It was rather a nice day

DSC_0001 (800x532)

 

I have to admit one positive thing with snow, even if I hate to admit anything positive with snow🙂 It’s so much easier to see the borders of small, dark country roads in the early morning. Yes we do have snow sticks but that doesn’t help much when the headlight from a meeting car blinds me. I really can’t see where the road ends and the field starts sometimes and on mornings like this when we had fog it’s just impossible🙂 This doesn’t mean I want more snow🙂 It means I wish the days were longer so I wouldn’t have to admit anything positive about the snow🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0033 (800x532)

DSC_0020 (800x532)

 

I couldn’t fall asleep yesterday evening, well I did after a long time but I also woke up very early, so I’ve been a bit tired all day but I think we all were. But the day has been rather good for being the first after a vacation. A big part of what I paint every week are roof safety things, like ladders and bridges they walk on up there. We thought we wouldn’t have much to do now since it is winter but then the snow melted and now we have so much to do that we’re having problems :-)  I’m glad it is a positive problem though🙂

 

We have lots of ravens here but they are hard to photograph.

We have lots of ravens here but they are hard to photograph.

DSC_0040 (800x531)

 

But it looks like this warm period has come to its end, already this week we’ll get temperatures below 0C (32F) but no snow in sight thankfully. But I think that it’s no idea to hope for a snow free winter from now on, it is still only the beginning of January and winter can continue here until late May early April if we’re unlucky. The latest day I’ve experienced snow here was June 6th, the day I graduated from highschool🙂 it only lasted for a couple of minutes but it didn’t feel right anyway🙂

 

DSC_0002 (532x800)

DSC_0004 (521x800)

 

I’ve made my first seed order for the season and like always I chose Gardens North. It’s specialized on plants for more rough climate even though they have seeds for plants living in warmer climate too. No I don’t get paid to talk about this business🙂 I just think there’s no better business to buy seeds from. The climate here in southern Sweden is better than it should be because of the Gulf Stream. The thing that makes it rough for plants is actually our short cool summers. A plant, what ever it might be can take almost any cold temperature if the summer is long and warm.

 

By the bog. I love walking out there.

By the bog. I love walking out there.

This is where fairytales are created.

This is where fairy tales are created.

 

Summers here are short and cool so the plant doesn’t get enough time to save energy enough for the long dark and cold period we call winter. So even if a plant that can take the cold weather in the prairies of northern USA, southern Canada without any problems, it doesn’t mean it can survive our warmer but oh so much longer winters. Our summers is just too short and cool for that. But I do have two small Osage orange trees (Maclura pomifera) growing in my garden, they just don’t understand that they shouldn’t survive here🙂

 

DSC_0004 (800x531)

DSC_0008 (800x532)

 

There’s a fire burning in the stove and I have a cup of tea beside my computer. My dogs sleep all over the cottage and my cats are out hunting mice. Doris and her daughter is in my garden eating and it looks like my bribe, the reindeer food, keeps them away from most of my plants, well the Ilex will never look the same again I think🙂

 

The Monastery ruins in Gudhem (means Gods home).

The Monastery ruins in Gudhem (means Gods home).

DSC_0028 (800x532)

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “It was rather a nice day

  1. hi christer! did you ever build your greenhouse? i was just wondering if it would be ready for your new seeds? i think i will be getting back to gardening in a big way this year since the horrible stink bugs seem to have mostly moved on. fingers crossed! we are going to be very warm here for this next week and then supposed to get very cold. i sure hope we get more snow! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      It rained all the time so I never started building it but I will start this spring after cutting down the old plum tree. It has lost one of its big branches again this winter so it must come down before I start. Most of what I sow will need winter to start germinate or can be sown much later when spring arrives so I wont have any problems. I’ll take cuttings from my tomato plants from last year and I’ll sow peppers at the end of February so they start growing in March when the ligyt reaqlly has returned.

      I do keep my fingers crossed so that the stink bugs will be gone this year! They really are horrible.

      I can take the warmer weather if You take the snow🙂

      have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Vilket underbart fint foto av Sune! Han är ju jättesöt och har så fina proportioner, ibland kan ju korsningar se lite “konstiga” ut;) Har faktiskt sått lite idag och det känns som om lite av min energi kommit tillbaka:) Hoppas inte heller på mer snö men som du säger det är nog ingen större chans att vi får en helt snöfri vinter. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Han kan posera pojken🙂 Men han kommer att bli grövre med tiden däremot tror jag inte han blir mycket högre nu. Jag tror han kommer att påminna om en Fieldspaniel eller en Clumberspaniel fast ned sötare huvud🙂

      Nä snön kommer nog men man kan ju alltid hoppas🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. God I loved all the photos today..I kept looking at them again and again trying to pick my favorite. It was SO hard but I think…………….#6!

  4. Underbart vackra bilder, den på det ensamma lilla trädet t.ex.!🙂 Men jag vidhåller att det är roligare med blå himmel, även om bilderna inte blir lika tjusiga!! *fniss*
    Idag har jag verkligen varit duktig, först cyklade jag på motionscykeln – världens tråkigaste – sen åkte vi ut och gick en lång runda runt något som heter Vallhagar och är ett vackert område med järnålderslämningar.🙂🙂 Vi gick alltså aldrig in i hagen, utan vi gick en slinga runt. När vi kommit 3/4-delar så började jag tröttna – men det var ju ingen idé att vända tillbaka precis. Så vi travade vidare och jag började mer och mer oroa mig för att det skulle hinna mörkna innan vi hann till bilen.😦 Men eftersom dagarna blivit så långa väldigt snabbt (våren närmar sig fort nu), så hade vi faktiskt en hel halvtimme till godo, som tur var!!🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Visst föredrar jag också sol och blå himmel, men bilder blir ändå vackrare i dimma🙂

      Ja det måste väl erkännas att motioncykel inte är roligt🙂🙂🙂 Fast spinning är ju kul men det har nog mer att göra med att så många håller på med det samtidigt🙂

      Nu är det inte mörkt när jag åker hem från jobbet, men det är det när jag kommer hem, men visst ser man skillnaden redan🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Glad to hear that work is busy but not troublesome. You must be feeling better, too, which is good to hear.
    I love the photo of the creek by the bog. It reminds me of some trails I used to hike in the White Mountains of New Hampshire. They can be a bit boggy even though they are mountain trails.
    The foggy monastery pictures are also very lovely. Mysterious and spooky. Some gothic novel should be written there.
    That reminds me that I just finished a Swedish book titled (in English) The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out a Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson. Some of the Swedish places sounded like towns near you. It was a good book.
    Sunny and mid-30’s Fahrenheit here today. The glassed-in porch is very warm today so I am able to keep the door open and let in the heat and daylight. It makes it seem less like winter when I can do that. Rocky and I went to the lake. It was windy and a little too cold to hang around without my coat on because why would I wear a coat when I’m in a warm car.😀 But I did hang around a little and got a few pictures. Rocky had a chance to pee on new things for a change. Makes him happy.🙂
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes I feel better and working sort of keeps my mind thinking of other things than feeling sick🙂

      It’s fun because several people comenting here in my blog have mentioned that it looks a lot like it does in the White Mountains of New Hampshire🙂 I hope I can travel there one day🙂

      It is a nice ruin🙂 and I think You’re right. Someonme should write a gothic novel about it🙂

      I haven’t read that book yet, it is one of the more popular here and they’re making a movir from it now :-)It has the exact same title in Swedish🙂 I’ll check if any of the places are close to here🙂

      I wish I had a glassed in porch! But I think I would like to have it on the north side of the cottage, it would be too warm anywhere else during summer. The days are so long here that I would get the morning sun and evening sun shining in there🙂 My entance was actually an old glassed in porch in the beginning.

      It’s always nice to pee on new things🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer! Once again your photos are simply stunning! I may have to visit Sweden! Our growing climate here on the Canadian prairies is not long at all and sometimes we don’t get a summer to speak of, but we still try and I like the challenge! Have a great first week back to work. Enjoy the fog! We are supposed to get rain here on Thursday. All I can say about that is !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. We never get rain in January.

    • Hi Dianna!

      Thank You🙂

      If You would like to visit the most beautiful country in the world You should go to Norway, our neighbor. It’s breath taking! Well sweden isn’t that bad either to be honest🙂🙂🙂

      We had rain today and will have it tomorrow as well, not too unusual here. It’s either warm and rainy here in January or freezing cold and snowy. I prefer the warm and rainy one🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

