Saint Lucia.

DSC_0010 (800x532)

 

Today is Saint Lucia’s day here in Sweden, a day we protestant swedes (I guess that now days also all children of any religion participate in this) celebrate a catholic saint. It started at a mansion here in the part of Sweden I live (Västergötland) 1764. Very strange really since we swedes back then looked down at anything coming from a catholic country.  Well we looked down at people having any other religion than Lutheran protestantism to be honest. They might have been inspired by a German tradition that had absolutely nothing to do with Saint Lucia.

 

DSC_0021 (530x800)

DSC_0007 (800x518)

 

DSC_0011 (800x529)

 

DSC_0024 (800x532)

 

Lucia processions starts early all over the country and I better show You a video what it’s like. But Lucia walks in the front and she is followed by her maids. After them comes Star Boys and if children are involved Ginger bread men and gnomes also follows. Saint Stephanus is usually participating as well. They visit schools, working places, nursing homes and so on singing Yule songs. Everyone drinks coffee and eats ginger breads and Lusse kittens🙂 The Lucia procession You’ll see in the video is a Swedish Lucia procession in Barcelona.

 

 

But there was of course a pagan/folklore background before Lucia arrived. This day  was considered to to have the longest night of the year and lots of magical beings were out running tonight. Therefore most people stayed indoors after sunset because who wanted to be taken by trolls or perhaps wood nymphs? All Yule preparations had to be finished today or one would be punished in the most gruesome way.

 

DSC_0032 (800x531)

DSC_0043 (800x531)

 

DSC_0044 (800x531)

DSC_0048 (800x532)

 

The one all were most afraid of was Lussi or the Lussi hag. She was an evil female demon flying around in the sky and if children had misbehaved she might go down the chimney to bring them with her. She usually had a gang with her called Lussiferda. But in this region, Västergötland, Lussi was a man called Lussegubben (Lusse man) and later he got connected with Lucifer.

 

DSC_0045 (800x532)

DSC_0055 (532x800)

DSC_0060 (800x532)

DSC_0062 (800x532)

 

It must be tough outside because Doris jumped in ton the garden as soon as I had placed the food on the plate, normally she waits half an hour or so. I can see that she has lost some weight and I gave her rather much food both yesterday and today. I can’t see her daughter though, I do hope nothing has happened to her. It’s time for me to have something to eat as well. The fire is burning in the stove and tonight I’ll have cocoa because I don’t have any tea or coffee at home🙂

 

DSC_0083 (800x531)

 

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “Saint Lucia.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Happy St Lucia day. Or should it be Blessed St Lucia Day?
    I hope nothing has happened to Doris’ daughter and that she shows up at your feeding station soon.
    Your Yule card arrived and I was so surprised. Thank you. It’s lovely. The sky looks great, especially with the border you chose. Being a knitter, I was, of course, also interested in the mittens on the stamp.😀
    Here’s hoping that my postcard to you will be among the 50% that manages to get delivered this year.😀
    Sunny and cold here today. It’s supposed to snow or rain later on and definitely snow even later that. How’s that for a definitive weather report?😀😀
    Enjoy your cocoa and the rest of your evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      We usually say have a nice Lucia if we say anything at all🙂

      It turns out that it was her daughter I saw, Doris came later in the evening🙂 I didn’t think her daughter dared coming here alone.

      The sky is way to white but I’ll think of that next year.

      I can’t remember that stamp to be honest but I’m pretty sure it is Lovika mittens. They sort of became the standard of how a mitten should look long before I grew up🙂
      So far I’ve only gotten that one card but it is still early days to be honest.

      Sunny and terrible cold here all day but snow is on the way so it will become much warmer already tomorrow.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      • You’ve set me off on an internet journey to find the lovikka mitten. I found a couple of nice patterns to knit but they don’t look too much like the mitten on the stamp. Then I went searching for Swedish stamps and found that design but no explanation of what it was. Perhaps the mitten on the stamp is an artistic rendition of a really over-the-top lovikka mitten.🙂
        The sky is a lovely pearl grey that makes all the things stand out nicely. But, then again, I don’t know what the original looks like and that might be even better.🙂
        It’s strange (and sometimes annoying) how the image looks just the way you want it to on the computer but the printed object is so different. It’s even more annoying when you correct for it and it still doesn’t come out the way you wanted. I’ve done that a few times.

      • It might just be what You wrote, an artistic rendition. A Lovika mitten made in Lovika usually cost a small fortune🙂 They can look a bit different depending on from where the pattern comes from. Like so many thing every farm or croft had its own look on them, like the Dala horses.

        The sky was much grayer and that looked better in the computer🙂 The thing was that it looked right on the web site I ordered the cards from too, so I got surprised when I saw how it really looked at the cards🙂🙂

        Christer.

  2. Christer, beautiful pictures as usual. I love the fact that you are taking care of the deer. I enjoy reading about the customs of other countries. Thank you for your posts.

    • Hi Dee!

      I used to give the deers apples all winter but my neighbor who fed them “real” food moved, so I started instead since no one else would bother doing it. To be honest, they would rob the bird feeders from the seeds if I didn’t🙂🙂🙂

      You’ll soon understand that we Swedes have continued to celebrate our holidays with lots of our pagan past traditions🙂 Especially Midsummer but all the other holidays are more or less pagan to be honest🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. When I saw “St. Lucia” I immediately thought of the one in the Caribbean. I thought you were going to say you are taking your Yule vacation time down there!😀😀😀
    I can’t get a connection to the Internet on my home computer! I have no idea what’s happened!😦
    So I’m commenting from work and unable to watch the video.
    In fact, I shouldn’t be on the computer at all but I had to stop by quickly and thank you for the Xmas/Yule card!
    It was in the mail when I got home last night, I love the photo!
    and I love the photos in this post too.
    (I hope Doris’s daughter is ok!)
    Thanks again!

    • Hi Cindi!

      That would have been something🙂🙂🙂

      I have had big problems with my internet connection for a couple of days now and it’s so annoying! Especially when it happens to both my computer and my mobile phone at the same time🙂

      I’m glad the card reached You🙂 8 out of ten has so far reached their destination, that’s a new record🙂

      It turns out it was her daughter I saw, she’s thinner than Doris🙂 Doris came later in the evening so both are alive and well🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

