Preparation time is here.

DSC_0001 (521x800)

I’m preparing for the two coming weeks when I won’t drive anywhere to buy food or things since Sune will be neutered this Thursday. I really can’t leave him here at home with the other dogs because they would gladly help him to remove the stitches and I really can’t bring him anywhere since there’s a big risk of infection if the plaster breaks while moving around. I think at least he’ll get some kind of coverage or they might just place the stitches under the skin like they do sometimes.

DSC_0007 (800x532)

DSC_0011 (800x521)

Lots of tracks from the machine but so far I can't see where they have cut down the forest, these tracks leads towards the egdge of the Forbidden Forest.

Lots of tracks from the machine but so far I can’t see where they have cut down the forest, these tracks leads towards the egdge of the Forbidden Forest.

Today I drove by the supermarket to buy dog food, cat food and fire logs. So now I have over 30 kg (66 pounds) of dog food at home besides those 10 kg (21 pound) I already have. I forgot the cat food though so that I’ll have to buy tomorrow or on Wednesday. I also bought 90kg  (198 pounds) of firelogs, I’ll need more of those and will buy them on Wednesday I think. Every package weighs around 10kg (22 ponds) and I thought this was heavy enough for one day🙂

 

DSC_0016 (532x800)

DSC_0020 (800x532)

DSC_0024 (800x532)

 

Tomorrow I’ll buy food for one week plus extra for Yule, I need beetroot salad, prince sausages, meatballs (too lazy to make my own so I’ll buy ready-made), cheese of all kinds and the most important thing of them all, the Yule ham! I’ll buy a big one so I’ll have until New Years eve I think, after that I’ll be tired of it🙂 I think I’ll have to buy some Julmust as well, the only soda I really like🙂 Naturally I’ll have spotted sausages, salami’s and liver pate as well but that’s what I always have here at home🙂

 

DSC_0032 (800x533)

DSC_0033 (800x532)

DSC_0034 (800x532)

 

On Wednesday I’ll drive to Falköping so I can buy more firelogs and deer food too but I think I’ll have enough with sunflower seeds, I bought a 10kg (22 pound) sack the other day and I’ve just scratched the surface so far. And yes, I must remember cat food🙂 and some treat for the dogs of course. If I’ve missed anything by Wednesday evening I still have a chance to get it when I left Sune at the vets office but after that if I don’t have it I won’t get it.

 

DSC_0015 (800x532)

DSC_0016 (800x532)

DSC_0031 (800x513)

I have to admit that I really don’t like this surgery but I know it’s for the best. He’s already annoying Nova and soon she won’t just tell him off, she will give him something to remember. He won’t get stressed if there’s a dog in heat and he won’t run away because of it either. But still

 

DSC_0033 (800x531)

DSC_0034 (800x531)

DSC_0036 (800x532)

It’s time to make something to eat and a pot of tea of course🙂

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Preparation time is here.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Maybe the Forbidden Forest swallowed up the woodcutters.🙂

    Why don’t you like neutering? It’s better for the dog especially if he is not going to be used for breeding. Rocky had cute little ones and I was a little sorry to see them go but they were going to be no help to him and it was in the adoption contract anyway. It’s possible he would have been a right little pisser if he had remained intact.🙂 The chihuahua/terrier combo; little dog macho combined with no brain no pain terrier. Bad.
    I understand that neutering a dog is illegal in some countries. Yet the same countries have packs of feral dogs all over the place. The logic escapes me.
    Anyway, neutering Sune is probably a good idea before Nova does it for you.😀

    It’s raining here. Not as cold as yesterday but it’s the damp cold that seeps into the bones. My cranky bones are very unhappy about it.

    Hope you get all your shopping done and don’t forget anything important or desirable. Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Unfortunately not, the machine stood just beside the road but it isn’t to late yet🙂

      It isn’t that long ago that neutering dogs was illegal here too, the only time it was allowed was if the dog was sick. It was forbidden to do the same on bitches too. So we aren’t that used to the idea but I’ve let the vet do it on all the dogs I have now (except for Sune yet, not until Thursday🙂 ). Life becomes so much easier for all of us, but I still really don’t like it🙂🙂🙂

      I think Sune is heading towards becoming a little pisser too🙂 So it has to be done and as You say, this way is less painful and much healthier than if Nova does it🙂🙂🙂

      Snow here but otherwise similar here🙂

      I do hope that too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Your photos look very very cold today. I hate for my dogs and cats to have surgery, mainly because I worry about the anesthesia; I know two dogs and a cat that died due to complications. BUT, the neutering/spaying is important for the health and well-being…and if not done, the risk of cancer is also higher. It is tough to go through, and the after care can be a problem, trying to keep an active dog or cat calm and quiet. Good luck with it! Sounds like you are laying in a lot of food and supplies, and for pity’s sake do NOT forget the cat food; I don’t want to see in the news that a Swedish fellow was found in the bog with under suspicious circumstances.

    • Hi Robin!

      All photographs this time of year are taken during the weekend, it’s dark outside already when I leave work now, thank god it will turn soon🙂

      Hector died one time during anesthesia but I managed to start him up again. He was going to be x-rayed and since we just had gone through a big struggle with Orvar (we were three people that tried to hold him still during that one x-ray🙂🙂🙂 )we decided he should sleep during his. He stopped breathing and the vet were somewhere else🙂

      I know all that but I still don’t like that surgery🙂 Perhaps we men have more problems liking it no matter how much healthier and calmer the dog might become🙂🙂🙂

      I will remember the cat food eventually🙂 But they eat the dogs food so they won’t starve to death🙂 But Bertil might try something anyway just for the fun of it🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!
      Nice to see Your here again🙂

      I do hope for a quick recovery so he doesn’t get an infection like Hector did.

      Yes I’ll eat rather nice during Christmas🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. uh oh…poor sune. snip snip! but it is for the best. this always makes me so nervous but he will be better off in the long run! i bet you can’t wait for your yule vacation! all of my plants are growing in this warm weather!

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes I know it’s for the best, but still🙂🙂

      You are so right! I long for that vacation so much now🙂
      You do have a very strange weather this winter!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I used to laugh at my husband, not this one but Patrick, when we had to have the dogs or cats spayed or neutered, because he HATED do it..would have nothing to do with it, thought it was criminal! He cringed and didn’t even like me to talk about it. Silly man. It’s no wonder we had seven children and it was me that took care of it permanently.
    Yep, Christer, it’s the thing to do. You wouldn’t want him to run away, and I can tell already that you have taken pity on Nova. Enjoy your tea and your beautiful Winter. Poor Joyce is wondering where her Winter is. I told her it had gone to Sweden!🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      Your late husband would understand me so well🙂 It is for the best and it will happen but still🙂 It was illegal here until not so long ago and some vets refused to do it when it finally was legal to do so.

      No winter for Joyce, the one I know would love a really cold one🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Jag förstår precis varför Sune måste kastreras, men….. jag tycker i alla fall att det är ett ingrepp som egentligen inte borde göras. Man tar liksom bort lite av deras personlighet!😦 Men som sagt, nöden har ingen lag och vi har ju gjort detsamma på Santos, men bara en kemisk kastrering för att blodgenomströmningen skulle bli mindre efter operationen.
    Vår hanhund Brasse, en strävhårig tax som blev 18 år, han blev det ofrivilligt när han fick en spruta med kvinnligt könshormon dimensionerat för en Doberman när han hade prostataproblem. Då, när hans pungkulor smälte bort efter ett tag, så trodde jag att reservveterinären hade gjort en tabbe. Nu är jag helt övertygad om att han gjorde det med flit. Prostataproblemen gick bort helt…..🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag kan inte påstå att jag gillar det heller, men det är bäst för alla.

      Jag gillar inte kemisk kastrering heller, det kan inte vara bra att trycka in så mycket hormoner i dem trots allt.

      Jag vet faktiskt män som fått en viss sorts prostatacancer där det bästa alternativet är just kastrering, då försvinner tumören genast och kommer aldrig tillbaks, alternativet är att dö om jag förstått det hela rätt. Hemskt val men nog är det lite kul att leva trots allt🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. I’ve assisted Doc in surgery before and neutering is done very easily and quickly unless they have a retained testicle, which you would obviously know before hand. It’s the spaying of the females that is so much more invasive. I know that with my Golden, Maddie I waited for a few YEARS because I’d get so upset about putting her under anesthesia but then i was told she would be more prone to cancer or pyometra. I’ve seen pyometra cases and that is the worst thing ever and usually dogs don’t .survive it.
    But neutering a dog certainly helps with the dominance issue and the lifting of the leg to mark everything. Some shelters actually spay/neuter when the dogs are just weeks old. THAT I don’t approve of and our vet makes them wait until they are 4 months old at least for medium to large dogs and 6 months old for little ones.
    oh, and my cats are the same way. Only Purina “Indoor” variety for them! I think they would rather starve than eat anything else.🙂

    • Hi Cindi!

      I know it’s a rather easy thing but still🙂🙂🙂
      The reason that I put Nova through that operation, beside her rather nasty temper when in heat🙂, was that the risk of nasty diseases would decrease. Pyometra took my first dog Sickan. She managed to go through it the first time but when she got it at the age of twelve it just was to much for her.

      Here they wait until they are at least six months old no matter the size, not a day earlier.

      Kitekatt is the brand my cats eat🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

