And now they’re three.

DSC_0009 (800x537)

 

I live in an extremely beautiful world at the moment. -20 C (-4 F) during the nights, no wind and fog too does that to the world. 2,5 cm (1 inch) rime on every branch and twig makes the world look like it’s made of ice crystals. This weather also makes the roads extremely dangerous because the fog freeze on the road and the car tends to slide around a bit like it feels to🙂 But it isn’t boring driving to and from work that’s for sure🙂

 

DSC_0004 (800x525)

DSC_0028 (536x800)

DSC_0029 (536x800)

 

I worked over time yesterday so even if I started a fire in the stove as soon as I came home it never got especially warm here. Today when I came home I saw that the power plug to the radiator in my bathroom was laying on the floor, we must have pulled it out when I went to work this morning, so it isn’t especially nice in there at the moment🙂 The shower must wait yet another hour before I go in there again🙂🙂🙂

 

It was a bit too dark to photograph without a flash when I came home, but I tiook some anyway :-)

It was a bit too dark to photograph without a flash when I came home, but I took three anyway🙂

DSC_0024 (800x536)

Home sweet home.

Home sweet home.

 

I now have three does walking in my garden. I have to say that they aren’t especially nice to each other when it comes to food, the ones eating chases away anyone coming close. So now I have three places with food in my garden. They say this winter has been nasty towards deers and the third one is a bit tiny. I better buy extra food to them on my way home tomorrow. Cold nights like these are deer killers if they have to little to eat.

 

DSC_0004 (800x531)

DSC_0015 (531x800)

DSC_0021 (532x800)

 

The fire is burning in the stove and I have a pan with rice porridge boiling on top of it. I really didn’t want porridge today but then I saw that I have no bread🙂 I was going to stop by the grocery store on my way home but since the roads were like they were I thought it better to go home directly, it would take quite some time without stopping by the store.

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “And now they’re three.

  1. hi christer! omg…you live in a winter palace! it is gorgeous. i wonder id we have a word for rime here? we don’t really see that happen here that i am aware of. it sure i wonderful though. the big storm did not happen here. we might get a few inches of snow but that is all. it still is horribly cold though! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      yes I do🙂 At least as long as the wind doesn’t blow.
      I think that the worf frostwork is a word used in the US for rime. I think rime is mopre beautiful than snow to be honest.

      So You missed the big storm, but there’s still time for a new one before spring arrives🙂

      I rather have low temperatures than snow but unfortunately they tend to come at the same time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Beautiful world is right!! I love the pictures. I don’t think we get that kind of rime/frost here. I have never seen anything like it….really beautiful. Those deer better get along, and let each have a chance at food. Too bad that nature in this case proves “the survival of the fittest” law. Good luck driving on those roads, and I hope you don’t have rime in your shower!!!

    • Hi Robin!

      It still is beautiful but the wind, ever so light, breaks it up now. I took some photographs at work with my mobile phone and I hope I can show there in todays post-

      I guess that they are nice to each other as long as they have plenty of food, otherwise it’s all about survival.

      I managed to get to work and hpome again🙂 Most parts of the roads were rather good this morning and it much less cold now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    The word is out; free food at Olofsson’s.🙂

    Even Teo looks a little mean having to walk through the cold. It’s very pretty there, though. Ice crystals all over everything. The bush looks lovely with the lights sparkling in their icy casing.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Luckilyb only the bravest has come yet otherwise it would cost a fortune🙂🙂🙂

      He had been out all the time we were out walking and he really didn’t like that. He’s an indoor cat when the weather is that cold🙂

      To bad those ice crystals brwaks already if one breathes on them.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Christer, our little snowfall early today was not quote as beautiful as the photos in your post. But we are expected to get more snow on Friday night, so perhaps our weekend will bring a winter wonderland. Be safe on the roads.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I’ve always thought that rime is more beautiful than snow to be honest.

      I drove very carefully today but the roads were much better this afternoon, it is much less cold now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Gillade dom “blå bilderna”, verkligen tjusiga!🙂
    Vi har haft -19,1 i natt, vilket är fruktansvärt och ganska ovanligt. Men nu ska det ju bli varmare får man hoppas.🙂
    Det tråkiga är att det var -1,8 i “holken” där jag förvarar mina känsliga växter. Dom flesta lär nog överleva natten, men dom stora pelargonerna har kanske gått åt. Fast det gör inte så mycket, det är dom andra jag är rädd om. Ställde in pelargoner för att det blev lite plats över. Jag brukar aldrig spara dom normalt. Nu är det bara att vänta och se…..

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag brukar tröttna på det blå ljuset ungefär en dag efter att det kommit🙂

      Lika kallt här i natt, men eftersom det inte blåste kändes det inte så farligt. Men en Mazda är verkligen inte gjord för våra vintrar🙂🙂🙂

      Pelargoner brukar klara ett par minus kortare stunder så de är nog inte döda än🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer! I really like the three pictures. I think that blue hue looks rather beautiful. And don’t you just love when the snow sticks to the trees and makes everything look magikcal?

    • Hi Dianna!

      I’m already tired of the blue light but it will continue to follow us for quite some time yet.

      This isn’t snow You see on the trees, it’s rime. When temperatures drop like they did those days and the humidity is high enough ice crystals forms on everything outdoors. Very beautiful and very fragile, as son as even the lightest wind hist it all fall apart.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. wow, you do live in a beautiful world!
    Those photos are fabulous.

    I hate that this weather is so brutal.
    There’s a stray cat that lives in the wooded area outside of our clinic. She’s feral and won’t come near people but I’ve seen her sitting at the glass door staring in at the clinic cats back in my area. I throw leftover dog food out for her and I feel a big bowl full of kitten food for her and put it out behind the shed. I also set a bowl of water out for her. It always freezes but I keep dumping the ice block out and refilling it. I wish I had a heated water bowl but Doc would probably frown on that.😦

    • Hi Cindi!

      It was so beautiful here yesterday, now it’s all gone because the wind has returned and it’s much warmer too.

      Feral cats freeze to death here if they can’t get some protection against the cold. But I don’t think You need to worry about water, they get enough when eating mice they’ve caught and dog food (if it isn’t the dry kind, contains lots of water too. But they do have a tough time during winter.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

