I need to buy some trees this spring.

We never came any closer to sunshine today.

We never came any closer to sunshine today.

I’m tired today, I’ve taken two naps already (not even 3pm yet) but I feel like going to bed again already🙂 My first nap however was disturbed when my neighbor finally had decided to take down the two spruces close to my cottage. He has wanted to take them down for a long time but hesitated since I liked the shade they gave.  So now I’ll start thinking of what I vill plant close to that area but on my side of the fence.

 

DSC_0003 (800x536)

DSC_0008 (800x536)

DSC_0010 (531x800)

 

Spruce grows too slow, the ones cut down must have been around 25-30 years old. So I think it’ll be a couple of Thuja´s instead. They’ll grow rather fast and won’t drop ant needles or cones. This is the season for sowing and I’ll start this weekend but not Thuja’s🙂 I’ll buy some high ones of them this spring. I’ve bought way to many seeds already and I’m afraid there will be plenty more before I stop🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0012 (800x536)

DSC_0013 (536x800)

DSC_0017 (800x536)

 

The wind started blowing last night but surprisingly much of the rime stayed on the trees until today. I was planing on going down to the creek like usual this morning, it must have looked amazing down there with all the rime but the wind made it rather uncomfortable to walk by the fields. We won’t get any more rime for quite some time I think, next week will be warm so the snow we have now will most likely melt away. But February is usually nasty cold so we might get a chance to get more before this winter is over.

 

DSC_0023 (800x535)

DSC_0024 (525x800)

DSC_0025 (800x536)

 

The fire is burning in the stove and I think I’ll bake a bread or two later today. But apart from that I’ll do nothing but just stay awake so the bread won’t burn🙂

 

DSC_0037 (800x537)

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “I need to buy some trees this spring.

  1. Why on earth did your neighbor want to cut down the spruce? I had the same thing happen here, first when we moved in, and then just last summer. All our privacy and shade disappeared because our neighbor didn’t like the grand old pine trees. So sad!! So we are planting this spring too.
    Cold cold cold here, icy and uncomfortable outside. Our wood stove is burning nicely. Maybe I should bake some bread too. Take care and don’t burn your bread.

    • Hi Robin!
      He has removed almost all trees and bushes from his garden, I think he’s a lawn lover above anything else when it comes to gardening.
      He will however place his wood shed on the spot where the spruces grew so it doesn’t become too open between us.

      Still a bit cold here but next week will be very warm for at least most of the working week they say. The fire is burning and the bread is delicious🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. beautiful photos.
    remember my neighbors tree that hung very low into my yard and dropped those big green balls which I guess were walnuts? the one that I finally had to cut down myself because it was LAYING on top of my brussel sprouts? well….
    now when I sit in my kitchen and look out the window I can see THEIR dining room window and I hate it. I don’t like seeing them or they me. I’ve planted some conifers but they are growing much too slow and barely survived last summers drought. I’m thinking of putting up a panel of fencing there. Or maybe a shed made out of windows?😀😀😀 ???

    • Hi Cindi!

      All rime is gone now and it is a bit sad really even if it was a bit too cold when it was here🙂🙂

      Yes I do remember🙂 A shed is made out of windows is never wrong🙂 They are predicting very dry summers over at Yours in the future so what ever You plant make sure it’s draught tolerant!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Det är ett excellent val att välja thuja, men snälla du – ta inte jättethuja. Dom blir enorma bara på 5-10 år och därefter har du en skog med trista thujor. Men det finns vackra thujor också, t.ex. den som heter Smaragd men det är klart den blir inte 10-15 meter hög, utan kanske bara 3-4.🙂
    Ha en trevlig helg!
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag tror inte att den äör härdig nog för att klara sig här, men är den så vill jag ha den🙂

      Jag tycker inte thujor är trista dessutom kan jag ju plantera några andra sorters barrträd runt ikring dem.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. for the life of me I do not understand why people cut down perfectly good trees! If they are a danger to over head wires or rotten and my fall on the house , yes but for no reason, thats just sad.We have been very fortunate to not have anyone to see in either our house on the lake (it was in the forest) and this apartment is on the waters edge 100 feet up, maybe a boat might see in , I doubt it though.Your photos are beautiful today, I hope you have a good weekend,

    • Hi Laurie!

      He has taken down almost all trees and removed almost all bushes from his garden, he’s a lawn man before anything else. I too think it’s sad but he’ll place his wood shed where the trees stood and I’ll plants trees on my side🙂 But our cottages are placed so we can’t look in to each other anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! neighbors…ugh! i can’t tell you the problems i have had with neighbors over the years. i lost so many of my trees a few years ago from the heavy snows. i bought a type of thuja called green giant. they grow about 3-4 feet a year and are very hardy. you should check and see if you can get them there. i planted about a dozen of them last fall and they are doing great. i need to buy more to plant this spring. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      Thankfully my neighbor is one of the best one can have🙂 He just doesn’t like trees or bushes🙂🙂

      I remember You telling about loosing those trees! I want that kind too but I’m not sure if itä’s hardy enough to survive here. It’s not the winter that would kill it but our short cool summers. But I’ll check in to that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Does thuja have to be wrapped in the winter like arborvitae? It sounds like a good thing to plant along the back part of my property as a wind break. Not so good if I have to go out there and wrap them in burlap every fall. I was checking it out online but nothing mentions wrapping them to prevent splitting from snow load.

    The idea of freshly baked bread is mouth-watering. It must be time for lunch.🙂 I have olive bread so perhaps I will make grilled cheese and tomato on olive bread sandwiches. Maybe I’ll add some bacon, too.

    It’s sunny and very cold here still. The sunny part is nice. The very cold part is not. I did sit out on the front steps with Rocky for about 5 minutes. It faces south and is a little sheltered from the wind so not terribly uncomfortable. Got some natural vitamin D at least.

    Enjoy your naps. They restore energy.😀

    • Hi Caryn!

      No, no wrapping when it comes to thuja’s but they can be a bit burned by the spring sunshine at least up here since the water in the ground can be frozen while the sun says it’s spring and that they should start growing🙂 The Giant Thuja grows very fast and becomes very high and all thuja’s stays green all the way to the ground.

      The bread is delicious and today I made basil and ginger rye bread🙂 I wish I had some bacon to have with my bread🙂

      Cloudy and chilly here all day and the wind was biting even if it wasn’t especially hard.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi dq!

      I’ll try to explain it right. Rime is the humidity in the air that freeze on twigs and branches (or but not on wllas for instance). Instead of freezing to solid chunks of ice they build extremely thin ice crystals, very flat but can become rather long if the wind doesn’t blow. Several of these thin crystals grows beside each other so if they can grow big enough they do look like snow. I hope I managed You to understand how I mean🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • how humid does it have to be to have rime created and once it is made does it stay as “rime” till it melts or does it change?

      • Hi dq!

        It must be rather humid if it should be as thick as it was this time. Fog helps a lot🙂 But just a thin layer of rime comes as soon as it gets cold. It stays that way all the time until it either melts or blows away by the wind

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, just catching up on the past few posts and the rime on the trees and ground and the bluish tint do make your photos very wintry looking. We had some snowfall on the pine trees yesterday morning, but it was soon gone as is our 1 inch snowfall. And, we too will get warming temps this week which will make our back yard very muddy so I would prefer the cold and snow. Grenville h been baking bread also but disappointed in his recent results. Perhaps he should try one of your recipes as the descriptions always sound delicious to me. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I love it when the rime get so thick and cowers the trees! To bad it has to be so rediculusly cold to get it🙂 We’ll get snow later today and already next week it will melt away they say. But they aren’t too good in their predictiuons to be honest so it might just get nasty cold again🙂🙂🙂

      I never really follow recipes🙂 I use 0,5 liters of liquid and then I always use a flour mix between wheat and rye (I think it’s something like 60% wheat and 40% rye or if it’s the opposite). But I think the thing that makes my breads so tasty is that I use a fire heated oven! The oven has no ventilation so all the moisture stayes in the oven and the bread.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

