I really need a tripod.

Today I show the cool part of the gifts I got from Joyce. I'll tell You more about them as I read and try them. But the round thing to the bottom left is a planet finder. I used it yesterday and immediately found Jupiter. I tried to take a photograph of the planet but I really need a tripod for that :-) I did however find something else up there in the sky that looks very interesting!

Today I show the cool part of the gifts I got from Joyce. I’ll tell You more about them as I read and try them. But the round thing to the bottom left is a planet finder. I used it yesterday and immediately found Jupiter. I tried to take a photograph of the planet but I really need a tripod for that🙂 I did however find something else up there in the sky that looks very interesting!

 

Today has been a wonderful day, sunshine, slightly cold and no wind. Our walks can only be described as pretty wonderful🙂 But what looks like snow in my photographs really is a layer of thick ice, it could take my weight without breaking and I’m no light weight person🙂 But it is absolutely impossible to walk around quietly when it’s like this on the ground, I sounded like a stamp-mill where ever I walked🙂🙂🙂

Almost totally full moon.

Almost totally full moon.

 

This is how many photographs comes out when not using a tripod :-) This is the moon by the way, not what I was aming at :-)

This is how many photographs comes out when not using a tripod🙂 This is the moon by the way, not what I was aming at🙂

 

This is the best one I got on Jupiter :-)

This is the best one I got on Jupiter🙂

 

These stars couldn't be seen at all.

These stars couldn’t be seen at all.

 

Joyce knows that I love anything that has to do with outer space so I got some cool things from her this yule. The round thing to the bottom left in the first photograph is a planet finder. By adjusting it to what year it is, the date and how much the clock is when watching at the night sky it’s so easy to find the planets one can see without any telescope. It took me three seconds to find Jupiter last night. It took me over an hour before I realised that I need a tripod to get a clear photo of a specific thing up there in the sky🙂🙂🙂

 

Most photographs came out blurry but then suddenly this clear photo comes. Can You see the strange thing that sort og shoots out from one of the stars?

Most photographs came out blurry but then suddenly this clear photo comes. Can You see the strange thing that sort og shoots out from one of the stars?

 

Here I've made it as big as I could without making it too blurry. It looks like a giant solar storm or that one star is sucking energy from another. The shutter stayed open for at least ten seconds so at first I thought it might be a meteorite but look how bent that bright thing is, if it had been a meteorite it should have been straight. I do wonder what's happening there so far away?!

Here I’ve made it as big as I could without making it too blurry. It looks like a giant solar storm or that one star is sucking energy from another. The shutter stayed open for at least ten seconds so at first I thought it might be a meteorite but look how bent that bright thing is, if it had been a meteorite it should have been straight. I do wonder what’s happening there so far away?!

 

That tiny, tiny bright spot is Venus anyway :-)

That tiny, tiny bright spot is Venus anyway🙂

 

Back to earth again, the coming photographs are from our morning walk.

Back to earth again, the coming photographs are from our morning walk.

 

The camera moved slightly even when I pressed it down in to the icy snow. Besides, my aiming is somewhat sad too since I couldn’t see through the camera🙂 But I did catch something that looks very interesting, I really can’t say what it is but it looks like a giant solar storm on a distant star. You can see it for Your self in the photographs I took. I really want to know what it might be but I really can’t say where it happens in the sky, around somewhere when Jupiter shows around 5pm. That will narrow it down to a couple of thousands light years I think🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0020 (800x532)

DSC_0023 (532x800)

 

DSC_0026 (800x532)

 

DSC_0029 (800x532)

 

DSC_0036 (800x532)

 

DSC_0037 (532x800)

 

DSC_0039 (800x532)

 

DSC_0038 (532x800)

 

DSC_0040 (800x532)

 

 

DSC_0011 (800x530)

 

26 thoughts on “I really need a tripod.

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Gå in och kolla på Pantbanken.se (auktionsdelen) där brukar de ha en hel del kameror som man kan få billigt. Jag har köpt två riktigt bra kameror den vägen!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I really am🙂 The night sky is unfortunately cloudy right now but it looks like fog clouds, so with a bit of luck I might be able to get some more photographs tonight🙂

      I do like that one too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Wow! Good shots of the sky in spite of no tripod. You were going to make a unipod out of a walking stick some time ago. It would be steadier than nothing and is easier to carry around on dog walks.
    I don’t know what that curvy light is, either, but there’s supposed to be some comet or other approaching us that is just about at the point where a tail would show. It wouldn’t be curved, though. Maybe it’s a weird refraction of stars in your lens that was exacerbated by no tripod.🙂 I like the solar flare idea better though it would probably have to be many billions of light years long and extremely bright for us to see it here.

    The last moon picture is lovely. It looks like a big moss agate.

    It’s sunny but cold with a wind chill factor here today. Rocky is off to doggy day care to play all day. He hasn’t been there in a couple of weeks and hasn’t been on many walks either because of my injured foot. He has plenty of energy stored up. He will come home very tired and that will be good for both of us.🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      A bit too blurry most of them though but the one clear makes it up for thopse others🙂🙂 A unipod (which I by the way have forgotten to make🙂 ) wouldn’t help much since the shutter is open for such a long time.

      I was thinking, for a while, that it might be the start of a super nova but then I realised it was the wrong kind of star. This is probably a red giant and they never become that. It’s the giant white’s that explodes. It might have sonething to do with how I handled the camera but I really don’t know. I’ll stick to the solar storm🙂🙂🙂 Poor those living on a planet even far away from the star itself🙂🙂🙂

      I didn’t know what a moss agate was but looked it up and You’re right🙂

      I hope he really got all that energy out of his body🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Göta Petter vilka bilder du tagit!! Spännande att kunna fånga planeterna på bild så där:) Vilka fina julklappar du fick av Joyce, inga dåliga grejer:) Ha det gott/Monne

  3. Now you have me wondering what that thing is that you got the picture of! All of the pictures turned out good (well, almost all) and I can see that a tripod would be a great help!

    I really like that last moon picture. Looks mysterious!

    • Hi Jim!

      I do wonder what it can be. It’s probably just a disturbance in the atmosphere but I still like to think it’s something more exiting🙂 But I really need a tripod🙂🙂🙂

      I do like that photograph too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Fabulous gifts, Christer! And incredible photos. The last moon shot looks like someone painted on the moon, beautiful! I guess you better save up your money to get a tripod—an absolute must! The photo of that “whatever it is” is quite intriguing! I hope you can find out what it is. All the photos of the snowy, icy stream are so very nice.

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes they are🙂
      Yes I do need a tripod if I want to take photographs of the night sky🙂 But the one clear sort of made up for those others🙂

      Perhaps it’s best not to know because if I don’t know I can imagine that it can be anything exiting🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Greetings from Canada! I found your blog through Wiccan Writes (Robin) and just love your blog!🙂 Those pictures you took of the night sky are amazing. I too love anything outer space or the night sky. Keep those lovely pictures coming! Bye for now…

    Dianna

    • Hi Dianna and welcome to my blog🙂

      They will get better when I finally get that tripod🙂🙂

      I so wish that I lived in a sci-fi novel🙂🙂🙂 I would love to travel between worlds visiting other planets🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back🙂
      Christer.

      • Hi again Crister! I would love to live in space! Jetsetting amongst the stars and planets. But I would need to find a place that had perpetual autumn. Then I would never leave!🙂 Have a great day and keep the great posts coming!

        Dianna

      • Hi Dianna!

        That would be my kind of living too but I would prefer a place with eternal spring🙂🙂🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  6. Whoa! you got more gifts from Joyce than what I got from everyone I know combined!😀
    You must have been very good this year and Santa Joyce realized it!😀😀😀
    LOVE the photos! Very cool.

  7. Actually, Joyce gave us all a gift! What great photo’s, Christer!
    For some reason though, space photo are a bit upsetting to me. Not sure why that is but I still admired them.
    Your winter photo’s always look sooo cold! I feel like a wimp when I complain of 40 degree weather here.🙂

    • Hi Mona!

      I can understand that You and many others get upset or perhaps worried when thinking of the space, after all it would take over 13 billion years if flying in the speed of light to get to what we think is the end of the universe! Still, what would be on the other side if there actually was an end of our universe?

      40F here now at 5:50 am, really warm🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

