Finally my brain started to work :-)

DSC_0021 (800x527)

 

Today has been one of those days when I’ve had lots to do and time therefore should pass quickly but since I’ve had to many opportunities to look at the clock on the wall they day has been slow as molasses🙂 Well it doesn’t help that today is a Tuesday either, that is the most boring day of them all. Another thing that doesn’t help is that I woke up at 3:40 and after that couldn’t fall asleep again :-)  I’ve been sleeping like a baby all vacation but as soon as I started to work again I wake up at the most ungodly hours🙂 I mean shouldn’t it be the other way, I am tired after working all day so therefore I should sleep as long as possible🙂🙂

 

DSC_0025 (800x532)

DSC_0030 (800x532)

 

They say that we have at least six wolves here in southern Sweden at the moment but none of them is supposed to be close to my village. There was a report of wolf sightings in the nearby town Lidköping the other day but that was most likely an American Wolfdog  :-)🙂 I’m not surprised that they couldn’t see the difference🙂🙂 But I’m not too happy about that dog/wolf  breed being here in Sweden. It doubt that there are more problems with this breed than other breeds as long as the owner knows what he/she’s doing. Any mistreated dog can be a problem but the bigger they are the bigger the problems usually are too.

 

DSC_0029 (800x532)

DSC_0031 (800x532)

Those breeds/mixed breeds called pitbulls are often called dangerous but to be honest it’s almost always the owners fault that a dog becomes dangerous or problematic. I know there are many countries with Breed Specific Laws but I think laws like that miss the problem. If one breed is banned those people who shouldn’t have a dog in the first place just gets another kind of dog. I think it would be a good idea to demand a license to own any kind of dog, force dog owners to go a class in how to properly treat a dog before they are allowed to get one. It may sound hard but I think it’s the best thing to do in the long run for both dogs and their owners.

 

DSC_0005 (800x531)

DSC_0006 (800x513)

 

Finally my brain started to work this afternoon🙂 I suddenly remembered to write down the recipe for Blueberry soup🙂 Here it is but in European measures.

1 liter of fresh or frozen blueberries

1 dl sugar

1 liter of water

1-3 tablespoons with potato flour

Boil sugar and water and stir until the sugar has dissolved. Add the blueberries and continue to boil for three minutes. Taste it to see if it is sweet enough. Mix the potato flour with some water in a glass and add just a little at a time until You feel it’s thick enough. If You take too much it becomes blueberry cream instead but that’s just as tasty🙂

 

DSC_0045 (800x527)

DSC_0046 (532x800)

 

I normally add some ginger to this or perhaps some cinnamon. Some want it with whipped cream and some add almond macaroons. I don’t like whipped cream to be honest but those macaroons are delicious🙂 But those macaroons go even better with rosehip soup to be honest🙂

 

DSC_0047 (800x532)

DSC_0049 (800x532)

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat too. The fire is burning in the stove and my cottage feels nice and warm.

 

DSC_0052 (800x531)

DSC_0068 (800x531)

 

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Finally my brain started to work :-)

  1. hi christer! maybe you don’t relax as well when you are working that you do when you are on vacation. the blueberry soup sounds interesting. i like blueberries a lot but just like them plain and fresh. it is starting to get warm here. i need lots more winter for sure. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do feel relaxed so I think I do, I also feel much more tired🙂🙂

      This recipe is just the sort of base, one can do so many variations if one likes just by adding different spices to it.

      Tomorrow will be fairly warm here but then the colder weather will arive once again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Lustigt, när jag arbetade avskydde jag just tisdagar;) Håller med dig om att en form av “körkort” för hundköpare skulle införas, blir så himla arg när jag läser om den o den mördarhunden anföll och högg urskillningslöst etc. etc. Jag undrar alltid vad som utlöste det hela. Hoppas att du får sova ordentligt i natt:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Måndagar har fortfarande lite helg kvar i sig, onsdagar är ju mitten av veckan, torsdagar är ju nästan fredagar och fredagar är ju helg🙂

      Jo det behövs nog är jag rädd, tyvärr är det ju oftast de som vill ha hundar som amstaff eller doberman, tuffa hundar, som inte skall ha dem🙂 Jag tror att det oftast är signaler från den som har hunden som utlöser det hela. Verkar de osäkra eller inte fattar vad de håller på med tar hunden kommandot och det är sällan bra.

      Trött är jag i alla fall så det räcker🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Olaf, I really believe that brains and sleep don’t do well on a work schedule. Anyway mine never did. I have a huge pot of potato soup cooking and bread rising. Num num num.

    • Hi JD!

      I have periods when I sleep really bad, usually when full moon is close. Several of my work friends react the same way and I wonder why not everyone do or is it just our imagination that makes us sleep bad when full moon comes?

      Potato soup! Too long since I had that. This time of year is still soup season so I might just do that soon🙂

      have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! I too are unable to sleep well when I am at work, but on holidays I sleep like a baby. Thank you for the recipe. I foresee myself making some soup very soon!

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m more one to react on full moon. But the fun thing is that I sleep better during summer when it’s light almost 20 hours/day🙂🙂🙂

      I love blueberry soup, no matter if I make it myself or buy powder🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    I have seen one wolf/dog hybrid in person and knew exactly what it was as soon as I saw its eyes. I asked the owner was how much wolf was in it. I forget how much but it was more than half. He was very careful to keep it away from my terrier and it did seem as though that dog was interested in her in a predatory way though it was well behaved. I think people have those wolf/dog hybrids because they feel that being Tarzan of the Jungle with wild animals as companions makes them way cooler than the rest of us.🙂

    The trouble with vacations is that you develop habits that are incompatible with working life. Habits like being able to nap whenever you want.🙂

    It was sunny here with warmer temperatures but the wind made it seem colder. Tomorrow is supposed to be even warmer. No complaints from me.
    Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ve only seen them on tv and photographs and those eyes do tell what they are🙂 But they are tricky since the wolf in it can take over. But I admit that it would be cool to have one🙂🙂🙂 and I think You’re right about those owners🙂 People that want a dog like that is most likely the ones that shouldn’t have one!

      I do miss those naps🙂 We should do like the Spanish people, take a three hour siesta every day🙂

      Warm and rainy here today and tonight the rain will freeze on the roads, that makes me so happy🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Here’s another story involving a wolf hybrid owner. He was an auto glass repairman and had come to my house to replace my broken windshield. At the time, I had Tegan, a Jack Russell Terrier. The man saw her and said he wanted to get a Jack Russell for his next dog. My stock answer to people who said that was “No, you don’t”. He asked why and I said owning one was the closest thing you could get to having a wild animal without a permit. He commented, somewhat braggingly, that he had raised wolf hybrids. I said, “Okay, I’ll put it this way; if a Jack Russell Terrier were standing on the side of the highway at rush hour with cars zooming by at 70MPH and saw a squirrel on the other side, he would just go for it. They will literally kill themselves to get at what they want.” He was quiet for a bit and then said, “I guess I don’t want one of those dogs.”
        Maybe you have to be dominant and controlling to have wolf hybrids but you’ve got to be quick witted and completely insane to have Jacks.😀

  6. Hi Christer,
    Pitbulls can be the nicest, sweetest dogs if brought up correctly. Any animal will turn if mistreated. Gracie thinks I mistreat her when I move her on my bed so I can have more room. The cats sleep in the comfiest places! My father always said he would love to be reincarnated as a pet in any of our houses!

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes they can and it’s all up to the owner. Unfortunately the wrong kind of people want that kind of dog now, before it was the German shepherd, Doberman and Rotweiler.

      Gracie and my dogs think alike🙂🙂🙂 Orvar has actually pushed me down from my bed when he was younger🙂🙂🙂

      Bertil, that cat that hates everything and especially me often sleep by my side at night??? I wonder why when he does what ever he can to avoid me all day long🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Bertil is probably just using you for body heat.🙂
    Ha! love that cat.

    Years ago when I worked at a no-kill shelter we had a “Husky” mix who could only be adopted to someone with special qualities and who lived in approved states. Ours was not one of the approved states. Anyone that had any knowledge of dogs knew what that “husky” mix really was. We were in a panic that someone would report her to State Authorities. When the Inspecter came in, he was very cool. He looked at her (her name was Pandora) and turned to us and said “Just don’t adopt her out to anyone here in Illinois”.😀😀😀
    She eventually went to a country home in another state to very informed people who only wanted to protect her. They were not the type to brag about the type of “dog” they had. They just wanted her to be safe. She was absolutely beautiful but when she looked at you, you knew she was capable of challenging anyone. Luckily the new owners were up to the challenge and loved her.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Or he’s just waiting for the right time to attack🙂

      Those were just the right kind of people to have a dog like that, they really didn’t care abóut what kind of breed she was🙂 It’s the ones that really wants a dog like that that really shouldn’t have one🙂 We don’t have breed speciffic laws here in this country but breeds of dogs and cats must be free from any wild ancester at least four generations back. So if a pet like a German Shepherd would get puppies with a wolf they would have to kill those puppies.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

