Bitterly cold night.

DSC_0001 (527x800)

 

It was bitterly cold here this morning, -18C (-0,4F) so I gave Doris and her daughter extra food before I left for work. It felt like the steering in my car was made from chewy fudge and the engine was anything but happy to have to work🙂 I can honestly say that a Mazda isn’t made for temperatures like that🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0001 (800x531)

DSC_0006 (800x531)

DSC_0007 (800x532)

 

Like always I drove by the super market on my way home after work. There were just a few cars at the parking lot and it looked like it was even fewer people in the store. I guess most people will do their shopping next week instead. My phone rang while I was going to pay what I had bought, it was a work friend that asked me about his cat. It had been throwing up for three days and he was worried that it might have eaten rat poison.

 

DSC_0014 (532x800)

DSC_0015 (532x800)

DSC_0018 (800x532)

 

It didn’t seem to have any pain so I doubt it had eaten that, it’s a rather nasty and painful death for animals that has eaten rat poison. But my guess is that something might be stuck somewhere in the cat. So I told him to give the cat water with fructose and some salt weather it wanted it or not because it must be dehydrated by now and if it wasn’t better by tomorrow he should call the vet (they hadn’t seen him through up anything today and he had been eating a little every day, otherwise I would have told him to call the vet as soon as he came home from work).

 

DSC_0021 (800x532)

DSC_0022 (800x532)

DSC_0023 (532x800)

 

I bought a dvd today, the remake of Total Recall. I remember liking the old one with Arnold but don’t remember much of it to be honest. So now I have at least three movies to watch this weekend since it will snow a lot. They have given us a level one warning when it comes to the weather this weekend, that means the roads won’t be funny to drive on and since we’ll get temperatures above 0C (32F) it will be even worse because most roads are just a thick layer of ice🙂

 

DSC_0101 (800x531)

DSC_0102 (800x531)

DSC_0103 (800x531)

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and a sandwich or two. Tonight is Grimm night so I’ll be watching that🙂 It has become even better since his mother has returned, she knows how to kick ass🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0099 (800x531)

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Bitterly cold night.

    • Hi Lois!

      All the country has a 100% chance of a white Yule here this year🙂 We’ll get warmer winds and some rain but we all have so much snow that there’s no risk of it melting away🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Tror ingen bil riktigt gillar när det är så kallt:( Vi har tack o lov inte haft så kallt ännu hoppas inte vi får det heller. Hoppas att din arbetskamrats katt blir bra, inte roligt när ens älsklingar blir sjuka tycker dock det varit bättre att ringa och rådfråga veterinären direkt (utan att ringakta di naturligtvis:)) det hade jag gjort i alla fall. Den nya Total Recall såg vi i förrgår och den var bra tyckte jag:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Fast i och med att det inte blåste så kändes det bättre än det gör nu när det blåser. Men så kallt är inte skönt på någpt sätt egentligen🙂

      Jag önskar att de ringt veterinären redan igår, men av någon anledning dröjer folk med det och hellre frågar någon annan de tror kan mycket. Visst har jag upplevt en del med djuren genom åren🙂 men själv skulle jag aldrig fråga någon annan utan ringa veterinären direkt.

      Låter bra med filmen🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Dee!

      They do, especially the big old ones. They are a big part NewFoundland and love this cold weather and never goes in to the dog house when it is as cold as it was this morning🙂

      I do like to have those small deers around🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I am not envying you the snow and frigid temps. Today, after a frosty start, it is sunny and in the high 40’s F. I love your Jul tree, very cheerful. The photos of Sune running in the snow are great, especially the first one, almost couldn’t see a dog in that one. I hope your friend’s cat gets well quickly. That was good advice you gave. Yes, the Grimm shows with the mother are very interesting….we must wonder what exactly her agenda is!! I thought this season was very good, and actually started to like the Grimm character/actor a little more. Though Monroe is still my favorite, and Hank, the cop is good. Even the asian sergeant is fun. Enjoy the weekend. Love to the family!

    • Hi Robin!

      But it sure looks beautiful🙂 Unfortunately the wind blows away all the frost works, the trees looked so beautiful today.

      I wish they they could have phoned the vet already yesterday but my advice won’t hurt it in any way, on the contrary I hope🙂

      Yes what is his mothers agenda? Today she was about to leave him but stole a car at the end of the program🙂

      I still think he’s kind of boring🙂 But we’re only at the second program of season two yet so I still have time to change my opinion🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I used to hate driving to work on those bitter cold mornings. The car would make odd noises as I got into it. Sort of like the groaning noises I make when I have to get up out of a warm bed on a cold morning.🙂 The key didn’t even want to turn in the ignition all that easily. It was as if every part of the car was saying Nooooooo, go back into the warm house and leave me alone. I’m happy that I don’t have to do that anymore.
    Love the photos of Sune diving through the snow. He looks like a breaching dolphin.😀
    Nice bird shots, too.
    The little Yule tree looks very happy with its decorations.
    Enjoy the sandwiches and the DVD’s

    • Hi Caryn!

      I just don’t like going out in to that cold🙂 But the roads are usually rather rough on the surface so it feels a bit safer when it’s that cold. But it would have been nice to leave the car alone mornings like that🙂 This morning is rather warm and the ice on the roads will most likely start to melt and that’s when I really hate being out on the roads!

      Sune just loves to run out in to way to deep snow🙂

      I do like my little tree even if it does look a bit like a very overdressed brothel Madame in a western movie🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I came home from work and now I have Internet! ????
    But now my head hurts just thinking about the tragic events of the day. The horrible shooting at the elementary school. WHY! What is this world coming to? They were just children! It’s all so senseless and my heart aches for the parents of those poor little innocent kids….and at Christmas time too. So utterly tragic.)
    Truly, it’s so sad and so depressing that I think I will just go to bed early.
    So I can stop thinking about it.

  5. About the children..I think much of our nation is in mourning for our lost children and teachers. It’s hard to believe. I first saw it in my dentist’s office this morning where I had an appointment. It’s absolutely horrible! Then the Mall thing in Oregon two days before that. I just can’t understand. It’s not just “American’s” Christer..it’s just people. Sick, sad and disturbed people…everywhere. Then the shootings in that theatre in Texas at the showing of the new Batman film.

    • I think the whole world is morning for those lost children.

      But it does happen much more in the USA than anywhere else. If we take away those countries where it’s civil war, like the Afghanistan, the overwhelming amount of shootings like this happens in Your country. My personal opinion is that Your weapon laws needs to get much stricter but I doubt that will ever happen.

      Christer.

  6. Här var det jäkligt kallt igår morse, – 8 grader när jag gick ut med Santos och så ingen el sen ett par timmar tillbaka. Det var avbrott på fastlandsöverföringen (i ett ställverk) så hela Gotland var utan el. Inte så kul!😦
    Fast det tog bara några timmar innan elen var tillbaka och vi har ju ett modernt hus så det sjönk bara en 3-4 grader inne.🙂 Vi har ju vänner här som har brunn och gamla hus, så dom har inget vatten och så blir det otroligt kallt inne väldans snabbt. Men…det räckte när man är bortskämd med att det ALLTID ska vara 22 grader, +- en halv grad! Fast det blev snabbt varmare ute också, så det gick bra. Jag hade dubbla tröjor och värmesockor på mig!!🙂🙂
    Idag är det blidväder, men storm istället.😦😦
    Så när vi var ute och åkte idag blev det bara en mycket kort prommis för Santos & Rolle när jag var och handlade. Det var inget skönt…..😦😦😦
    Du visar ett par “outstanding” bilder idag. Den första på granen och den på fönstret med isrosor. Men dom på sune är ju inte dåliga dom heller. Han ser ut att ha jättekul!🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag kan tänka mig att ni hade det kyligare än vi trots att det var kallare här, närheten till havet gör ju att det känns bra mycket värre i kylan.

      Jag hörde om era elavbrott, det är inte kul. Vi har det sällan dock tack och lov. Jag har ju en vattenledning som är några hundra meter, så trycket i den gör att jag fåpr väldigt mycket vatten hit innan det tar slut🙂 Dessutom gör ju vedspisen att det aldrig blir kallt här vid elavbrott, om jag är hemma vill säga🙂

      Nä det var inte skönt alls i stormen, så våran promenad blev väl kanske 20 minuter kortare än normalt. Fast det var riktigt skönt att komma in i värmen igen🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

