porridge in tomorrows post, it’s very easy and simple but the porridge is sooo tasty๐Ÿ™‚ The spotted sausage is the best of it all when it comes to things on sandwiches๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    The second photo looks like a portrait of the photographer reflected in a round something. Extreme magnification seems to indicate it is a light fixture with a bulb. Oh, well.
    Rice porridge doesn’t hold any attraction for me. None of those porridge-type things do with the exception of tapioca pudding. I don’t know why I like that. The rest of the breakfast sounds great, though. Bread, sausages, cheeses. Yeah, I could do that.๐Ÿ™‚
    I was 50 miles north of here today and saw that some of the beaver ponds had slushy ice on them. Yuck. There were some light snow flurries but nothing stayed on the ground and it turned to rain eventually.
    I sent you a postcard. Hope it gets to you. Go wait by your post box in breathless anticipation.๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜€
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      It’s my neighbors lamp post You can see in that photo๐Ÿ™‚

      I don’t think I’ve ever had tapioca pudding. I tried to find any text in Swedish about it but found nothing๐Ÿ™‚

      We always found something to complain about when having those breakfasts๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ There was always something missing that must be there next time๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Well, no one went home hungry anyway๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      It snowed on my way home but it’s still a bit to warm for it to stay, but it will get colder already tonight so if the snowing continues we’ll have funny roads tomorrow๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ll skip work just to be ready for that card๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I think tapioca pudding is pretty much similar to rice pudding except you use pearl tapioca and there are no raisins involved. There are plenty of recipes on the English webs. Now, you just have to find tapioca somewhere in Sweden.๐Ÿ™‚ It’s often used as a thickener in pies so I would think you should have it.

    • I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone use thickener in pies๐Ÿ™‚ But of course we must have it somewhere, I’ll check the supermarket on Friday if I can remember it๐Ÿ™‚
      Christer.

  5. Christer, I tried making rice pudding once, but the results were less than delicious, so will be looking forward to seeing your recipe for rice porridge. Hope you don’t have to drive on ice. We have not had any snow or really cold weather yet. But when we do get snow here it is a very big event as it doesn’t accumulate very often. Walking pets in the rain can’t be very much fun and not walking them doesn’t seem like it’s fun either.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I’ve actually never tried rice pudding so I think I must do that now๐Ÿ™‚

      The roads were rather good after all but the wind made my little Mazda wobble all over the road๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Very little snow so far though.

      Well as long as the dogs have fun I’m happy๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      yes it does but as long as my dogs are happy I’m fine with it๐Ÿ™‚

      It is strange but these cats do love a light rain, at least they prefer it before staying indoors with two hyper active dogs๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day my friend!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

