Less chores to do tomorrow.

DSC_0001 (800x531)

 

I’ve done some more of the chores I need to do before I stay at home for two whole weeks. I’ve bought more deer food and more fire logs too. Unfortunately they didn’t have any of the brands of cat food my cats accept so I’ll have to buy that tomorrow. Cats are picky when it comes to food and Bertil especially. He can eat dog food straight from any dogs bowl but he refuse to eat it from his own🙂 He only accepts one brand when it comes to cat food though, there is a spare on but he only eats that when he’s really, really hungry.

 

DSC_0008 (800x531)

DSC_0009 (800x531)

Not always the best of friends close to food.

Not always the best of friends close to food.

 

I’ve written a long list of what I need to buy tomorrow or at Thursday after leaving Sune at the vets office. I love milk so I need to buy a lot and then I’ll put most of it in the freezer, takes forever to defrost but I can’t live without milk🙂🙂🙂 I think I’ll have to do a lot of jelly this weekend so I can put in a lot of food in the freezer. I have both Rowan berries and sloes in the freezer and both will make delicious jelly🙂 I’m thinking of putting both of them in one batch since I don’t have especially much with sloes. But one must remove the kernels in the sloes before cooking them, if not they are inedible.

 

DSC_0025 (800x531)

DSC_0026 (800x532)

DSC_0030 (800x532)

 

I normally write something about our Yule symbols and traditions here every Yule and I’ll do that this Saturday if nothing else turns up. Most of our symbols and traditions have a pagan past to be honest, this year I’ll write some about one of our more important symbols that  I don’t think I’ve written about before, the pig. The pig has followed us from the days we celebrated the pagan Julblot (Yuletide says Wikipedia it’s called in English).

 

DSC_0033 (800x536)

DSC_0038 (800x536)

DSC_0040 (800x536)

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. It feels like I’ll have an early evening today, the closer I get to Yule vacation the more tired I feel🙂🙂🙂 My brain is ordering the rest of my body to slowly shut down the systems and preparing for a long and nice rest🙂

 

DSC_0003 (800x531)

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Less chores to do tomorrow.

  1. Mycket att stå i innan julledighet.Jag handlade idag och glömde julskinkan,men kattmat köpte jag bara en viss sort de just nu äter,kräsna herrer är de,mina små söta terrorister.Mjölk slipper jag köper,dricker inte mjölk.Jag har gångavstånd till affären.Julafton firar jag i Skåne med familjen.Ha det gott med alla djur som omger dig.

    • Hejsan renate!

      Julskinkan skall köpas imorgon🙂
      Jo katter är bra kräsna, mina är inte bättre🙂

      Jag älskar mjölk och dricker minst en halvliter om dagen🙂
      Jag skall vara hemma och bara njuta av julen och ledigheten.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    You know the only reason that Bertil eats the dog food out of the dog dish is because it isn’t his and he knows he is not supposed to eat the dog food from the dog dish.🙂

    Do you suppose that Doris is starting to push away her daughter because there’s a new one on the way?

    The sight of all that snow outside would make my brain tell my body to go into hibernation very quickly. I’m not looking forward to snow. We had an open winter last year and it was nice. I could do that again.

    Rowanberry jelly sounds interesting. Is it orange like the berries or does it cook up a darker color?

    Time for tea here as well. Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’m pretty sure You’re right about that🙂🙂🙂

      I think it’s to early for that and it all depends on who’s there first, the one by the food is the more aggressive of them. So I leave a small pile of food a yard away so that they both can have something to eat🙂

      We had an open winter last year too and I loved it🙂

      Yes it is orange reddish depending on the color of the berries, some berries are a bit more red than others. It’s my favorite jelly🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      Normally I wouldn’t have had any long list but since I’ll be at home with my dogs almost the whole time I’ll have to buy everything right now🙂

      They have that brand in the store by my job, so that’s no problem. But it would have been nice to be able to buy a big pack.

      I’ll either have too little or too much sugar, I always do🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! i am so excited! we might get snow!!! could it be true? i sure hope so. have you gotten into any of your presents yet? or are you waiting until yule? i don’t even remember what all i sent! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’ll hold my thumbs and cross my fingers for snow to You🙂

      No I’ve been good🙂 Well I have eaten some of the candy that was placed in those Yule socks🙂🙂🙂 Those square ones with chocolate, chocolate vanilla and vanilla/ pecan was delicious!!! But the rest will be opened on Yule eve🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer, after reading this post and the previous one, you certainly will have lots of food on hand for yourself, the cats and dogs during the yule time vacation. Hope all goes well with Sune’s surgery. As always, the snow scenes were very picturesque and beautiful and soon you can just stay indoors and admire it, except of course when the dogs need to go out in it!

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Yes we’ll have plenty of food during those two weeks🙂

      One never knows with surgery but I’m pretty sure it will work out fine.

      I won’t care about any snow fall during those two weeks I’ll stay at home🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Is the second to last photo, the back of your home? and is that the neighbors across from you? If so, they are closer than I realized! Looks cold and in some of them, windy in your photos. I obviously made it home OK yesterday. I left early at 1:00. There were many accidents reported, one deadly involving 23 cars and a semi. That’s why I don’t take the Interstate home when it’s snowing. I drive through several towns and over the bridge but still, I’d rather slide into anything but a semi. Later I went out and “shoveled” I have this electric shovel that’s the size of a vacuum cleaner. I felt like I was vacuuming over the snow, which was thick and icy. It took me 2 hours to just do a little path to my front door and the sidewalk in front of my house. I only cleared the part of my driveway that was behind my van. All my neighbors have snowblowers but no one had been out yet and I never know if they will decide to take mercy on me or not…so I shoveled. I think when I am old, I will just pay someone to shovel. Actually I would have paid someone last night if they stopped and asked me. Which I kept thinking about all the people who are unemployed and couldn’t help wondering why the young able body ones weren’t out trying to earn some cash? oh, well don’t get me started.🙂
    (I wish I had 2 weeks off! Enjoy!)

    • Hi Cindi!

      No that’s my garage with the dog yard🙂 But it is my neighbors, a farm with some cows and some sheep but it is around 100 yards to them. But I do have a neighbor just beside my property, his cottage looks bigger than mine but is actually smaller🙂🙂🙂

      I’m glad You made it home without any bigger problems! I think just like You, it isn’t nice to slide in to a lorry so I’d rather take the smaller roads.
      Thankfully I only have a few yards to remove snow from so I usually just walk around until I get a reasonable surface to walk on🙂🙂🙂

      Young people sometimes doesn’t understand that they won’t become superstars so shoveling snow is something that never enters their minds, that would mean that they actually had to work🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

