It’s way to cold too fast.

DSC_0010 (800x532)

 

It got cold last night and it got even colder when we went out on our walk. The temperature dropped to -20C (-4 F) as coldest and it never got any warmer than -11 C (12,2 F). But the sun shone all day and there was no wind at all so it did get rather nice during the day. It wasn’t that nice when we were out on our first walk though. I had two sweaters on under my jacket, the long scarf wrapped around my neck and my warm mittens. For some reason my thighs always freeze though, at first they just feel nasty cold and shortly after they get a sort of burning sensation. It doesn’t take long before I don’t feel them at all and I always get the feeling that it I hit them lightly they’ll fall apart🙂

 

DSC_0013 (800x532)

DSC_0016 (800x532)

 

DSC_0019 (800x531)

 

I do have new neighbors again but I haven’t really seen them yet. Well I did see an angry looking man driving by in his rather big SUV, I waved but never got any wave back. He might not have seen me though since he stared straight ahead, I think this might be a person that hits anything with his car if it comes from either side. But there was a Volvo standing there all night and I could see that someone had made breakfast to, the windows in that cottage invites anyone to look straight in while passing🙂 I couldn’t see any furnitures except for that kitchen table and some chairs. I do hope that there at least is one bed so the person didn’t have to sleep on the floor, old cottages like these do have rather cold floors.

 

DSC_0024 (800x532)

 

DSC_0029 (800x532)

 

DSC_0031 (800x532)

 

I cut all the apples I had yesterday and tossed them by the crab apple tree, Doris the Doe stayed there almost all night I think🙂 She really doesn’t care if I come out to fill the feeders but she doesn’t like it when I talk. As soon as I talk to her she runs away as fast as she can. If I however is quiet all the time she just stands there and looks at me🙂 I wonder what it is she doesn’t like with my voice🙂

 

DSC_0037 (800x532)

DSC_0041 (800x532)

 

DSC_0045 (800x531)

 

I ‘ve had a fire in the stove all day and will continue to have one until I go to bed. So I’m thinking of baking a bread and perhaps a few cookies too or perhaps make some pancakes. Pancakes is often used as dessert here and we even make birthday cakes from them so they’ll be just as good as any cookie🙂 But first it’s the laundry that has to be done, not a funny job but I do want clean underwear next week too🙂

 

DSC_0049 (800x532)

 

DSC_0053 (532x800)

 

DSC_0039 (536x800)

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “It’s way to cold too fast.

  1. Hi Christer,
    That poor man’s eyeballs were probably frozen in position and he couldn’t look at you.😀😀
    I love the snowy, icy photos but I’m very happy that it is at your place and not at mine. We did have some snow left over from yesterday but it is melting away now. The temperature is above freezing and will get much warmer as the day continues. It’s damp, though, so it feels colder than it is.
    I really like the next to the last photo. I want to walk into the sunny part and see what’s in the dark spot. It would probably be warmer in the sunny part as well.
    You should probably learn to do the horse handlers’ whispery whistle for when you are out in the garden with Doris. I don’t know how better to describe it. It’s a breathy sort of tuneless whistling done very softly as if you were whistling to yourself. Horseman use it when they are grooming the horses. It’s soothing and enables the horse to keep track of where the groom is without having to look around.
    I also have laundry waiting. Some is in the dryer and some is still in the washing machine. I was too lazy to go down to the cellar last night.🙂 I cooked spaghetti and sauce the other day so there are also dishes waiting to be done. Possibly they can wait a bit more.
    Enjoy the day. Keep warm.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Considering what car he had I doubt it🙂🙂🙂 He most probably had it very nice and cozy in there🙂
      It’s already as cold as it was this morning so I’m hoping for some clouds to make it a bit warmer tonight.

      That dark spot is actually the stable I’ve taken cover in during those heavy rains we had🙂 Not much help when it comes to cold though, no horses in there since long.

      I’ll think of that whistle when I start grooming her🙂🙂🙂 It’s still rather light outside while I’m filling the feeders so she has no problems seeing me🙂

      The washing is done and I really should do the dishes but it can wait another day or so🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. time for you to move here. maybe we can trade places! i have all the windows open and it is in the 60’s! maybe your voice is the only one doris has ever heard close up?

    • Hi Joyce!

      To long to work if we traded places otherwise I wouldn’t hesitate at all🙂🙂🙂

      You might most possibly be right about that and animals that sounds usually are in trouble or is hunting them. I’ll talk quietly from now on.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Jag som tyckte vi hade kallt (-5), men det är ju ingenting! Herregud – -20 grader!!😦
    Jag älskar alla dina otroligt vackra vinterbilder, men den första var något extra tyckte jag. Man kunde riktigt känna hur mysigt det var inne i hsuet!!🙂🙂
    Nu har jag pyntat klart – och lagt ut bilder på det också. Fast jag hinner nog ändra mig innan julen!*fniss* >:o

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Lika kallt inatt här och lika kallt skall det bli igen säger de. Jag bor ju i ett köldhål men hade ändå inte kallast i natt här🙂

      Den stugan är så liten att det inte tar lång tid för henne att få det varmt och gott där🙂 Min stuga är liten men hennes är nog hälften av min🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Dee!

      It sure is cold! Only -4F and it will be just as cold this night. After that clouds and snow will come and then it gets less cold.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      Snow and fog makes anything look good🙂 I don’t mind the fog on weekends or during daylight but the snow could fall somewhere else. We’ll get more already tomorrow afternoon they say.

      It sure smelled nice🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I KNOW I commented on this post..and again I can’t find it. Joyce is right..deer are spooked by our voices. I had to be totally silent when the men went deer hunting and I learned that as far back as I can remember. Try speaking very softly..but I have a feeling it still might spook her. Good luck! In time she could possibly eat out of your hand. Animals are so smart. She already knows she is safe around you…and like all females a soft voice might be more soothing to her. Where did my previous comment go??? 😦 I am pleased you liked the antlers.🙂
    Take care,
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I’ve looked everywhere but can’t find Your comment! I guess it’s out there in cyberspace lost and confused🙂🙂🙂

      Old Doris never cared about if we spoke or not but then again she had been with us for so many years. But I’ll speak softly or not at all in the future.

      I don’t mind antlers at all and it did fit right in to that Christmas decoration🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • I know WordPress sometimes behave very strange when it comes to comments. I can often find Your comments in the spam box for some reason I just don’t understand, but this time it’s no where to be found.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

