The villagers should thank me :-)

DSC_0025 (532x800)

 

I can feel safe tonight and sleep like a baby, any eventual vampires must have left the village by now and it’s all because of me. The villagers should thank me and give me presents in gold or just plain money🙂🙂🙂 and even if they would be able to stay in the village they would never enter my home. I found three very dry garlic by my window, they must have been there for over a year and since I couldn’t use them to anything I tossed them in the fire in my stove. They may be olde but god what they smell when burning🙂🙂🙂 I opened the hatch and the smell sort of exploded in to my kitchen and now it stinks of garlic here🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0003 (521x800)

DSC_0007 (532x800)

DSC_0009 (532x800)

 

When thinking of vampires the thought of Gandalf, the wizard in the Lord of the Rings came popping up in my mind. Not that there are any vampires in the lord of the rings but there he was and I was thinking that he really wasn’t much of a wizard. I mean, how often did he really use his magic powers? When he was in a fight he used a sword like all the others and both humans and elves died like flies! Well the book wouldn’t have become especially long if he had used his powers but then again Dumbledor used his all the time in the Harry Potter books and they did become very long anyway🙂

 

DSC_0010 (532x800)

DSC_0011 (800x532)

DSC_0014 (800x532)

 

The snow has started to fall again and when it started I came to think about Mr Mole, You know he in The Wind in the Willows. One day he went out to see if he could find Mr Badger and got lost in the snowy forest. Well Ratty came and they both found Mr Badger and they spent the night in his home. Mr Badgers home is the rest of a buried old Roman settlement. His place is rather big and I thought it would be nice to have a home underground like that. It doesn’t matter how bad the weather would be up on the surface, one wouldn’t know anyway down there.

 

DSC_0016 (800x532)

DSC_0018 (800x532)

DSC_0020 (800x532)

 

Then I remembered that Hobbits live in much the same way and I do like those round doors they have. It would probably cost a fortune to build a home like that but I think I would like it. Gandalf seemed to like those homes to and then I started thinking about what a crappy wizard he actually was.

 

DSC_0024 (800x532)

DSC_0026 (800x532)

DSC_0025 (532x800)

 

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “The villagers should thank me :-)

  1. i wonder if the smell drove the new neighbors away! i wish i was getting more snow! we are going to be 65 degrees here now on sunday. i hate this kind of weather in winter!

    • Hi Joyce!

      Those neighbors aren’t home yeat and who knows they might just turn and dtive away again as soon as they feel the garlic smell🙂

      It’s a bit too windy here right now and I don’t want snow! But I don’t mind it’s getting cold again.
      You really have a very strange winter this year!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      That garlic smell almost drove me out from my home🙂 No vampire will come close to this cottage for quite some time🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards for they are subtle and quick to anger.😀 Besides, as Terry Pratchett would say, wizarding and witching is mostly using common sense while making other people think you are wizarding and witching. Wizards only use real power when it’s absolutely unavoidable. It attracts the attention of even more undesirable entities than Orcs. And then you would be in really big trouble.😀
    Garlic should probably never be thrown in the fire especially if it is elderly garlic. There’s a lot of power there. At least your village has been purged of vampires.
    Your thoughts were all over the place today.🙂 Snow would not have made me think of Mole or Ratty.
    It’s sunny and unseasonably warm today. The wind blowing across the remaining snow makes it feel colder though.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think Terry Pratchet most likely is right about that🙂🙂

      But to be honest, it couldn’t be much worse sometimes and he still let them all die around him. The only thing that could be worse would be if Sauron himself came I think🙂

      I never thought that the garlic would smell that much🙂🙂🙂 But I think not only vampires are clensed from this village and especially my cottage🙂 All kinds of evil beings (and most proabably all the good ones too) have left us now🙂🙂🙂

      Normally I always think of Mole and Ratty down by the creek, on sunny days ´Ratty would take them both out on the water and they would have a picnic🙂

      The wind has blown so hard tonight and the sound from the old tv-antenna did wake me up several times🙂

      have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Hermit!

      I took those photographs when we were out walking by the bog last weekend. Well that creek is on the bog but very close to the border of it and the fof made that place magical.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Dianna!
      I love walking there, it’s on the bog but very close to the border of it and there’s a good path to walk on so no risk of falling down in to a deep hole🙂🙂 I hope the bog freeze properly so I can show You how it looks out there🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Jag förstår att det roliga du tänkte på kom INNAN du brände vitlöken! Efteråt kunde du väl inte täka alls!! Fy faaan vilken lukt det måste ha varit!? Jag som inte ens kan stå ut med vanlig vitlöksdoft – eller smak – skulle förmodligen ha svimmat!! *fniss*
    Det var länge sedan jag läste en riktigt bra saga/fantasy/science fiction. Måste nog leta fram en igen. Har en hel bokhylla fylld med bara sådana böcker och dessutom en massa SF-häften (Häpna) sen -60/-70-talet och dom har man ju glömt bort all storys i. Alltså kan man läsa om dom nu…..🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag tycker inte vitlöksdoft är så illa, men detta var liksom lite extra🙂🙂🙂 Jag kan nog gissa att även om du inte är en vampyr så hade du inte gått in i stugan min🙂🙂🙂

      Jag är ju förtjust i Harry Potter böckerna men annars håller jag med dig, de bästa gjordes för ett bra tag sedan om jag skall vara ärlig.
      Lyckos dig🙂

      Har du fått mina mail förresten? Tack skall du ha, den är delikat!

      ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Christer, I know that roasted garlic is supposedly very good and even quite tasty, but never tried it. And, you certainly may have warded off any vampires at least in your cottage. I have never read The Hobbit.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Yes roasted garlic is tasty but they don’t burn them in the fire🙂🙂

      The Hobbit is a very different book in its style than the lord of the rings. It’s written for children so its language is very different and it is a much kinder book🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

