More about old traditions.

I used my Minolta D 3000 this morning and the autofocus on my tele-photo lens doesn't work together with that camera, so some of the photographs might be a bit blurry :-)

I used my Minolta D 3000 this morning and the autofocus on my tele-photo lens doesn’t work together with that camera, so some of the photographs might be a bit blurry🙂

The Christmas tree tradition here in Sweden is like so many other traditions here imported from Germany. They were small trees in the beginning and stood either on a table or hung from a hook in the roof. It started in the richer homes sometime during the late 19th century and it took some time until even the most poor had them too. The poor normally decorated them with red apples but in even poorer homes where they couldn’t afford apples it happened that they wrapped potatoes in silk paper and hang them in the tree. They were also decorated with small candles but they usually didn’t light them more than a few times.

The tracks from the logging machines went straight in to the forbidden forest and we could hear someone working in there this morning. I can't understand that they have to break even more trees when they try to reach for those already cut down. I could hear big cracking sounds all the time.

The tracks from the logging machines went straight in to the forbidden forest and we could hear someone working in there this morning. I can’t understand that they have to break even more trees when they try to reach for those already cut down. I could hear big cracking sounds all the time.

DSC_0015 (800x536)

What most people don’t know is that we had a similar tradition here before the Christmas tree ( well we actually call them Yule spruces to be correct) arrived, we had Yule trees or Yule apple trees. The Yule tree was usually a spruce where most branches and twigs were removed except for those in the top. Some had big ones out in front of their entrances but many had them indoors as well. They too were decorated but they never had any candles. In some places they used crab apple trees instead and I guess they started to green up before Yule if they brought them in early enough.

DSC_0018 (800x536)

DSC_0020 (800x535)

Gnomes have always and still is I guess very important in our culture. They lived at the farms and saw to that the farmers took care of both homes and animals in the best way they could. If they liked the farmer they could help with taking care of things but if the gnome thought the farmer and his family was lazy and mistreated the animals he usually punished them, he even could burn down the whole place.

DSC_0025 (800x535)

DSC_0027 (536x800)

So They did what they could to be friends with him and every Yule they made him lots of porridge with butter milk and placed a huge bowl in the stable (I know people who still do that). If they felt the urge to be even more kind they could give him a present as well but not new and fine clothes. The gnome them could get the idea that he looked to fine to work at all🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0029 (800x536)

Bitter sweet berries.

Bitter sweet berries.

On Yule eve evening the farmer went out to the stable and gave all the animals extra food, he also gave the wild animals something extra as well like extra oat sheaves to the birds. He knew this would please the gnome and there was also another very important reason. The night towards the 25th was extra magical and all the animals could talk that night. He really didn’t want the animals to gather up against him did he🙂🙂🙂

This is a track from a wild boar sow, there were plenty other smaller ones too. They passed  not even a minute before us because they were scared by three cars. Sune that is half Bernese Mountaindog (a watchdof from Swizerland) even if it doesn't show :-) Warned as soon as we came close to lots of small spruces, the pigs were most likely hiding behind them :-) So we walked another road :-)

This is a track from a wild boar sow, there were plenty other smaller ones too. They passed not even a minute before us because they were scared by three cars. Sune that is half Bernese Mountaindog (a watchdof from Swizerland) even if it doesn’t show🙂 Warned as soon as we came close to lots of small spruces, the pigs were most likely hiding behind them🙂 So we walked another road🙂

 

DSC_0006 (800x532)

 

My cottage smells nice of newly baked bread today. The jelly making yesterday failed totally and the best I can say about it is that it can be called rather nicely colored and wonderfully tasting syrup🙂🙂🙂 I have to buy pectin and re boil it again. But I used some of it when I baked my rye rosemary bread and it do taste even better than usual🙂 Perhaps I just should save it like it is and use it for bread baking?

DSC_0008 (532x800)

 

DSC_0010 (800x532)

 

My trustworthy food processor gave up the other day, I have had it for twenty-five years so I really can’t complain and it has shown signs for the last three years that it would break down sooner or later🙂 So as soon as I can I’ll drive to the big super market so I can buy a new one. I’ll only post a photograph or two tomorrow since Yule eve is our big day here and I think I’ll do the same the day after since that is Your big day.Now it’s time for another ham sandwich and a pot of tea🙂

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “More about old traditions.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Sune looks bouncy and happy now that he is coneless again. Of course he looked bouncy and happy when he had the cone. Nothing bothers him, apparently.😀

    Good job for Sune to warn you about the sow and pigs hiding in brush. Momma Sow can be very nasty. Once, on a trail ride, I met a semi-feral sow and her piglets coming from the opposite way. All her piglets ran off into the woods on one side except for one piglet that ran off onto the other side. Momma sow stood her ground and grunted bad pig words which, apparenty, my horse understood because he refused to move. We stared at each other until the lone piglet ran back to the “correct” side of the woods whereupon Momma sow retreated and allowed us to pass unmolested. She belonged to a farmer who lived beside the state park and let his pigs forage in there (illegally). Who expects feral pigs in suburban Massachusetts?

    Sorry your food processor died even if it was so old. They always die at inconvenient times. Like when they are full of some messy mixture and you have to dig it all out.🙂 I couldn’t figure out what the electrolux thing you shared on Facebook was all about. I thought electrolux was a vacuum cleaner.

    Sunny, windy and cold over here. The front porch is warm, though, and Rocky is out there on his favorite chair surveying the neighborhood.
    Enjoy the day!

    • Hi caryn!

      Yes he is a very happy and bouncy boy🙂 But he’s so far only free from the cone of shame as long as he’s outdoors, he becomes a bit obcessive about licking ths surgery area indoors.

      Yes that was a good job, the pothers didn’t care much at all🙂🙂🙂 Hogs that feels chased or cornered can be dangerous. We’ve actually had an unprovoced attack from a boar this month. He wasn’r injured or cornered, he just attacked and bit a man severely in the legs. That’s not a normal behaviour from any kind of pig. We had a man keeping his pigs in much the same way over here, the authorities had to take action after his pigs´became dangerous to anyone but him.

      I really can’t complain about my old machine, 25 years are a long time🙂 But the electrolux thing You saw is a lottery. One person can win a food processor like that tomorrow, the chances of winning is smaller than less🙂🙂🙂 That one costs around $800, I want it🙂🙂🙂

      Snowstorm here right now and it will continue all night🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I’m not sure but I think so🙂🙂🙂

        By the way, Electrolux doers lots of things, I think they once even made lawn mowers🙂 Swedish company by the way🙂

  2. Greetings on the Eve of Jul Eve, Christer. I don’t think your photos look blurry; of course I believe I need new glasses, ha ha. Will the Forbidden Forest ever be the same?
    I was reading a book about Yule traditions around the world, and it was mentioned that in Sweden trolls roam on Christmas Eve, so people don’t go out at night. Is this true?
    It will be nice to have a new and improved food processor. I am sorry to hear about your jelly incident, but sounds like you made good use of the “syrup”. Wishing you every blessing of goodness as you celebrate Jul. Glad Sune is doing fine! Take care.

    • Hi Robin!

      Grretings🙂

      Some do but I deleted the worst ones🙂

      I don’t know how it looks up there and won’t walk in to that part ever again. But I’m pretty sure that it will go back to normal with time.

      Yes they do but more so on December 13th, when we celebrate Saint Lucia. But it is an extra magical night too. But now days very few believes in trolls so if they want to go out they do. I do keep away from the bog any dark night though🙂

      I can’t understand why I failed, rowan berries never need any pectines, they are full of it and there’s enough sugar in them to keep thousands of children hyper active for days🙂🙂🙂

      Have a Good Yule!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! lucky sune to not have to wear the cone outside. my snow is melting. it sure didn’t last long. i don’t use pectin in my jam. i use just a bit of sugar it and simmer it until it thickens. i spent the entire morning wrapping cookies and tomorrow my kids will deliver all of them. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      He do love to run around without that cone but he loves to run around anyway🙂🙂🙂 The snow we’ll get now will most likely star to melt away already on Christmas day, so it’s just stupid that it falls at all🙂

      I never use pectine either but this just won’t thicken!!! I have enough sugar inn it to keep thousands of children hyper active for days🙂🙂🙂 But it sure tastes nice🙂

      There will be a lot of happy people resieving those cookies🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Det är tur att inte Sune har blivit så vuxen att han förstår att man kan springa iväg från husse och sen sätta sig och slicka en stund! Santos som är hela 6,5 vet precis hur man ska göra!!😦
    Men inatt och idag har han varit utan krage hela tiden ändå. Visserligen slickar han sig, men vi måste ju börja vänja honom vid att vara utan igen…..annars kanske han får en fix ide att har han ingen krage så måste han slicka!😦😦
    Det är kul att läsa om våra svenska traditioner översatta och dessutom förklarade till engelska. Det är ju faktiskt en hel del som man själv inte vet om eller tänker på, man bara kör på i gamla (h)julspår!🙂🙂🙂
    GOD JUL
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Oh det förstår han allt, men han är sålydig att han alltid kommer tillbaka när man ropar. Tyvärr är han inte fullt lika lydig när det gäller att inte dra i kopplet än🙂🙂🙂 Dessutom finns det alldeles för mycket spännande att göra där ute🙂🙂🙂

      Bara det börjar läka ordentligt, en vecka efter operationen, så skall han slippa kragen helt tänker jag. Men det är ju en helt annan sak med Santos, där har det ju varit väldigt viktigt att det fått läka ordentligt!

      Du skall bara veta vad jag fått leta information om våra seder och bruk, mycket har jag inte vetat innan heller🙂

      Ha en God Jul!
      Christer.

  5. God Jul, Christer

    I hope you have the best day tomorrow!

    25 years is like a miracle. I am on my second food processor, but I have three different sizes so one doesn’t get used all the time. I have a processor for middle jobs and one for small. I can’t imagine cooking without one.

    It is a cold night for around here, but for you it might be pleasant! No snow yet though my sister near Boston has had storms, and my sister in Colorado has snow now and freezing temperatures.

    I’m having my friends over tomorrow night, and I’ll go to their house Christmas Day.

    Enjoy Donald Duck!!!

    • Hi Kat!

      We will🙂

      Yes but then it was a Braun and German quality is something else🙂

      Rather mild night here, around 30F and I think we’ve gotten 4 more inches of snow. It might be more but I’ve only opened the entrance door so far and that’s where the wind blows.

      I will as always enjoy Donald and his friends, no Christmas without them🙂

      Have a Good Yule!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

