Lots of snow.

Finally she understood that it was free food :-)

Finally she understood that it was free food🙂

The sun is shining! Feels very strange🙂 We were supposed to have another snow storm today but it seems its running late and will arrive tomorrow instead and it will last until Monday, so once again there will be chaos on the roads. But there’s no idea to worry about that now, the day has been rather nice so far.

Her daughter prefer to stay close to the pond.

Her daughter prefer to stay close to the pond.

They walked to the bog when we went out on our walk.

They walked to the bog when we went out on our walk.

DSC_0023 (517x800)

Doris the Doe and her daughter came rather early last night and they immediately realized that something was different. Doris, the more brave of the two circled around the plate filled with deer food for more than an hour before she finally dared to walk up and try some. I’m not sure she thought it was especially delicious in the beginning, she did walk to the bird feeders after a while.

DSC_0025 (800x532)

DSC_0028 (800x532)

Even broken trees look good with lots of snow on them.

Even broken trees look good with lots of snow on them.

But she returned after a while and so did her daughter. I found them boot sleeping in my garden when I woke up this morning and especially Doris slept heavily. I wanted to let the dog out and I didn’t want her to wake up by having a dog in her face🙂 So I knocked on the windows really hard but she didn’t wake up🙂 So I knocked again and shouted a little and then she finally woke up and slowly walked away towards the fence🙂

DSC_0046 (800x532)

DSC_0048 (532x800)

DSC_0054 (532x800)

They came back a few minutes ago and Doris is finishing what’s left from yesterday while her daughter seems to like eating the bark from those twigs that’s left from the apple tree branches I cut up early this autumn. I’ll give them more tonight again.

DSC_0076 (800x532)

DSC_0077 (800x532)

DSC_0078 (800x532)

It was a really nice walk we had this morning, not too cold and no wind at all. It was so quiet that I could hear my dogs breathe. They had shoveled the road all the way down to the creek and that made it so much easier for all of us. Unfortunately they had done that because they will continue to cut down the forest. It looked like they will go in to the forbidden forest and close to the creek as well. I’m not to happy about that.

DSC_0001 (800x532)

DSC_0002 (800x532)

DSC_0005 (800x532)

DSC_0003 (800x532)

These two were hanging on the inside of the cellophane that was wrapped around all the presents. They now stand on my linen cabinet in my living room.

These two were hanging on the inside of the cellophane that was wrapped around all the presents. They now stand on my linen cabinet in my living room.

It’s time to make something to eat, I haven’t had breakfast yet even if I have been up since 6 am🙂 after that I’ll take a nap and then we’ll take a walk down to the bog before it gets dark again. Today I think I’ll watch Ice Age 4, the weather sort of invites to do that🙂

 

DSC_0084 (800x531)

 

Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “Lots of snow.

  1. hi christer! i still can’t believe they were so rough with that box but it looks like most everything survived! sune sure seems to enjoy the snow! still warm here. your snow looks wonderful! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes everything looks intact but it is sad that they couldn’t treat it better.

      He does enjoy the now immensely and even I thought it was kind of nice since it was not too cold and no wind was blowing. I do hope it turns towards colder weather where You live too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Sune really loves the snow! He’s just plowing through it following interesting smells, I suppose.🙂 That last photo is Yule card worthy.
    Being a heavy sleeper is not a good thing when you are a creature of the forest. Doris must feel very safe by your house.
    You said yesterday that the food they sold for deer was labelled Reindeer food. Maybe Doris finds lichen-flavored feed not so tasty.🙂 I just put out cracked corn and hay. Google probably has a recipe for homemade deer food. Google has everything.
    It’s misty outside this morning. Well, maybe it’s actually raining. It’s still too early to poke my head out there.🙂
    Did you get my postcard?
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      The snow is so deep in some places that he could run around beneath the surface totally hidden and he really liked that🙂 I do like that last photo.

      I was surprised that I had to knock and shout before she woke up🙂 I guess the lynx isn’t somewhere close otherwise she most likely would have woken up as soon as we started to move around in the cottage.

      There weren’t any lichens in that food🙂 I wonder if they actually gives this to reindeer? But she did try to chase away her daughter from this food so I do think she likes it after all🙂🙂 I was thinking of buying silage or hay from the farm next door but thought this was easier to handle.

      No, no postcard yet. Sometimes it takes rather long time for cards and letters to reach the other side of the ocean, if they come at all🙂 Two years ago only two out of ten cards reached their destination in the USA. Last year was a bit better, at least 50% of them arrived.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Dee!

      It is and it was kind of nice walking around in it too🙂

      Most people don’t want deers in their gardens since they tend to eat anything that grows🙂 But I’m hoping the food I’m giving them will stop most of that. They’ll come here anyway since they rob the bird feeders from their seeds🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I WAS going to ask how Sune likes the snow, but then I saw those photos!🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂
    Doris and her daughter are so lucky to have such a kind caretaker. Thank goodness for you.
    The snow photos are very beautiful, I ALMOST wish we had some. (almost but still no)😀
    I agree with Caryn. Perfect Yule worthy card.
    Looks like Joyce did a great job of shipping!🙂 It will be fun to find out what you received!
    Sorry😦 about the Forbidden Forest.😦😦😦

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes he loves this weather🙂

      Well I might as well feed them since they rob the bird feeders from the seeds I put in them. Some have problems with squirrels eating the bird food, my problem is deers🙂🙂🙂

      If Joyce hadn’t packed everything so carefully I’m pretty sure most things would have been broken. Now I have lots of American newspapers to read while eating breakfast🙂🙂🙂

      I know those owning forest must cut down the trees, not only to make money but the law says they must. Still it takes such a long time until it looks like a forest again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Ojoj vilka mängder av paket! Vilken tur att det mesta klarade sig från postens hantering, man blir så arg att de inte kan respektera att det kanske är ömtåligt:( Sonen jobbar på en budfirma och han säger att ibland får de paket som det står “AKTA GLAS” på och som ska levereras till en kund och det bara rasslar i paketet. Han tycker det känns jätteretfullt att lämna ett sådant paket men han måste för det är kunden som måste reklamera. Så härligt lilla Doris och hennes dotter har det hos dig mat och en trygg sovplats på natten:) Den lilla spaden och grepen var ju underbara:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Det var bara paketet med en halsduk som gått sönder, så den använde jag redan nu i morse, julen började tidigt i år med andra ord🙂

      Ja det är trist när de inte kan vara aktsamma om paketen! Nu hade ju Joyce packat in allt ordentligr´t i tidningspapper också, så det var väl därför allting faktiskt höll. Kartongpappret var mjukt så det har blivit riktigt illa behandlat.

      Jag hoppas att maten jag ger dem kommer att hålla dem borta från mina buskar och småträd. De kommer ju hit andå för att stjäla fågelfröerna🙂

      Visst vär de härliga spaden och grepen🙂 De har nu en hedersplats i vardagsrummet🙂

      Ha det!
      Christer.

  5. I think you have your Christmas card photo. The last one of Sune is perfect. You could do a collage of photos. That’s what I did with my grandkids.
    One of your commenter said something about feeding the deer corn. I just read a warning about that. It causes some illness with the deer. They get this disease of their belly and go off and die.
    My neighbor feeds the deer. I might have said this before…..but one day he was walking with the bowl and the deer were following him. It was so funny. We have so many here in our neighborhood. They said the deer kill in our state would be over 80,000 during the short hunting season. Breaks my heart. I love those little soulful faces and those big brown eyes.
    Okay who sent all those packages. Someone that cares alot about you. Anxious to see what is inside.
    Stay safe and warm in all that snow. Beautiful snow, wish we had some. We are having lots of gloomy days with rain.
    Debby

    • Hi Debby!

      The photo I’ll chose for next years card is one that You’ll never see here in my blog🙂 But I do like that photo of him🙂

      Corn is not something we can buy in sacks here, since very few grows it in this country. But it’s always good to know things like that! Thanks for the info!
      🙂 The old Doris did just that when my old neighbors lived here🙂 She was almost tame and if she could smell food she came running🙂 She’s gone since a while but her daughter is slowly becoming almost as tame🙂 We don’t have that many deers here, I think they have plenty more in the cities and towns now days. So I’m hoping the food will keep Doris and her daughter close to my garden so that the hunters can’t shoot them🙂

      It’s Joyce that writes the blog Octoberfarm (there’s a link to her blog in yesterdays post) that has sent me that package. To be honest, I think Joyce cares about the whole world🙂 You’ll see what’s in the packages on christmas eve🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Love that last photo of Sune in the snow, Christer! You definitely have a lot of snow there! I hate the thought of the Forbidden Forest being brutalized…not right!! not right at all!! A bunch of shiny packages from Joyce. I see maple syrup there…yummy!! How funny you will watch Ice Age 4….it isn’t snowy or cold enough for you already? lol!! I am happy Doris and her daughter have found the deer food. They are lucky deer.

    • Hi Robin!

      Still, we have almost nothing compared to how it is just a few miles away and that’s how I like it🙂🙂🙂

      I’m not to happy about that either. It’s a rather small machine so I’m hoping it’s just a thinning they’ll do.

      Yes lots of shiny packages and maple syrup🙂 That will go nicely on my pancakes🙂🙂

      They’re out there right now, slowly approaching the new food I’ve placed there. Something is scaring them and I wonder if Teodor might be out there looking at them🙂

      Well, at least I’ll watch it in my warm and cozy cottage🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      It surely does. But where I grew up, in Gothenburg by the coast, Christmases usually were quite warm and rainy. So a rainy Christmas gives me the Christmas mood🙂🙂

      He does love snow that little dog🙂 He loves to follow the sound from mice and voles running deep down beneath the surface🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer,
    I love that last picture. It is perfect!

    I can’t believe how high the snow is. Your dogs do love romping in it. Gracie likes it a bit less than they. She’ll go out but doesn’t run the yard the way she does without the snow.

    The day is dark but the rain has stopped. I’ still doing the decorating, but I think a nap is in order before I continue!

    Have a wonderful evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I suddenly became so tired that I went to bed rather early, but it was rather nice until I did🙂

      Nova is the one that is less happy about the snow. She does run around in it but she prefers to do it on plowed roads. But she had to get out in to the deep parts while chasing Sune🙂🙂🙂

      It is a rather good photo that last one🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Jag bara älskar det sista kortet, Sune ser så underbar ut med all snö!🙂🙂🙂
    Här har vi haft fint väder idag, men trots det så fick jag igår två återbud till Trädsgårdsentusiasternas jullunch beroende på att dom “trodde” det skulle bli snökaos och att det var halt. Man kan ju undra vad dom trodde att det är för väder i december när dom tackade ja i november!?:-(😦😦 Men vi andra sju hade det jättetrevligt, så det gjorde inte så mycket att dom inte kom! *fniss*

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag ställde också in ett besök på grund av att de varnade för snökaos. Jag har haft det tillräckligt spännande på vägarna som det är hittills. Att det sedan inte blec någon snö var ju ren otur. Den skulle komma idag men nu såg jag att den kanske inte kommer nu heller🙂

      Huvudsaken var ju att ni som träffades had kul eller hur.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  9. Hi Christer, once again, I have somehow fallen behind in blog reading but my was it such fun to stop by and catch up and to see all the wonderful winter photos. You certainly have a LOT of snow already and we are actually quite jealous because we remember our winters in our native state of NJ, which are nothing like here on the VA eastern show where it hardly snows at all. Of course, there are some winters where they got nearly 20 inches, but a rarity for sure. Nice of you to feed Doris and her daughter and glad the dogs are so happy running the snow as we would be too! The contents of the package that Joyce sent looked amazing – what a lovely thing for her to do, a good friend indeed.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Well we’re closing in on Christmas and You’ve already had Thanksgiving and I guess there’s still a lot to do after the huge storms so I’m surprised that You do have any time to read or write blogs at all🙂

      This is nothing, we have twice the snow at work and perhaps three times closer to Vänern, our biggest lake. I’m the lucky one this time🙂🙂

      I’ll open those presents as soon as I wake up at Christmas eve🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

