So close but still so far away.

DSC_0040 (800x532)

I’ve been a bit more active today than I was yesterday but not much๐Ÿ™‚ Well I’ve done my laundry and I decided we should take our walk on the bog this afternoon. Just by the edge of it and to the peninsula we often go to on our walks. I know where most deep holes are so that was no problem. What I didn’t think of was all the rain and snow that we’ve gotten this autumn/winter๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0044 (800x532)

DSC_0043 (800x521)

They cut down all the spruces on the island a couple of years ago but they saved these small ones. They grow way to close so most of them will probably die.

They cut down all the spruces on the island a couple of years ago but they saved these small ones. They grow way to close so most of them will probably die.

The deep holes are now smaller or bigger ponds and the creeks are, well not rivers but fairly wide anyway๐Ÿ™‚ We started by walking out to the nearest island, the bog is actually a lake that has been lowered several times so if they hadn’t lowered it I would live by a very shallow lake. Well to be honest, I wouldn’t have been able to afford this cottage if it still was a lake to be honest๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, we walked out to the island and Sune has never been there and jumped around happy as can be๐Ÿ™‚

Sune loved it :-)

Sune loved it๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0050 (800x532)

DSC_0051 (800x531)

I had no problems as long as we walked where trees grow, they are probably almost 100 years but bogs doesn’t have much nutrition so they are barely higher than I am. But as soon as we came out to areas with grass only the problems started. We came further and further out on the bog. Nova, which was leashed to me all the time could walk everywhere and so could Sune. Orvar, Hector and I however had big problems๐Ÿ™‚ But it worked as long as the tussock were big enough, I just jumped from one to another.

DSC_0052 (800x532)

These trees are very old but small, to big to call Bonsai's though :-)

These trees are very old but small, to big to call Bonsai’s though๐Ÿ™‚

I don't know why but I started thinking of Mount Fuji in Japan when I saw this ant stack :-)

I don’t know why but I started thinking of Mount Fuji in Japan when I saw this ant stack๐Ÿ™‚

Nova however did her best to make me fall by jumping in other directions or just pulling the leash as hard as she could when I tried to keep my balance๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Thankfully I have boots that doesn’t let in any water but my trousers got soaked instead๐Ÿ™‚ We had come within 20 meters (much the same in yards) to the peninsula when a too wide ditch stopped us, well it stopped me anyway I didn’t dare jump over it๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

The occasional raven flew above us.

The occasional raven flew above us.

We came further and further out on the bog.

We came further and further out on the bog.

We came so close to the peninsula but here it ended and we walked back to dry ground again.

We came so close to the peninsula but here it ended and we walked back to dry ground again.

So we walked towards dry land agin and followed the paths the wild animals have done there for years. Not too visible anyway but the snow helped to show them. I think we walked at most 500 meters (slightly less in yards) and it took over an hour๐Ÿ™‚ but it was worth it. We’ll get cold weather the coming ten days they say (and we all know how great they are predicting the weather๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ ), so if they are right I think it will be possible to walk safely on the bog next weekend. If so I think I’ll try to reach what’s left of the lake๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0060 (800x532)

We followed the path wild animals have made, mostly they are safe :-)

We followed the path wild animals have made, mostly they are safe๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0064 (800x531)

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. Tomorrow’s a work day again and one day next week I’ll be working in the neighboring factory, at least it’s a change for a while๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0033 (800x532)

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “So close but still so far away.

  1. hi christer! it is 60 degrees right now and just about to start to rain. the cold front is moving in this afternoon so soon we will be back to normal winter. sune looks like he had a blast in that new area! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      My kind of temperatures๐Ÿ™‚ But I don’t mind it getting colder here as long as we don’t get more snow.

      He had so much fun and there were so much Black Grousse poop to eat too๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. sounds like an exhausting but exhilarating walk! I thought the ant hill was a beaver house when I first saw it!!!I really love the birch trees in the photos , its was plus 9 Celsius yesterday here and today its minus 9, crazy weather!

    • Hi Laurie!

      It was fun๐Ÿ™‚ But I know my limits so I stopped trying tpo reach the destination I hade chosen๐Ÿ™‚

      Too little water (yet๐Ÿ™‚ ) for beavers on the bog but if the raing continues, who knows๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      That was a big difference in temperature!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Go Sonic Sune!๐Ÿ™‚
    Can’t blame Nova for wanting to run around and smell all the things and eat Black Grouse poo. How exciting. For a dog.๐Ÿ™‚

    What the heck kind of ants do you have that build mounds that big? All our ant hills are tiny things barely an inch above the ground level.

    Dismal and damp here. I have not accomplished much of anything today. Something about a dark day suppresses any desire to tidy up or do chores. So I won’t.๐Ÿ™‚
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      I think she just tried to get rid of me once and for all๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ :-)There was plenty of poo to go around๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      That ant stack isn’t that big to be honest๐Ÿ™‚ The big ones becomes over two yards high๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ We just call it stack ant or red ant, stings like crazy when they get a chance to bite. But that’s nothing compared to the tiny read ones that doesn’t build stacks like this, that hurts so bad that it’s hard to breathe sometimes.

      Cold and snowing here now but it will be worse during the night.

      have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    The pictures make your world look so bleak with the dark trees and the snow.

    Gracie would be gone in a heartbeat. I’d have to tie her to me or lose her.

    It has been damp here all day and is still drizzling now, but it is very warm for this time of year. I’ll take that!

    • Hi Kat!

      It is bleak๐Ÿ™‚

      Nova would be gone if she saw a hare, the Black grouse is a bit scary though๐Ÿ™‚ They sound so much when flying away๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Cold here today with some snow fall, we’ll get lots of snow tonight they say.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Oh, I forgot about how grouse sound when they fly away. We have spruce grouse here. They hide in the undergrowth until you are almost on top of them. Then they jump up about 3 or 4 feet into the air and then flap their wings so hard and fast it sounds like thunder. If you haven’t fainted from the shock of something exploding into the air in front of your face, the booming of the wings will do it. Oddly enough, that whole noisy act did not bother my horse at all. He would just step aside and continue walking. He would spook at a wind-blown McDonald’s bag or kittens. Booming spruce grouse exploding in his face? Pfft!๐Ÿ˜€

      • That sound scares the c..p out of me sometimes๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Thankfully we don’t have the Wood-grouse here because they are much bigger and that sound is even worse๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ The Wood-grouse rooster is also known for attacking people๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

        Horse are special๐Ÿ™‚

        Christer.

  5. Hi Christer, sounds like great, though muddy wet, adventures on the bog. Super photos of Sune, he doesn’t look much like a puppy anymore, which is a little sad. We got almost to 60 degrees F today, but colder temps are coming, and snow at the end of the week (of course, as we always say, if you can believe the weather people). Have a good week, and hope all the the family is better with the rash.

    • Hi Robin!

      it was๐Ÿ™‚ Perhaps a bit too muddy but that’s the way we learn in life๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m sort of glad he doesn’t look like a puppy any more, if they did look like puppies for too long we wouldn’t think they were so cute any longer๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      Cold and snowing now and it will stay cold for quite some time. It looks as if the scabies is going away now, if not we’ll just give them another shot again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!

      I wasn’t so far away to be honest, they would have heard me shouting if they just were outside, my neighbors that is๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

