Nasty cold and a faulty radiator .

DSC_0014 (800x516)

Once again WordPress has deleted my post, but for some reason it saved my photographs?! Suddenly something happened and the page sort of jumped and all text was gone??? I really can’t understand this especially since everything was saved more than one time. Well I’ll try it again then. I went out a bit early this morning to get rid of all snow and ice on my car and when I was done it was time to go to work. So I opened the door to the dog house (it’s not really a house, it’s more like an extra room beside the wood shed. In that room they have a huge mattress and all four dogs can sleep on it at the same time if they wish but normally both Orvar and Hector stays outside, they love it when temperatures drop like last night, to -20C (-4F) ) and realized that it was a bit to cool in there.

DSC_0020 (800x532)

DSC_0027 (800x525)

DSC_0031 (800x532)

The radiator had given up during the night and I’m not surprised, it’s been there since I bought this place almost thirteen years ago. But it was the wrong night to give up I feel with that low temperature. The old boys as I said doesn’t care but Nova has such thin and short fur and Sune is only seven months old. But it was warm enough and if they just kept playing like they always do in there it would be warm enough for them during the day. But I did leave work early so I could buy a new one and I also bought a new one for my bathroom since that one gave up last winter🙂

DSC_0037 (800x532)

DSC_0038 (800x532)

DSC_0042 (800x532)

They didn’t have the one I wanted, so I had to choose either a much bigger one or a much smaller one. The bigger one would have covered a very big part of the wall and since they play tough those two I thought it was best to buy the smaller one, not so heavy if they are successful in tearing it down🙂 Orvar and Hector did that with the old one when they were puppies🙂 So the first thing I did when I came home was to place the new radiator on the wall and turn it on. It will cost me a fortune to heat up that room again🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0052 (800x532)

DSC_0053 (800x532)

DSC_0059 (800x532)

It isn’t going to be especially warm in there to be honest, around 5C (41F) is perfect. The old boys can tolerate it that warm and it’s warm enough for both Sune and Nova. I’ll get out in a minute to check how the new radiator works but first I’ll make a pot of tea and something to eat. The coming night will be just as cold or not colder than the nights we’ve had so far but already tomorrow afternoon it’ll be slightly warmer and new snowfalls will arrive, yippee.

 

DSC_0017 (800x532)

DSC_0016 (800x532)

DSC_0005 (800x531)

 

Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “Nasty cold and a faulty radiator .

  1. Hi Christer,
    Brrr. It looks bitter cold there. But very beautiful. What is the bird in the last photo? A woodpecker or a sapsucker of some kind, I know.

    It’s sunny and 57F here. It’s a little windy and that takes some of the warmth away but it’s still lovely. I was out doing errands with no coat! In December! Too bad global warming is a bad thing because I could really get into this kind of winter.🙂🙂

    It’s a good thing you know how to install radiators. I would have had to call the plumber. So, even more money besides the cost of heating a cold room back to normal.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!It’s just as cold as it looks🙂 We call that wood pecker Bigger Woodpecker. One of the most common we have I think and this is most probably female because it has a whitish forehead.

      I would love 57! I think that was what w got this summer as warmest🙂🙂🙂 I had hoped for global warming to kick in here now but it seems it just gives us either rain and reasonable warm or bl…y cold and lots of snow🙂🙂🙂

      These radiators are easy, just to plug in to any socket. If I should have bought the kind I already have I never would have been able to plug them in myself🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day! It’s ending here now.
      Christer.

      • Ah, they are electric? I was thinking they were the kind that has hot water running through. Well, even I can plug something into a socket.🙂🙂🙂

    • Hi Robin!

      It was so cold here this morning that the roads actually were quite good🙂 The ice was so rough that the tires gripped well. I wish we had 50F🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. even though I live in snow 6 to 7 months of the year I never tire of photos of it, your photos are beautiful. You are so kind to your dogs, some people wouldn’t care, I can never understand those type of people that let their dogs freeze in the cold.I know of a man who’s beagle froze to death on cold night, he was charged, fined and is banned from owning another pet.My choice for punishment for him would have been the saae torture he gave his dog, freeze to death, I suppose heaters don’t last for ever, hope they take this one down with their rough play!

    • Hi Laurie!

      I like snow in photographs too, to bad I have to live with it though🙂

      There are some breeds that really doesn’t need or want any kind of heat in their dog houses but that either sled hounds or dogs like NewFoundlands. All the rest must have heat and I think it’s good that he never is allowed to have any pets any more! A beagle can’t take much cold and I agree, he should suffer the same way the poor dog did!!

      So far the radiator is where I have placed it🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Är du förvånad över att elementet la av när det var ruskigt kallt!? Det är ju alltid så det är; Precis när man behöver grejorna som bäst, då sviker dom en!!😦
    Jag antar att det bara är på dagen när dom är ensamma som dom är i “uthuset”? För jag har en svag aning om att dom brukar ockupera din säng när du är hemma. Så där lär du inte behöva så mycket värme på, inte med sköna fällarna runt dig! :-):-)

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det har fungerat så bra så jag tänkte inte ens på att det skulle ge upp🙂 Men skall det gå sönder så är det ju kalla nätter🙂 Elementet var trots allt minst fjorton år🙂🙂🙂

      Ja det är bara när jag är på jobbet som de är i hundgården, annars är de alltid med mig. Vill någon att jag skall komma och hälsa på vet de om att fyra hundar också kommer med🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! well, my plants are putting out spring growth and the birds are chirping like it is april. we are once again locked in warm weather. i’ve made 5 beef roasts in 2 days and i spent the entire day today with the assembly guys from ikea. i need a vacation! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      You do have a strange weather! The weather we’re having is normal really but You should have winter too now. Very strange!

      I’ve heard that IKEA has assembly guys now days, I remember when I was a kid and the instructions that followed could be to a totally different thing and so could most of the parts too🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Dee!

      75! That’s summer temps here🙂🙂🙂

      Yes it was actually a bit too warm in the dog house so I’ll lower it tomorrow morning before I go to work.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    I can feel the cold from those pictures especially with all that snow. Your dogs are heartier than Gracie. She gets cold and tries to nestle in the covers. I saw a perfect bed for her. It has a cover over part of it so she’ll be able to nestle but not get too hot.

    Gracie was out a long time today as it was so warm. She ran around the whole yard as fast as she could and came back with spit on her face from running with her tongue out.

    Try to stay warm, and I hope the new furnaces do the trick!!

    • Hi Kat!

      Even if it is less cold today it feels colder because there’s a weak wind blowing. Thankfully from a direction that doesn’t hit my cottage🙂

      I’m a bit surprised over how well Nova handles cold temperatures, her fur is really thin but still she just loves to run around in -4F🙂 Sune seems to get something like his fathers fur and he’s a Bernese Mountain dog🙂

      It’s nice and warm in both the dog house and in my bathroom🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. It’s not good when heating goes out in weather like yours. I’m glad you got a new one.
    Goodness! I love snow..I do..but after living in it..I need to remember how it was and be grateful for Southern California…I suppose!🙂 I do love looking at the photo’s though.
    You DON’T want global warming! lol

    • Hi Mona!

      Both radiators works just fine and it’s warm and nice in both the dog house and my bathroom🙂

      I love snow in photographs🙂 and You’ll see lots of it in my photographs from now on it seems.

      I could have a very local global warming zone just around my county🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

