I wish You all a good continuing of Yule.

DSC_0067 (800x368)

The Yule gnome has given the children their presents and Donald duck has done his work as well (Here’s a link to an article in English that explains our obsession with Donald Duck at Yule here in Sweden:http://www.slate.com/articles/arts/culturebox/2009/12/nordic_quack.html  They say this tradition most likely will die out sooner or later but I’m not sure, we’re doing our best to brainwash the children of today so they will continue to watch this program🙂 :-)  ).

I know it's a bit blurry but this was the first male Bullfinch I've seen in a long time.

I know it’s a bit blurry but this was the first male Bullfinch I’ve seen in a long time.

This morning it felt like I never needed to eat anything more in my life but I think I actually am a bit hungry right now🙂 Nova was free from the leash a big part of this mornings walk and showed that she just can’t be trusted. Suddenly she saw a hare and ran after it. She did stop for a second or two when I called her but sort of gave me the finger🙂🙂🙂 She ran about 100 meters (around 106 yards) before she turned and came back. The fun thing is that the hare never ran away, it just turned around a bush and waited for her to go far enough so it could jump the other direction🙂🙂🙂 It passed me and the other dogs so close that I could have touched it🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0053 (800x532)

It is rather warm and it is raining here at the moment, so the snow is melting rapidly. It will turn cold again in just a couple of hors they say. We have one less deer here now, Sune dug up a deer leg on our walk and it must have died last night. The only thing that can take a healthy deer here is the Lynx, I just hope it wasn’t Doris or her daughter.

Have a good continuing of Yule!

All photographs from now on were taken yesterday when it still was cold and the snow looked pretty on the trees.

All photographs from now on were taken yesterday when it still was cold and the snow looked pretty on the trees.

DSC_0016 (532x800)

DSC_0019 (800x532)

DSC_0020 (532x800)

DSC_0021 (532x800)

DSC_0028 (800x531)

DSC_0032 (532x800)

DSC_0033 (800x532)

DSC_0038 (800x532)

21 thoughts on “I wish You all a good continuing of Yule.

  1. Good Yul, Christer
    Yes, I am up early. I thought of a photo gift for someone and booted up the computer to compose it before I forgot my good idea.🙂

    I hope it was not Doris or Doris Daughter, either. If you see them during the day, let us know.

    Someone should tell the deer in the first photo that it isn’t healthy to stand out against the background like that. Perfect target for a hunter.

    Bad Nova. Also, not as smart as the hare.🙂 Maybe you should carry pieces of Yule ham in your pockets. I used to put hot dog bits in mine and when my old dog Tegan had a fly away moment I would throw them at her to get her attention. I might have to start that with Rocky. He ignored me completely at the lake. I did have some dog treats but they were very small ones. If I have to ping him with food, it needs to be a big enough piece to make an impression.😀

    It’s still dark outside so I don’t know what the weather is. Dark, I guess.😀
    Enjoy you Christmas Day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I know what You mean by remembering things early in the morning🙂🙂🙂
      Doris daughter was her just now so I know it isn’t her, they do come alone every now and again so that doesn’t mean anything. I think that the farmer placed that pile of silage for the deers, it seems more of us understands that there’s just a few left in the area. So the few deers we still have are safe there and in my and my neighbors garden.

      Yes bad Nova! But I think I need an entire yule ham if she should stop, the hgares comes from hell and must be hunted down🙂🙂🙂 To bad for her that she isn’t smart enough🙂🙂🙂

      It’s just getting dark here now, too early to see any differnce in daylight time🙂

      God Jul.

      Christer.

      • Yes, I think if you threw a whole yule ham at Nova you would certainly get her attention.🙂🙂🙂

        When the sun came up, I saw that it was snowing. Sort of. It was that tiny rounded snow that looks like the little styrofoam pellets in stuffed toys. It was pretty, though.

        Glad that Doris Daughter is accounted for.

    • Both Doris and her daughter are still alive🙂 and I can tell you that Doris got a bit grumpy when I shushed her away so I could let the dogs out just now🙂🙂🙂 She refused to move even when I spoke to her🙂

      Christer.

  2. All the best to you and yours, including the four legged ones. Incredibly beautiful bird (the male Bullfinch) is it orange or red? We have red cardinals and a type of finch that is a light tan with a red chest that is quite pretty it is called an American Goldfinch.

    PS Save me a horehound candy, ok?

    • Hi JD!

      Thank You.

      They are beautiful the Bullfinches, but they are usually more red than this one. Dark red is more their color but I guess the color can vary or that this one is young. I wish we had the Red Cardinals here too, they would survive the climate but it’s just to much ocean between us🙂

      I sometimes get a visit from the european Goldfinch, that is a beautiful bird too🙂

      I’ll save a couple of those delicious candies🙂
      God Jul.
      Christer.

  3. Merry Christmas, Christer! And, a great New Year. Been trying to do too many things in the last few weeks and blogging has been low on the list. BUT, I did NOT want to miss wishing you a wonderful holiday. Stay bundled in the cold weather and have plenty of hot chocolate available to fight the chill. Nova will get older and become more like the others.. (I like the ham in the pockets idea.)😎 😎

    • Hi Sharlene!

      I wish you a Good Yule and a Good New Year🙂 That’s how we say it over here.

      As long as You don’t do too much and hit the wall, just remember to take breaks every now and again🙂

      There’s a fire in the stove all day long and I’ll make some cocoa every now and again too🙂

      I think she will be around 12 or 13 when that happens🙂🙂🙂 It’s the terrier in her, they just shut down the brain when they see something they hate🙂🙂🙂

      God Jul!
      Christer.

  4. God Jul, Christer, I bet you are stuffed from all your feasting! You always have great snowy foresty photos, I love them. The male bullfinch is splendid, stands out so much in the snow. Naughty Nova, those hares are just too much for her to resist. Too bad about the dead deer, sad, but inevitable I guess. Enjoy the rest of the holiday and stay warm and cozy. We had quite a bit of snow last night, beautiful for Christmas Eve. Take care!!

    • Hi Robin!

      So true🙂🙂
      The Bullfinc is one of my favorite birds but they are shy and prefers to sty in the forest. But if it continues to snow, freeze, melt, snow and so on they might come here more often.

      It’s only hares and the occasional mole and vole, never deers or other animals. Well she might do something if they are in the garden, after all she is the queen of this place🙂

      As long as it is another animal that kills them for survival I really can’t complain. But I can now say that both Doris and her daughter lives and are well🙂

      God Jul!
      Christer.

  5. God Jul, Christer,
    The snow pictures are beautiful. I always think there should be some snow for Christmas, but it has been a long time since we’ve had any. Right now it’s raining.

    Gracie can never be off leash either. All my other dogs could be as they stayed with me, but Gracie takes off running and ignores me. The only good thing is she’ll go to anyone else so we usually can catch her.

    Have a wonderful evening!!

    • Hi Kat!

      It is beautiful with snow in photographs and I think that if I didn’t have to drive around in it I actually would like it🙂 We didn’t have a white Christmas last year but before that I think we had it for several years.

      Nova works fine as long as she doesn’t see a hare🙂 It’s like her brain totally shuts down when she sees one🙂 Nova always comes back though, either to me or she might run straight home which is a bit annoying if I don’t see where she goes🙂

      God Jul.
      Christer.

  6. I just got in from celebrating the holiday at my sisters and then a quick run over to the clinic because of an emergency with one of the boarding dogs (details later) and I’m exhausted and headed off for bed. Tomorrow I hope to catch up on your posts but I didn’t want the day to be gone before I wished you a Merry Christmas!
    Merry Christmas! 😀 – Cindi

Leave a Reply

