Last day before work.

DSC_0004 (800x527)

 

Today was almost as foggy as yesterday and I liked it. It’s something special with fog that I really like as long as I don’t have to drive around in it in the dark and especially not on days like this when the fog froze on the roads🙂 But it is very nice to walk around in, I sort of feel protected but against what I have no idea🙂🙂🙂 There are no sharp edges in a foggy world and even the most ugly place becomes beautiful.

 

DSC_0005 (800x532)

DSC_0006 (800x521)

 

I drove to the grocery store in Gudhem today to fetch a package I had been waiting for. There’s a group on Facebook a friend of mine started and we have actions there, the things are given by the ones belonging to this group and all the money goes to a dog rescue center in Thailand. What I like about this place is that they don’t “export” any of the dogs but help them there in Thailand instead. I’m not especially happy when people bring dogs from other countries since they have brought some really nasty diseases to this country. Some vets do anything as long as they can make lots of money from it I’m afraid, they just sign that the dog is healthy even if they never even looked at the dog.

 

DSC_0010 (800x532)

DSC_0012 (800x532)

 

Anyway, I placed a bid on a small bowl my friend had made and won it and naturally I’ve forgotten to take a photograph of it🙂 I’ll try to remember that for tomorrow’s post. I drove by the old monastery ruin on my way home, I know You’ve seen it before but I also know most of You like ruins🙂

 

DSC_0020 (800x532)

DSC_0022 (800x532)

 

The hunters were in the forest this morning and I think they got lucky today. I noticed that Orvar and Hector hadn’t followed me like they always do so I looked back and saw that they were eating something. I went back because they really didn’t care about me calling them🙂 Orvar was tossing something around and at first I thought it was some kind of plastic bag but I realised that it was a stomach from probably a bigger deer. What was a bit strange was that there were lost of pieces from a red plastic bag and other parts of the deer like the liver.

 

DSC_0026 (800x532)

DSC_0036 (513x800)

 

But what really surprised me that in the middle of it all there was a piece of skin from a fox?! I doubt the hunters had left it there if they had shot a fox, they only shoot foxes with scabies here. But why was it there at all? The only thing that would kill a fox here is either a Lynx or perhaps wild hogs. A fox must be desperate if it fights over these parts of a deer, they know better than to get hurt over food, especially since this is a place with lots of voles and mice to eat. I haven’t heard about any wolf in the neighborhood either otherwise that would be my guess. What ever it was that fox does not live any longer.

 

DSC_0035 (800x532)

DSC_0002 (800x531)

 

My vacation is over and tomorrow I’ll start working again. I’ve made food for the entire week and that slow cooker is one of the best things I’ve ever bought🙂 Some might think that it would be boring to eat the same thing all week long but as long as it tastes good I don’t mind. I belong to those that can eat every day, not all people are that lucky in the world not even here in Sweden.

DSC_0010 (800x521)

DSC_0013 (800x532)

 

 

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “Last day before work.

  1. I love fog also but we don’t have much where we live. Ewwww, no more hunting details. Poor deer, sigh. Hopefully the pictures you posted are of Doris and her daughter?

    So what month does warmer weather appear? We should in theory be ramping up by March and baking in the heat by May if not earlier. Not exactly the way the year is shaping up, still cold and the mountain behind us has snow and a low frost line.

    • Hi JD!

      We usuakky have much fog here during autumn and warm winter days but this autumn/winter has had very litte of it.

      I couldn’t see if any of those deers had a scratch in the ear but a neighbor told me that we have at least 8 roe deers here now, more than I thought but very few still.

      Normally it gets warmer here at the end of Mars but sometimes it’s cold until May. Sometimes we have summer heat in May and that’s it, the rest of the summer, like the last one can be rather cool and rainy. But mostly the heat comes at the end of June and continues for a couple of weeks. Summer heat here is usually around 77F and sometimes it even goes up to 84-85. After that it stays around 68-70.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. i like how you describe the fog, the days here are just a tiny bit longer, the sun sets at 5 oclock now and it rises at 8;30 am, I am one of your followers that enjoy the ruins, even more interesting in fog! thats interesting to know what killed a fox!They are usually so clever, not careless, cautious I always thought, There is nothing wrong with eaating the same thing for days, lol, we do the same thing here, sometimes a pot of stew, some times soup or a caserole, but when its just the two of us it takes a while to finish things, somtimes I tire of it, thats, life!

    • Hi Laurie!

      The sun sets at 3:35 pm here atd rise at 8:49 am. But it changes fast now🙂

      Yes I do wonder what killed that fox, they always avoid fights so it must have been surprised or has been very sick. It might have been a fox with scabies, they are known for jumping in front of cars when it gets too bad.

      I often make the same food for the entire work week. Some at work think it’s boring to eat the same thing but as long as it tastes good I don’t care🙂 It’s easier too to be honest🙂 The slow cooker has made it even easier to continue like that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Nice way to describe the fog, Christer. But I too did not care for the hunting information, way more info for me. Hope the drive to work is not n a foggy morning.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Fog does weird things to sound. It amplifies sounds but at the same time it makes me feel as if I am cocooned away from the noises of the world.
    It’s difficult to choose a favorite today. I love the one with the trees and the ruined arch and also the one right below of the old wall with the newer church..
    The hunting thing sounds more like something stole a bag of offal and dragged it off to the woods to eat in peace. Can’t figure the fox skin out though.
    Is it open season on deer all year long in your part of the world? In my area I think deer hunting is only allowed in autumn and is all over by November.
    All good things must come to an end and so it is with vacations. I hope you are feeling well enough to go back to work tomorrow.
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I just checked the season for roe deer and moose and the season ends at January 31st. I couldn’t find the season for the bigger deers though but I know that itä’s much shorter than for moose and roe deer.

      Yes fog does that🙂 I love to walk around in fog by the bog, nothing starts the imaginatio like that🙂

      Perhaps it was the fox that stole it and it got caught by something else?

      I’ll be rather fine until tomorrow, if not I’ll just stay at home. They really don’t want anybody spreading stomach diseases🙂

      The fourth photo from the bottom is my favorite for today.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Dianna!

      There will be more photographs of the ruins during the week. This area does have rather many ruins and old tombs and I photograph them every now and again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do and I think working all day helped a lot. I didn’t have time to think about it🙂🙂🙂

      All kinds of things, this time I made a sort of pasta sauce with lots of things in it🙂 But I’ve made stakes and chicken too, it’s a fantastic invention!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. LOVE these photos! Very cool and spooky. Like something out of Grimm? and that includes the discovery of the stomach and other tidbits. Nice to look at but I don’t like the Fog. Kinda scares me that I don’t know what could be just a few feet in front of me! Have a Good first day back!

    • Hi Cindi!

      Fog really cahnges the world🙂 and You’re right🙂 Grim would film here on days like these🙂

      I think that is what I like with fog, one never knows🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

