Winter’s here.

DSC_0005 (800x536)

 

Doris the Doe came to visit us all night I think. There were even a couple of tracks on my entrance stairs so I guess I dropped some sunflower seeds there on my way in again. We got around 10 cm (4 inches) of snow and it just stopped snowing and the sun started to peek through the clouds. No wind and -5C (23F) makes a rather nice day despite all the snow.

My neighbor plowed the road just before we were about to take our walk.

My neighbor plowed the road just before we were about to take our walk.

 

DSC_0009 (532x800)

 

DSC_0014 (800x527)

 

We’ll continue to have below freezing point temperatures for quite some time so the snow will stay and we will get even more later next week. Winter has arrived and there’s no way to stop it🙂 I wonder if it is my Yugoslavian heritage that makes me dislike the climate I live in🙂🙂🙂 But on the other side, my Russian part should most probably feel that our winters are rather warm🙂

 

DSC_0019 (800x532)

 

DSC_0021 (800x532)

 

DSC_0025 (800x532)

 

I’ve decorated my Advent candlestick and made it simple this year, just green moss (and a small plant of grass that grew in the moss I picked) three red toadstools and one spruce cone. These candlesticks are the biggest reason for homes burning down around Yule in this country. People tend to forget putting the lights out and even if they buy specially prepared window lichen and those things that put out lights when it is close to the end homes still burn down. I never lit my candles so that’s no risk here in this 101 year old cottage🙂

 

DSC_0032 (532x800)

The Forbidden Forest.

The Forbidden Forest.

 

DSC_0035 (532x800)

 

My kitchen smells nice right now, coffee, vanilla and cinnamon. I’m making rice porridge and I’m having a cup of coffee while waiting for it to be ready. Later I’ll put up the Star of Advent and the electric Advent candlestick. My Yule tree will have to wait another week before I take it up from the cold cellar. Yule is slowly arriving to this little cottage in the village by the end of the world.

 

DSC_0040 (800x532)

 

DSC_0049 (800x532)

 

DSC_0060 (800x532)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0087 (800x532)

 

16 thoughts on “Winter’s here.

  1. The most wonderful photos of your snowy place at the end of the world. The photo of Doris and your lights almost looks unreal…so beautiful. Sorry about all the snow, I know you don’t like it, but it does make for gorgeous pictures. The very last photo is absolutely fabulous…that would be a great Christmas card too, as well as the one with Doris. I am imagining the aromas floating around your cottage right now. We have lots and lots of battery-operated flickering candles in the stores. They are pretty and of course there is no real flame. Do you have those kind?
    Have a terrific weekend!!!

    • Hi Robin!

      Still we got nothing compared to what they got by the east coast, over 30 inches🙂🙂🙂 and yes, photographs do become beautiful when there’s lots of snow in them🙂

      It smelled fantastic here in my cottage, with some gingerbreads, and oranges the yule smell would be complete🙂

      Yes we do have those lights too but we’re very conservative when it comes to these advent candlesticks. Why not risk home and lives when it comes to them🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Such beautiful photo’s! Exactly what I have been hoping to see. The last one is especially lovely! We have had some rain for the past few days..and it’s been so nice. I am waiting to see the snow on the mountains. Where I live, when it snows you can look down main street to the high moutains and see SNOW!
    I think I like looking at it more than being in it after living in it for years as a child. The memory of my feet just being short of frostbite, has stayed with me over the years!🙂
    Enjoy!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I have to admit that snow always makes photographs look more beautiful! To bad I have to walk around in it though🙂🙂🙂 Unfortunately the snow comes on the mountain here at the same time it falls over my cottage, I would have loved to have Your b´view and climate🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. that’s it! i am on my way. i am moving to your village at the edge of the world. we are never going to see winter here again. i am sick of living in perpetual summer!

    • Hi Joyce!

      You’re so welcome! There are at least two houses without anyone living in them🙂 But You really need to bring something towards our nasty flies🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    The creek is looking very Yule-like and the last picture is beautiful. So is Doris the Doe under the anteater/wild boar.😀😀😀
    We are having snow or rain or a mixture of both which I call snain. Either way, it’s messy. There’s not a lot of it and it will probably melt away tomorrow or Monday but it’s still inconvenient.
    I have to go out and get dog food and groceries. I suppose I could live off spaghetti and white chocolate cookies but the dog probably wouldn’t like it. Not the cookies anyway.😀

    I love candles but have the same fear about burning down the house. My candles are all battery operated, programmed to come on at a certain time and go off after 5 hours. Ain’t technology grand?😀 I was trying to find a string of LED lights that were battery operated so that I could decorate the poles that are holding up the evergreen balls. No luck so far.

    I read elsewhere that you were having a innersittardag. What a great word and an even better idea. Perhaps I shall have one, too.😀 Enjoy the rice porridge.

    • Hi Caryn!

      There’s nothing saying Yule like an anteater/wild boar🙂🙂🙂 and a Doris the Doe of course🙂

      It’s snowing here again and it will continue for quite some time and the temperature is dropping quickly.

      I too would have no problem living on cookies and spaghetti and I’m afraid that my dogs would love that too🙂🙂🙂

      I saw some battery driven led light-chains last year so I’m pretty sure You’ll find some too. But I was thinking about me and my memory, I would never remember to buy new batteries so I bought the usual ones for my little tree🙂

      Yes I have had an innersittardag but I never came around to see that film🙂 I’ll see it tomorrow instead, we’ll most likely get snow all day tomorrow as well🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer, yes you do dislike the cold and snow, but seeing your posts with these photos makes me wish we were having some of that winter weather here. We had a frost this week, but no snow (sigh). Temperatures will be warming up next week so it’s not very likely we will see a white Christmas. Since we were planning to be at home for Christmas, we will have to be happy with watching old movies that show lots of snow! Our house smelled wonderful after Grenville baked chocolate chip cookies on Friday afternoon.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      You can have it🙂🙂🙂 I’d rather have Your climate🙂

      To bad You won’t get any snow at Christmas since You will be home, but weather can change quickly so don’t give up the hope yet.

      I’ve never made chocolate chip cookies but I can imagine how great it smelled🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Underbara bilder, TROTS att det är en massa snö på dom!😦 Det ser precis likadant ut här på södra Gotland, vi fick tydligen mest här, och så är det -4/5 grader. Efter den milda hösten så blev man faktiskt lite chockad. Den kom för abrupt vintern!😦😦
    Notmalt brukar jag julpynta sista dagarna, men förra julen började jag 14 dagar innan. Vilket var riktigt skönt, då hann man tröttna på julgrejorna innan dom skulle tillbaka i förrådet. Och eftersom jag i år ska ha “järngänget” (Trädgårdsentusiasterna) från Gotland Trädgårdsön här på jullunch på lördag, så har jag redan börjat med juldekorationerna så det blir ännu mysigare i år. Och jag har MASSOR – men dock ingen adventsljusstake på bordet! Annars är det faktiskt otroligt mycket, men jag bara älskar julen!!!🙂🙂🙂
    Nu är det bara julgranen kvar, men det är ju en konstgjord så jag ska be Rolle ta in den från förrådet i veckan. Det är en sån där med hundratals små LED-ljus, riktigt snygg faktiskt, så jag kanske inte klär den innan sista veckan före jul. Får se hur det ser ut när den är på plats!🙂🙂

    Ha en riktigt trevlig 1:a advent och skäm borten alla djuren lite extra!
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jo till och med jag måste erkänna att det blir vackert på bild🙂 Det blev aldrig varmare än -11 idag. Det hade varit bättre om marken fått frysa ordentligt innan snön kom eller om snön aldrig kommit.

      Jag kommer att plocka fram lite julsaker då och då så jag hinner nog bli klar till jul🙂🙂

      Jag har ju en riktig gran, som stått i kruka i många år, den står just nu i kalla källaren för att vänja sig vid torrare luft, annars klarar den sig inte länge här inne.

      De har fått extra av allt idag, både skäll och beröm med godis till🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Chriter.

Leave a Reply

