We’re never prepared for winter.

DSC_0007 (800x532)

 

This village and its inhabitants were the lucky ones yesterday, we only got 16 inches of snow, nothing compared to many other places. I don’t know how much they got in the village I work but it was much more and they already had gotten 32 inches in the first snowstorm🙂🙂🙂 Roads were closed and cars slid down ditches and four people died. One close to here where I live and one not far from work. It took me more than twice the usual time to come home yesterday afternoon but I did come home.

 

DSC_0012 (800x533)

DSC_0015 (800x532)

 

DSC_0016 (800x532)

 

It snowed all night and first thing in the morning my boss texted me and wondered if I was going to work today. He was as soon as he had shoveled all snow from his yard so he could reach the road🙂 Our plow man had just plowed outside my cottage so I only had to dig out my car before I could leave. The roads in this county was rather good but as soon as I reached the county I work in they were anything but good. Thankfully my tires works best in snow so I had no problems driving to work but I had to drive rather slowly and never hesitate if there was any snow piles on the road and there were plenty🙂

 

DSC_0019 (800x532)

 

DSC_0020 (800x532)

 

DSC_0027 (532x800)

 

We were four out of eight that made it to my department today🙂 For some reason some took the entire day off when their roads weren’t plowed. Why couldn’t they just drive to work after they had plowed the roads? That’s what I would have done if my road weren’t plowed in the morning. The roads were really good when I drove home again this afternoon.

 

DSC_0033 (800x532)

 

DSC_0040 (532x800)

 

DSC_0046 (532x800)

 

The snow fall stopped around noon and it started again around two pm🙂 We might not get any snow tomorrow but it will snow a lot already on Saturday again. I was supposed to go to a very good friend but I’ll cancel that, I’ve had enough fun driving around in chaotic snow storms as it is🙂

 

DSC_0058 (800x532)

 

DSC_0060 (800x532)

 

DSC_0059 (800x532)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0062 (800x532)

 

18 thoughts on “We’re never prepared for winter.

  1. Vilka helt underbara vinterbilder!! Ja ni har nog fått mer snö än oss men fy vad hemskt de har haft det i Skaratrakten och uppigenom;( Här har det kommit en hel del men för ovanlighetens skull körde plogbilen flera gånger på 160:an såg jag:)Här är nu -13 grader och det är skönt att vi kan elda i braskaminen:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Jag bor ju bara två mil från Skara men det är en otrolig skillnad i snödjup! För en gångs skull har jag haft turen på min sida🙂

      -9 här men det sjunker nog rejält i natt är jag rädd. Fast det är helt vindstilla just nu så det känns inte speciellt kallt alls🙂

      Ha det!
      Christer.

  2. Christer,
    I guess this is the continuation of your very rainy summer and fall and it’s not even winter solstice yet. Doesn’t look good. Maybe being on the tail end of the Gulf Stream isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Lots of moisture that has to come down somewhere.
    Makes for really beautiful photos, though. If there has to be winter, there should at least be pretty snow. But not on days when you have to drive through it.
    Blue skies and 38F here with a bit of a wind chill. Rocky is on the front porch enjoying the sun. I’m on the couch elevating my foot again because I am stupid.😦
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes this is a natural continuing of all the rain and we’ll get lots of snow the coming week.

      Well, we would have the same climate as Alaska if it wasn’t for the gulf stream🙂 So I think we’re better of than they are in Alaska🙂

      It is pretty but I still would prefer it it just was cold and no snow🙂 But my dogs loves this so I’m happy anyway🙂

      There’s always a prize to pay when one is stupid, I do hope it isn’t too expensive🙂

      Have a great day and take care of that foot of Yours!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I was thinking about You and this weather today, I know You would love to have this instead of Your summer weather. I wish we could swap🙂
      Way to early for tulips🙂

      Have a great day despite the summer You’re having.
      Christer.

  3. Christer, you take the best snow photos, everything looks amazing! Good luck with commuting in the snow. I hope your Saturday snow won’t strand you in the cottage!! We are 38F and sunny here today. No snow in forecast at all.

    • Hi Robin!

      It’s the easiest thing to take good snow photographs🙂 Anything looks beautiful🙂

      I wouldn’t mind getting stranded in my cottage, for several days🙂 I have food enough🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

  4. We are still having records high temps. But today is supposed to be the last of it and tomorrow they say , will turn cold. And “snow” possibly on Sunday! Hmmm. We will see. I never completely trust the weather people.
    Be careful out there! I don’t worry about my driving (or yours) as much as I do the inexperienced winter driver.😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      You do have unusual high temperatures and I wish we had too🙂 But no turning towards warmer here I’m afraid, just as well really because I can imagine how the roads will be when all this snow melts🙂🙂🙂

      I’m not worried about my drivibn either but I do worry about many I meet or passes me🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Do be careful on the roadways..we don’t want you in a ditch!🙂 I LOVE the little red buildings..wish I could paint ours red. I was fortunate to get the trim done in red!
    Have a great weekend, Christer.
    Mona

    • Hi Lois!

      Even I have to admit that a snowy world is beautiful🙂

      I hope You’ll get lots of snow and that ours melts away🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

