There’s a new one on the way :-)

Can You see that Doris is a bit round around the middle? She's carrying a little one I suspect :-)

Can You see that Doris is a bit round around the middle? She’s carrying a little one I suspect🙂

 

Yesterday they warned us for a nasty snowstorm that would arrive during the night and continue for a big part of the day. Well the storm arrived but we didn’t get that much snow to be honest and for that I’m happy. But the temperature rose to above 0C (32F) so the snow started to melt and since it will be cold later this week this is deer killing weather. They have problems reaching their food already now and when we’ll get a thick crust on the surface it will be impossible.

 

DSC_0006 (800x532)

DSC_0018 (532x800)

The snowstorm looked worse than it was.

The snowstorm looked worse than it was.

 

So Doris and her daughter have been coming here on and off all day, it turns out they are walking between my garden and the garden across the field. Here they get the deer food and over at my neighbors they get apples and hay🙂 It turns out that neither I nor my neighbors have seen any other deers than these the last couple of weeks, well I saw a buck a week ago but that’s it. I do hope there are more out on the bog otherwise this is just sad. The hunters hunting on the castles properties moved shortly before we noticed the lack of deers here. Coincident? don’t think so.

 

DSC_0005 (800x525)

DSC_0013 (800x536)

DSC_0023 (800x536)

 

The day has been calm and lazy so far and I’m planning on having it like that for the rest of the day as well. I doubt that there’s anything to watch on tv so I’ll see one of the dvd’s I have bought, perhaps even two of them🙂  But first I’ll make some tea and perhaps a sandwich or two. I didn’t have the energy to make any dinner so I grilled some hotdogs in the fireplace in the stove🙂

 

DSC_0037 (800x533)

DSC_0038 (800x532)

DSC_0039 (800x533)

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “There’s a new one on the way :-)

  1. Hos oss har dagen varit allt annat än lugn och skön, vi var uppe med tuppen och for till Gbg och Botan för att ha “årsavslutning” i Rhododendronsällskapet;) Vi var där klockan 9 ungefär och plockade fram bröd, smör och pålägg bryggde kaffe och värmde glögg till pepparkakorna:) Fast det var faktiskt rätt mysigt när vi satt där och lyssnade på Lotta B som höll föredrag om vad man bör tänka på när man fotograferar blommor för då vräkte snöflingor stora som dasslock ner:) Efter en stund övergick snöfallet dock i regn;( Nu i kväll ska vi ta det lugn och kolla på tv och bara lata oss:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Fast det är ju kul med dagar som den ni hade🙂 och glögg med pepparkakor är ju aldrig fel🙂
      Det kan vara trixigt att fotografera blommor, bara en liten ändring av vinkel eller ljus kan förändra hela intrycket av dem.

      Det blev aldrig regn här trots att det var nästan två plus ett tag och det är fortfarande över nollan så snötäcket sjunker rätt fort nu.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i will trade weather with you. you would love mine. it is hot here and sunny! it does not seem like xmas at all. are you hearing about the school shooting over there? it is horrific!

    • Hi Joyce!

      We do have each others favorite weather🙂🙂🙂

      Yes we’ve had reports all day and the latest I’ve heard was that they might have found a motive to why he did this. I can’t see anything motivate the killing of young children though, that just to awful!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Det kan inte vara så att du ger Doris och hennes dotter (Förresten, varför har hon inte fått något namn?) alldeles för mycket mat!?🙂 Nej, jag skojar naturligtvis och hoppas man får se ett litet rådjurskid i vår!!🙂🙂
    Sen en annan sak, hur kan man bara skjuta rådjur!? Jag vet ju att dom blir alldeles för många om stammen inte minimeras, men ändå. Jag fattar det inte, men jag är ju ingen jägare och dessutom gillar jag djur. Alla (nästan) djur!🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!
      🙂🙂🙂 Ingen risk, så generös är jag inte🙂

      Det finns ju alltid en risk att de blir för många, men här har de skjutit allt för många i många år, så det finns inte så många kvar. De som arrenderar slottets jaktmarker skiter ju i vilket och bara fortsätter hur få de än är. Vi behöver balansen i naturen, något de inte verkar förstå alls.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      Yes I will keep on feeding them🙂

      They have hunted way to much here for a couple of years now so we have very few left. The ones leasing the castles grounds doesn’t care if there are any left I’m afraid, so as long as something is moving they shoot. I’m not against hunting in any way but there must be a balance in nature.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I hate to hear about the deer! What a shame!! But Doris is looking like a healthy mama-to-be, thanks to you and your neighbor. Wonderful photo of your bird community! Sune has way too much energy for a lazy snowy Saturday! But kids will be kids!! Have a good relaxing weekend.

    • Hi Robin!

      There must be a balance in nature and some hunters just don’t understand that. As long as anything is moving out there they’ll shoot it down.

      The snow really made him tired today🙂 since the temperature rose above 32 it got wet and heavy🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Doris will need extra food now. She’s eating for two.
    It’s sad that the hunting castle appears to have hunted itself out of business for this season. What irresponsibility on the part of the landowner. Here he would have to have someone on site to monitor the kill or various Fish and Wildlife agencies would be up his butt. In fact, they would have been up his butt before he even rented it out unless he was going rogue.🙂
    It’s sunny and cold here. It will rain or freezing rain tomorrow and Monday and maybe some snow later in the week. They say. I have Christmas parties coming up and I’m still on crutches so I hope it stays dry. Crutches are hard enough without adding in ice and snow.
    Enjoy the grilled hot dogs and the relaxed day. I’m having pizza and a relaxed day.😀

    • Hi Caryn!

      But it seems I put out too much today🙂 There was still some left when I put out more this evening. But I rather have that than letting her starve when she’s expecting🙂

      Yes some hunters just doesn’t care at all, there must be a balance in nature but they just don’t seem to understand that. I know we have strict rules when it comes to most other animals and hunting but I haven’t heard anything about roe deers. There are more of them in the cities now days than out here in the countryside I think.

      I’ll cross my fingers and hold my thumbs so it will continue to stay dry, I know how it is to walk around with crutches when there’s ice on the roads🙂🙂🙂

      I did enjoy the hotdogs, a lot🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. That breaks my heart. To think they have killed so many deer.😦
    I live on a main street in my town. Right in the middle of the city.
    Every morning when I leave for work, I step out onto my landing at the top of my steps to make sure there is no one walking their dogs down the sidewalk because MY dogs will go crazy and I’m afraid they would drag me down the steps. So the other morning I look both ways and suddenly I see something crossing the street about a half block down. My first thought was one of alarm because I thought it was a huge dog on the loose. But no. It was a deer and then another! Right in the middle of town! I worry about what will happen to them.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I hope I’m wrong about them but I haven’t seen any deers or tracks for a long time down by the creek.

      Deers do fine in cities🙂 Garden owners hate them but can’t do much about them🙂 To risky to hunt in the city, one might shoot the neighbor🙂🙂🙂 Wild hogs loves cities too, there’s a town not far from where my mother lives and they can see the hogs during the day too, they know they can’t be hunted where people lives🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, staying indoors on a snowy weekend like yours is a great thing to do, except then the dogs need to go outdoors and Sune really enjoys the snow! We have been watching Christmas-thtmed DVDs the past couple of weeks as we never have to worry about what’s NOT on TV since we don’t watch it. Our TVs are movie screens for us and the largest is only 26-inches, but then I watched movies on my s0-inch ipad or 13-inch notebook PC with headphones so the size doesn’t matter to me. We have no plans for a mega-size TV. Glad that Doris and the birds are getting fed and hanging around. I am not a fan of hunting because so many seem to be out for sport and not necessity. And, as we are seeing more and more, there is way too much violence in this world. Enjoy your weekend (what’s left of it).

    • Hi Beatrice!

      This has been more of a snow melting weekend, it’s rather warm now and rain has been falling. If this continues there won’t be any snow left in a few days. I really don’t mind but it sure has been nice not having lots of sand in my home🙂

      I haven’t seen a single Christmas themed movie so far and they have only showed a few on tv so far. They won’t start showing them until just before Christmas eve.

      I don’t mind hunting as long as they don’t shoot any animal out there and unfortunately the new ones seems to do just that. I’ve only seen tracks from Doris and her daughter in the snow and that’s just sad!

      Yes, there’s way to much violence in the world!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

