Ice blue.

DSC_0001 (522x800)

It was just as cold this morning as it was yesterday and the trees were dressed in even thicker layers of rime than the day before. Unfortunately it breaks and falls off as soon as even the lightest wind blows. I took some photographs at work but they became tiny when I mailed them to my computer. I’ll try to fix that problem by tomorrow so You’ll be able to see them.

 

DSC_0003 (536x800)

DSC_0004 (800x536)

No snow at all on the trees, only rime.

No snow at all on the trees, only rime.

DSC_0009 (525x800)

 

I hurried home as fast as the roads permitted me to but I had to stop by the super market. I hurried so in there that I got all I needed but not even close to what I wanted🙂 I really wanted to get some photographs before the wind came and blew the rime of the branches. I managed to get some blue colored photographs in the forest, it all look so magical when covered in rime.

 

DSC_0010 (800x536)

DSC_0011 (525x800)

DSC_0013 (800x536)

DSC_0014 (800x536)

 

Doris the Doe, Lotta and the new one have already been in my garden, they stay a short while, eat some and then they goe away again.  They return several times during the night and sometimes during the day as well. I wonder if it for their security they only stay a short while each time? Don’t leave too much scent or the lynx might be waiting next time they come? It has happened that the lynx takes deers in gardens here so it might be why they stay so short time.

DSC_0015 (517x800)

DSC_0017 (800x536)

DSC_0018 (800x536)

DSC_0019 (800x536)

The fire is burning in the stove and even though it’s much less cold the weather still demands cocoa drinking🙂 Nothing much on tv, they still haven’t started to show the rest of season two of Grimm and no news on the last season of Eureka either. Channel six do show some fun programs but they are lousy to tell when they show them🙂

 

DSC_0021 (536x800)

DSC_0022 (800x536)

DSC_0024 (800x536)

DSC_0025 (800x534)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0028 (800x538)

15 thoughts on “Ice blue.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Brr. I can almost hear the crunch and squeak of walking on that frozen ground. It makes my old bones ache.🙂 It’s been cold enough for rime here but far too dry to produce any. There are not even crystals forming on the window glass these last few days.
    I love the picture of your window. It looks cold, too.🙂
    Doris, Lotte and New Deer are wise to move around frequently if the lynx is not afraid to come into gardens and attack them.
    It’s sunny and cold here. Again. The glass porch is warm from the sunshine so Rocky is out there sunning himself. I have no errands and don’t plan to make any up. Too cold to go outside.
    Enjoy your cocoa.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!
      Rime on the ground doesn’t sound especially much when walking on it strangely enough and there were lots of it on the ground today since the wind had started. So we didn’t make much sound when walking around. But it was a bit cold since I had my mittens in the kitchen🙂🙂

      It’s always humid enough to get thick rime here as long as it get cold enough. I prefer this before snow🙂

      We got a bit surprised when a neighbor had a lynx attack on a deer in his garden one night. They heard the scream from the deer and there was blood everywhere. They had no idea what had happened until the next day when they could see lynx tracks all over their snow covered lawn. I hope the smell from four dogs keep the lynx away from the deers but it would be cool if I could take a photo of one in my garden🙂🙂

      I wish I had a glassed in porch on days like this!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      It is soo beautiful! But it only happens when there’s absolutely now wind and temperatures falls down to around 0F

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i could look at those photos all day. they are just enchanting! our small storm has started here and the roads are awful. i just got home and there were terrible wrecks everywhere. i need to go back out to the store but i wanted to get home to drop teddy off. i can drive in anything but i get scared that if someone would hit me, what would i do with teddy. if the car could not be driven, she would never get in another car. so, she is safe at home and i will do my shopping shortly. it seems that everyone left work when they saw the snow so rush hour should not be too bad. the roads were too cold for the trucks to salt them so there is bad ice everywhere. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I wish it could be like this tomorrow morning but they say the wind will start blowing and temperatures will rise during the night, if so most of it will be gone by the time we’ll get out.

      I don’t like to have my dogs in the car when we’re having snow storms either. But my concern is that my car is small and if someone would hit me from behind the risk of them getting badly injured would be too big. They would have no problems at all to follow anyone in any car without giving me a thought🙂🙂🙂

      Take it easy out on those roads!

      Christer.

  3. How lovely Christer. Thank you so very much for your post and beautiful pics! I live in Southern California, USA, but grew up in the State of Michigan and lived in Colorado when my boyes were little and I miss the snow and beauty the cold brings. I don’t forget the challenges the cold brings, but I do miss the beauty of the crisp chill. Such a treat you share yours.

    • Hi Michele!

      I guess that rime like this shows in both Michigan and especially Colorado.
      I don’t mind the cold as long as we don’t get any snow🙂 and even I must admit that snowy and frosty winter photographs are very beautiful🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Hi Jack!
        No I don’t mind but I think this post is a bit too far back in time, unless she gets all comments via email. So check in here every now and again if she turns up again🙂
        Have a great day!
        Christer.

    • Hello Michele Bridge-Bell, I am looking for my cousin, by the same name as you, who also grew up in Michigan, specifically Pontiac and Milford. Is this you? You can reply to me here, or at my e-mail, which is jknjl2@gmail.com. I hope I’m right! Jack Aldworth

Leave a Reply

