Doris the doe and her daughter are ok :-)

I should have shown this photo yesterday really. I love honey and the dark bear contains a very special honey made from Buchwheat. I'll describe that one later on. And just look at that key chain, an Amish horse and buggy :-)

I should have shown this photo yesterday really. I love honey and the dark bear contains a very special honey made from Buchwheat. I’ll describe that one later on. And just look at that key chain, an Amish horse and buggy🙂

It’s around 7 am and it’s still pitch black outside, I’m waiting for my rice porridge to get warm enough to eat but all the animals have already eaten their breakfasts. I cooked lots of liver before Yule and now the dogs get some in their food every day and they love it🙂

DSC_0001 (800x531)

Today's photographs were taken yesterday afternoon. It had been warm and it rained all morning, suddenly it got cold and snow started to fall again. We'll have this kind of weather for at least the rest of the week.

Today’s photographs were taken yesterday afternoon. It had been warm and it rained all morning, suddenly it got cold and snow started to fall again. We’ll have this kind of weather for at least the rest of the week.

Nova has problems with her ears again, they are made to get infections the vet said, so we’ve been up several times last night. She flops her ears all the time and scratches so hard that she shouts out loud sometimes. First I just rinsed them out and even though they were clean it did help for a while. Then I used saline and that helped a bit longer. After that I tried some ear rinsing product for dogs that I’ve bought from the pharmacy and that helped for a long time. Finally I used something the vet gave me the last time she had problems with her ears and that’s heavy stuff🙂 Finally it seems her ears are fine again.

 

DSC_0004 (800x532)

DSC_0005 (800x532)

We’ll have to use this for at least two weeks now and since I know it helps it’s worth it. I’m not sure Nova thinks so though🙂🙂🙂 She looks like I’m trying to kill her every time she knows I’ll drop something in to her ears🙂🙂🙂 All my dogs are ear dogs really, dogs with hanging ears usually are. But I didn’t think Nova should be since her ears doesn’t hang down. Well that’s life I guess.

DSC_0006 (800x532)

DSC_0007 (532x800)

Doris and her daughter came like always last night so at least I know it wasn’t any of them the lynx killed. Lynx’s need to eat as well so I really couldn’t complain if she (we have a female living close to the village) had taken one of them. Overhunting by humans is another thing and that I don’t like at all.

DSC_0008 (800x532)

DSC_0012 (800x532)

I already knew that the Maple Cream Cookies I got from Joyce are delicious but I got a new favorite this year, naturally the label has fallen of and I can’t find it but it was something with Biscotti (help me here Joyce) They were truly delicious! I’ve also started with the horehound candies🙂 I do love the Sassafras taste🙂 I remember that we could buy something similar when I was a kid but only in a special store that sold old-time candy. I mustn’t forget the chocolate covered coffee beans🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0013 (800x532)

DSC_0016 (800x532)

The porridge is almost ready and it’s time for me to stop for today. It won’t be light enough to take a walk for an hour and a half yet so that will give me plenty of time toi enjoy my breakfast🙂

 

DSC_0019 (532x800)

Both these photo's taken through my kitchen door window shows Doris daughter, Doris herself was on the other side of my cottage. It's easy to see who's  who because Doris lef ear has a big rip in it, I guess she managed to escape from the lynx.

Both these photo’s taken through my kitchen door window shows Doris daughter, Doris herself was on the other side of my cottage. It’s easy to see who’s who because Doris lef ear has a big rip in it, I guess she managed to escape from the lynx.

 

Have a great day!

 

White snow and black dog is a tricky combinatiuon when it comes to photography :-)

White snow and black dog is a tricky combinatiuon when it comes to photography🙂

16 thoughts on “Doris the doe and her daughter are ok :-)

  1. Så skönt att det inte var något av “dina” rådjur som lodjuret tog, det är ju naturens gång men ändå. Nu har vi ätit frukost och till o med tagit en liten tupplur, det var skönt eftersom vi satt upp rätt länge i går kväll och såg på film och vi var väldigt trötta i morse men hungriga:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Ja, det är det🙂 Lodjuret måste ju leva också men den kan gott hålla sig borta från “mina” rådjur🙂

      Rog en lång tupplur idag men är lika trött ändå🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i am so glad that doris and her daughter are okay! those were almond biscotti i think! i thought you would get a kick out of the keychain. a lot of stuff in the basket is amish. glad you are enjoying it! we have a snow storm coming! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes that is what they were🙂 Delicious! And that key chain is just great! I am a Amish fan🙂

      I’m slowly eating my way tghrough the candy, the cookies are long gone🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great snow storm🙂
      Christer.

  3. Det är faktiskt ännu svårare med en vit hund i vit snö – för riktigt vit snö har man ju här på landet. När man bodde i Stockholm så var alla snö mer eller mindre grå!😦
    Trist med en “örhund”, vi hade ju Brasse – strävhårig tax med hängande öron – och han hade problem. Penny däremot hade ju stora stående öron liksaså Santos, vilket känns skönt med tanke på stenproblemen!🙂
    GOD FORTSÄTTNING – nu ska vi ge oss ut i den regniga naturen!!!
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag har aldrig haft en vit hund så det kan jag inte säga något om, men den borde ju smälta in helt i den vita bakgrunden🙂🙂

      Alla mina hundar jag haft har varit öronhundar, men jag trodde nog inte att Nova skulle bli det eftersom hennes öron inte hänger på det sättet. Borde förstått att det kunde bli problem där också eftersom gamla Erna hade precis likadana öron.

      Ja det räcker väl gott och väl med Santos stenproblem!

      Ha det gott i regnet🙂
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Black on white is always difficult and black animals are as well. I had a black cat years ago. The only pictures of her are basically a black cat-shaped hole in space-time with slanted yellow eyes peering back out at our dimension.😀
    My little point and shoot camera has a setting for snow so that snow will always appear white. I don’t care about the snow being white. I want to see the stuff in the snow that isn’t white. If it were black and white film, you could take a meter reading off your hand and stop down 2, if I recall correctly. That might not apply to color or digital cameras.
    Incidentally, I might be getting a new camera and am interested in the Nikon D3200. What do you think?

    Dogs always feel like they are being murdered whenever we try to do something that is good for them. I had to give Rocky a bath today. Rocky loves chicken. Usually. Apparently he cannot be bribed if there is the probability that something unpleasant is in the offing. Good thing he is little and portable because now he is clean in spite of his protestations.😀

    It’s sunny today but not particularly warm for us. Interestingly, it is only 1 degree colder here than where my friend lives in Austin, Texas. Usually he is many degrees warmer.

    Enjoy the porridge and all those other goodies. You are going to put some honey on the porridge, aren’t you?🙂

    • Hi caryn!

      At least that cat had yellow eyes, my dogs brown eyes won’t show at all🙂 They just become big black spots🙂🙂🙂 Your cat just showed the thruth about cats, they come from another dimension🙂🙂🙂

      I have adjusted the camera to down 3 it still looks a bit strange though🙂

      I’ve looked up D 3200 and it is loved by those who have bought it. Lots of bling blings on it too🙂 Like GPS and an app that can move the pictures to Your mobile phone🙂 But those commenting it likes the high quality of the photographs. 24 megapixels are quite a lot, my D300 has 12 i think :-)I think it is a good buy!

      I’m very happy that I don’t have to give any of the big boys a bath, that’s a fight for life and death🙂🙂🙂 They so understand Your Rocky when it comes to bribes and baths🙂🙂

      Rather warm and rainy all day, the roads are nasty to walk on here now. Either they are slippery or one sinks down in to cold slush🙂🙂🙂

      Yes I did put some honesy in that porridge🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Thank you, Christer for the “all’s well” about Doris and Doris Daughter. Kind of fond of those two. Our Lexie has those ear problems too; is it worse for her or us, it is hard to say!
    I love your key chain! I must say you got a ton of great goodies from Joyce. We are expecting the same snowstorm she is, with 2-3 inches falling per hour for this evening till tomorrow afternoon.
    Enjoy another day of holiday fun!!!

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes who’s it worse for🙂🙂🙂 Thankfully Nova comes even if I can see she hates what I’ll do to her.

      I’m pretty sure I’m alone having a key chain like that🙂 and the candy is just too delicious🙂

      It’s still above 32F here so the snow is melting rather fast.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christ, that supply of holiday goodies Joyce sent you is wonderful and I’m glad you are not only enjoying it, nut showing and describing things as well. You mentioned that you are an Amish fan and we will be in Lancaster, PA on New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day visiting family there. Is there anything special you like? Good to know that Doris and daughter are OK. Our Christmas Eve and Christmas Day was spent having neighbors and friends here for dinner and thankfully we had no bad weather. But today, Dec 26′ it has been raining heavily all day and we now have very large puddles in the back yard. No snow here, and none expected, except just possibly a dusting over the weekend. But as we are leaving in New Year’s Eve for PA and then RI, we hope it passes by or waits till we return home.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I’m pretty sure all those goodies will last at least until new years eve🙂🙂🙂

      Yes I am an Amish fan even though I never could live that life myself, for one thing I don’t acceptr anyone telling me what to do or think and they are controlled by their bishops. Thanks but there’s nothing special I would like.

      It rained most of yesterday here too but today starts a bit chilly and my little path to the gate is pure slippery ice. It’ll be fun to walk the roads today🙂🙂🙂

      I’ll cross my fingers so You don’t end up in a blizzard while being out driving!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. well…today I am very sick. achy, dizzy, with a head cold and sore throat but since I have no sick days left, I had to go to work! Blah. anyway..so happy to see the deers are ok and looks like Joyce certainy got you a lot of goodies. Enjoy!
    I think it’s even harder to photograph white dogs against snow🙂🙂🙂
    I’m going to chug some cold medicine now and go to bed.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!

      Isn’t that typical! I hope this just will be a one day cold!

      I’ve never had a white dog so I don’t know but I guess it will sort of melt in to the background if it is white🙂🙂🙂

      Take care!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

