A rather slow day.

DSC_0003 (800x537)

I’m at home today, not so much because of the cold but my stomach seems to have died. Perhaps it’s the same thing or perhaps two different germs have decided to cooperate, that’s not a good thing is germs starts to do that🙂🙂🙂 That would be a nice scenario for a horror movie wouldn’t it?

Doris always takes a tour around my garden before shw jumps in, just in case something dangerous tries to hide there.

Doris always takes a tour around my garden before shw jumps in, just in case something dangerous tries to hide there.

DSC_0014 (800x535)

DSC_0016 (800x536)

Nothing much to do on a day like this to be honest. They only show reruns on tv, the same reruns they’ve shown for the last ten years i think. Luckily for me they showed an episode of Star Gate-1 that I actually have missed all these years🙂🙂🙂 I could watch the snow melt too, we got some snow during the night but it quickly turned to rain. But it seems lots of places had huge problems during last evening and tonight, they got a snow storm and the roads was like someone had poured soap on them.

All photographs comes from last weekend.

All photographs comes from last weekend.

DSC_0007 (536x800)

DSC_0015 (800x536)

I will start the sowing of perennials today, I know I’ve said that before but today it will happen🙂 I’ll just have to check which seeds needs a cold period and which doesn’t. Most I already know but then there’s always those few that makes me unsure. An easy rule is that if the plant gives away the seeds before midsummer they will need warm temperatures to germinate and if they give the seeds away after the seeds most likely will need cold temperatures.

DSC_0039 (800x536)

DSC_0041 (800x531)

DSC_0042 (800x536)

I have however actually done the dishes today, something I should have done long ago. During winter I tend to become a slob🙂 I do what must be done so my home doesn’t become a health hazard but that’s it🙂🙂🙂 I think I’ll better buy paper plates for the coming winter (it’s too late for that now I’m afraid even if spring won’t arrive until April sometime). As soon as I’ve had my dinner or what ever I’ve eaten, I’ll just put the plates in my stove and the problem is gone🙂🙂🙂

DSC_0024 (536x800)

DSC_0027 (800x536)

DSC_0039 (800x536)

It’s time to feed the deers and fill the bird feeders too. Doris the Doe comes alone a bit earlier than the other two every day now, she’s not that aggressive as the others and I like to be sure she gets what she needs. The snow we had is soon gone so there will be food out there for the others to eat if she would take it all🙂

House sparrows taking shelter from the nasty wind we had. I love these little brown/grey birds. They are slowly dying out now days.

House sparrows taking shelter from the nasty wind we had. I love these little brown/grey birds. They are slowly dying out now days.

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “A rather slow day.

  1. Här i Eksta har jag faktiskt inte sett en enda gråsparv eller pilfink – och då har vi massor av fåglar annars! Såna arter som man aldrig såg i Stockholm!!🙂
    Jag sår ju inte – av princip *fniss*. Men jag igår vann jag en massa chilifrön (ovanliga sorter) på bloggen, så idag var jag iväg och köpte mig två sålådor, små insatser samt såjord på Granngården. Nu ska här odlas…..
    Jag älskar chili, så det ska bli spännande att se vad jag får för sorter. Utlottaren Trädgårdsfia hade väl ett 15-tal sorter i odling förra året. En som jag bad särskilt om att få var “Hot Lemon”. Låter så vansinnigt gott!🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Vårat jordbruk är visst alldeles för effektivt så det blir ingen spillsäd kvar på åkrarna för dem. Pilfinkar har vi gott om men gråsparvarna börjar tyna. Ni har ju alla sorters flyttfåglar så det förvånar mig inte att ni har andra fåglar än i Stockholm.

      Jag sår hellre än att köpa och riskera att få hit den spanska skogssnigeln. Vi har den inte och jag vill verkligen undvika att vara den som tar hit dem. Allt som köps gås igenom riktigt noga och sedan ställs det i karantän en vecka eller två.

      Blir kul att höra hur du tyckte de olika chillisarna smakade🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I’ll send you some House Sparrows. They’re not dying out over here. You need to plant lots of thuja because the House Sparrows really love living inside them. They like to get up under the roof sheathing or in the dead air space between the exterior and interior walls of a house and make their communal nests.

    You finally did dishes and I finally did laundry. Haven’t done it in a while because the cellar steps are not compatible with my foot pain. The clothes are in the dryer and they can stay there for a bit of time.
    While I was in the cellar, I filled the feeders in the back of the house. Rocky was nosing at something on the ground. Turned out to be the remains of a Downy Woodpecker. It looks like one of the hawks got it and sat up in the tree to pluck and eat. The Downys don’t come to the feeder but they are always around in the trees.

    Be careful burning too many paper plates and such in your stove. They can leave a deposit on the chimney liner that might be dangerous.

    Cloudy and considerably warmer than it has been lately. Snow is on the way and then it will be 60ºF on Wednesday.
    Enjoy the day and rest up.

    • Hi Caryn!

      No use sending them here, the farmers have too good equipments now days so there’s nothing left on the fields for the birds to feed on, they would only starve to death🙂🙂🙂

      They have their nests beneath the tiles here, I can hear the younglings when they shout for food all summer🙂 so if thuja’s will help them by giving them more space to nest I’ll buy more than I had planned🙂

      So Your foot isn’t better yet! You really should check it at the doctors if You haven’t already.

      Foxes do take doves sometimes but they are way south right now so that’s one thing I don’t have to worry about them eating. Not many predator birds here right now either.

      I’m pretty sure I won’t remember paper plates next year either but if I do I’ll throw them in the garbage instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I’ve been to the orthopedic doctor and he has given me some inserts for my shoes. At the moment things are going well. My cellar is ancient and the stairs are steep and narrow. Not a good combination if one has any mobility issues. Even with functioning body parts it’s kind of tricky going up and down those stairs. My old dog Tegan used to take them at Warp Factor 7 in hopes that she would be fast enough to get to the bottom before she crashed and burned.🙂 Rocky takes them very slowly. Just like me.🙂
        I use paper plates most of the time, now. Once a week I make myself use real plates just to reinforce the fact that I am a civilized person with table manners.😀

      • I hope those inserts do the job for Your fot!

        Thankfully they have placed handles here and there on the way down in to my cellar so if I should loose my balance there’s a good chance on gripping something with both my hands🙂

        My dogs refuse to go down to the cellar, Nova I can understand since she have had bad things happening to her in cellars but the others? I mean there’s strong lights down there and it’s cool during summer, something they should love🙂

        I might start doing like You, paper plates is so much easier in the long run and they cost very little🙂🙂🙂

        Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      I think this will pass rather quickly since I don’t feel any nausea.
      I don’t have any space where I can place a dish washing machine, but life would be nicer having one🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!

      I suspect that I might be allergick to something, my stomach tends to give up too often.
      I prefer being sick in winter time than in summer time, I can’t do muchg now since it still gets dark early in the after noon🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer, again sorry to hear you continue with illness, what a bummer. Housesparrows are everywhere here, very common. I love the little guys, their bickering is always funny to listen to. We have had a hawk circling the neighborhood lately, apparently they know where all the backyard feeders are and the hawks think, “oh good, buffet!” Ice and snow here today, I will not be going outside at all.
    All this talk of thujas lately, I am going to plant some too!!

    • Hi Robin!

      I think I might be allergick to something I eat on a daily basis, perhaps gluten? Or it might be that I’ve destroyed my stomach with the medicine towards my rheumatic diseases.

      House sparrows used to be everywhere here too but farmers are way too effective so there are no seeds left on the fields. But I don’t know why they are disappearing in the cities.

      We have veryt few predator birds here during winter so most small birds are safe by the feeders. We don’t have the habit of feeding birds during summer so the hawks must work hard for their food then🙂

      Thuja’s are really perfect trees, green all winter, grows like weeds and come in all sizes too🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I have been washing every dish as soon as I am done with it since the New Year. Then the other day I didn’t feel good and BOOM, the sink was full. I’m really trying to keep everything tidy but it’s hard to do when you don’t feel good.
    I think I will plant a vegetable garden this year…should I start the seeds soon?

    • Hi Cindi!

      It just takes seconds and then the sink is full again🙂🙂🙂

      It all depends on what You wantv to sow and Your spring comes so much earlier than ours so I think it’s best to just follow the text on the seed packages.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

