I hope I’ll get a chance to taste the ham :-)

DSC_0002 (800x527)

There must be a better material to make those cones of shame from! Seriously, is there anyone that actually seen one hold for more than a day? Sune managed to run through the entire walk without breaking it but as soon as we walked in to the garden the first thing he does is to get stuck and break it🙂🙂🙂 I’ve managed to fix it with making small holes along the edges and used wire to keep it together. That will probably hold until the next time we go out🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0003 (800x532)

DSC_0004 (800x532)

It’s snowing today and the sky is dark grey, it isn’t especially cold but a biting wind makes it rather nasty to walk without anything on the head, unfortunately I can’t feel that here by my cottage since the wind can’t reach this slope I’m living in. But now I know better until the next time🙂

DSC_0006 (800x532)

DSC_0011 (800x527)

Today I’ll be grinding down those huge livers I cooked for my dogs yesterday and I’ll grill the yule ham with a coating of mustard, eggs and bread crumbs and I’ll take a couple of slices as well🙂 But mostly I’ll just relax and take naps today, perhaps I’ll be watching Madagascar 3 too.

 

DSC_0009 (800x532)

DSC_0010 (800x532)

I do hope that I at least cane take a couple of slices from the ham, after all this is the day the world will end as we know it🙂 I wonder if the end will go after Greenwich mean time? because so far I haven’t heard of any ending anywhere🙂 I’m pretty sure it must happen this time, I mean they can’t be wrong again after being wrong so many times before🙂🙂🙂 But if they should be wrong we still have plenty of chanced to get it right, The Aztecs has a totally different end of time date🙂

 

DSC_0014 (800x534)

DSC_0019 (800x532)

The kettle is on the stove and the water is boiling, it’s time for a pot of tea. I think I’ll make a sandwich too, after all this could be my last meal🙂

DSC_0020 (800x513)

 

Have a great day or in case the end comes have a great death🙂

20 thoughts on “I hope I’ll get a chance to taste the ham :-)

  1. poor sune, I feel so bad when they have to wear the dreaded collar even though its for their own good, we’re all still alive and well here on this side of the world so far, its a blizzard though, best wishes to you on this Yule,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I don’t think he dislikes it that much to be honest but I get stressed by it🙂 It makes the most horrific sound when he drags over the frozen snow and I can only hope it will hold together because the vets office isn’t open again until next Thursday🙂

      Calm over here and no signs of the end so far🙂 We had some snowfall and some sunshine but mostly it’s been dark and dreary here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Happy Winter Solstice! It gets lighter (sort of) from here on. Can’t tell by the weather over here today. Rainy, dark, windy. Not too cold, though. But we have turned our Northern faces towards the sun again.

    I think you will get to eat your ham and all the other goodies you have readied for Yule.

    Neither the surgery nor the cone seem to have put a crimp in Sune’s style. He’s still running.🙂
    I was wondering why he has to wear the cone if his stitches are internal. Rocky didn’t have to wear one nor did he have any external bandaging.

    Love the photo of The Kettle. Enjoy the ham.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes finally! From now on it will at least not get any darker🙂 We’ve actually had some sun today but mostly it’s been dark and dreary.

      I’m pretty sure I’ll get a chance to eat my ham after all🙂🙂🙂 But they day isn’t over yet🙂

      I guess he must have the cone as long as he has the pad on the outside. He did bleed a little after the surgery but I’ll take it of him as soon as I’ve removed that pad, at least as long as I can keep an eye on him. I forgot to ask for how long he needed that cone but I can’t see why he has to have it since it is inside stitches.

      That’s my favorite kettle🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Now that I think about it, my vet keeps the dogs overnight when they are neutered. When I picked Rocky up the next afternoon he had no bandages and no after effects. He was ready to run.
        I would guess that when the bandage comes off, Sune will not need the cone of shame anymore.

      • I think You’re right! I’ll take the cone of shame off when that pad is removed. That will be a relief for all of us🙂
        Christer.

  3. hi christer! sune looks very perky! i hated those cones. they make an awful racket on the stone floor too. we are getting snow here. it just started and i am beyond thrilled. i love snow so much! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      A surgery and a cone of shame is nothing that brings him down🙂

      One would think that dogs with their sensitive ears would be more careful🙂🙂🙂 I can’t stand that sound🙂

      So You might get a white yule after all🙂 I’m happy for You🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Det är väldigt kallt i vinden här också och en och två snöflingor föll också när jag var och handlade julmaten förut. Jag misstänkte nästan att det var kastrering det gällde när jag läste att Sune var sydd, skönt att ha detta över nu då:) Ha det gott, jag tror knappast att jordens undergång är nära den här gången heller;)/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Ja hade det inte varit för vinden hade det ju varit hyfsat skönt ute.

      Ja nu är det gjort och han är pigg och glad hela tiden.

      Kan de verkligen ha fel en gång till, domedagsprofeterna🙂🙂🙂
      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Visst är det trist att dom måste ha krage på sig, men måste dom så måste dom!😦
    Santos har sin FORTFARANDE efter 3-4 månader – men bara när vi inte har honom bredvid oss eller när vi sover. Ute får han vara utan helt, fast då springer han iväg 20 meter och sätter sig och slickar och när man kommer fram slutar han, springer iväg 20 m…..:-(😦😦
    Ja, du förstår ju hur det går till. Nu har vi försökt med allt – så om det inte är bra efter nyår så bär det av till vetten igen. Dom var ju två veterinärer som kollade honom sist och då hittade dom två stygn, men jag är lite misstänksam om att det kanske trots allt är ytterligare ett stygn kvar! Då får man förhoppningsfullt betrakta det som ett “backjobb” och slippa betala tusentals kronor för sövning IGEN!😦😦 :-
    Annars är allt bra med honom och han är pigg och glad hela tiden utom när jag ska smörja in hålet. Det är inte speciellt populärt, men efter en stund när jag masserar in salvan så verkar han nästan njuta av det. Det svider kanske, eller kliar – vad vet jag!🙂
    Hela familjen önskar er alla en skön och lugn JUL!
    Susie

    • Herjsan Susie!

      Har det fortfarande inte läkt ihop? Tror nog du har rätt, det måste finnas ett stygn kvar. Jag förstår hur han håller på och man får väl förstå honom, tänk dig själv att aldrig få tvätta sig ordentligt🙂

      Jag antar att det ingår en hel del annat i den kostnaden, annars tycker jag det är lite väl dyrt🙂

      Julkortat har kommit förresten🙂 Tack skall du ha🙂

      Ha en god jul!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    All your pictures gave me a sense of the cold. Your world looked so very dark.

    Sune just won’t be slowed down! I love him running wearing his cone. It didn’t surprise me he managed to get it off. How long for that cone?

    That ham sounds wonderful. I don’t often have ham. My friends, with whom I celebrate holidays, don’t like it and I don’t usually buy one for myself, but you have inspired me. It’s on the next shopping list.

    Enjoy!!

    • Hi Kat!

      The wind made it just as cold as it looks🙂 But the sun showed itself during the day.

      No he’s at top speed all day that dog🙂 Since the stitches are on the inside I’ll take of the cone tomorrow night or the morning after.

      I do like Christmas ham🙂 but it’s enough around Christmas, some have it at easter too but I’m to traditional to do that🙂 Enjoy Your ham🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Are you threading his collar through the loops? That will help and duct tape. Duct tape around the edges where he hits things, keeps it flexible and is pretty tough.
    A nice death? Hmm, what would that be for me? If I don’t just go in my sleep then I would want my death to involve George Clooney or Hugh Jackman? I think either one of them could happily cause a heart attack!😀😀😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes I am but the Duct tape is something I hadn’t thought of. Naturally I can’t find it but I’ll do that as soon as I do🙂

      I think we managed to survive this time too, so no George Cloony for You🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. My goodness…from what I have read, folks are talking about this all around the world. Goodness! I just got my tree finished..candy canes, the works so the world cannot end today. AND what makes people think that if the world is going to END that there is some one place that you can run to live through it. And even if you got in a plane and flew..not such a great idea there either IF there is no place to land. 🙂
    Well, just in case Christer, I guess I should say “goodbye?” Have a good ending..or whatever. It would certainly be a good and quick way to tell if there is really a hereafter, wouldn’t it?
    Enjoy your (possible) last meal..and if it doesn’t end.. lets celebrate with a cup of tea and a candy cane?
    Mona :):)
    Duct tape is a GREAT idea. The best actually!

    • Hi Mona!

      I especially like the nut heads that moved to France to a little village with a strange mountain. They claim that aliens live inside the mountain and they will save anyone that’s nearby🙂🙂🙂
      Yes why would one want to survive to a planet that has nothing left???

      We still have a couple of hours left but I’m pretty sure we all will be around tomorrow🙂🙂🙂

      The ham sandwich was quite tasty🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. I’m glad to hear the world didn’t end over there either. Here in the US we are still around.🙂 Of course the day is not over yet.
    I hope that Sune has a speedy recovery and that you all have a very Merry Christmas.

    • Hi Charisse!

      We are still here so far but we do have a couple of hours left before it becomes the 22nd🙂🙂🙂

      Sune is running around like always so I’m pretty sure the recovery will be speedy🙂

      Have a Good Yule as we say over here🙂
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

