Styrofoam and static.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSC_0036 (800x535)

I can’t say that much has happened today either but I couldn’t talk when I woke up this morning🙂 I sounded more like a crow than anything else🙂  Something I think Orvar was quite happy to notice since he had pooped on the floor. I really can’t be angry with him since he is slightly senile ( I can see sometimes that he has no idea who we are or who he is for that matter but he’s still happy and accidents are rare yet) and I’m pretty sure he leaned towards the door for a very long time until he finally gave up. I slept until 7 this morning, something neither I nor my dogs are used to. He has never understood that he should try to wake me up. It was mostly seed shells from the sunflower seeds from the bird feeders so it was easy to clean up.

 

DSC_0010 (800x535)

DSC_0011 (800x536)

I finally started the sowing of seeds that needs a cold period to start germinate. The problem was that I didn’t have any sowing soil and normal soil gets too dense after a while, so it has to be mixed with something like sand or like I did styrofoam. I have saved some and I used an old grater to get small pieces from it to mix in the soil. It’s amazing how static those small pebbles becomes🙂🙂🙂 They flew around everywhere and stuck to my fingers as if they were glued to them🙂🙂🙂 But I rinsed them off with the soil they were going to be mixed with, I got surprised over how easy it actually was!

DSC_0038 (800x536)

I have been wondering why all the wood chips had moved down from the little hill by my pond, now I know why :-)

I have been wondering why all the wood chips had moved down from the little hill by my pond, now I know why🙂

I still have lots of seeds to sow but I need more boxes to sow them in. I use see through candy boxes that they usually give away at the store for free. I let the boxes stay indoors for twenty-four hours so that the seeds become a bit moist and then I place the boxed on the north side of my cottage so that the sun won’t show on them, that’s important because I don’t want the seeds to start germinate while it still is winter. The problem here is that the sun soon will shine on all sides of my cottage, on midsummer eve we only have a couple of hours with no daylight up here in the north🙂

DSC_0025 (800x536)

DSC_0026 (800x535)

it’s time to make a cup of coffee because I’m already tired and it isn’t even 7 pm yet🙂

DSC_0032 (800x536)

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Styrofoam and static.

  1. Poor Orvar, I hope he won’t get too worse. He is 9 or 10? I guess Hector does not have the same problem?
    I hate styrofoam for that very reason, static. I have used cardboard egg cartons for growing seed.
    May all your seeds grow up to be beautiful thriving plants!

    • Hi Robin!

      He’s ok most of the time but every now and again he’s a bit confused but it’s more or less the same as before. Hector has no such problems and I really hope he doesn’t get it.

      Styrofoam is bad as it is but grated is even worse🙂🙂🙂 But I’ll continue to do this as long as I don’t have sowing soil🙂

      Yes cardboard egg cartoons can be great to sow seeds in as long as it doesn’t start to mold🙂
      Thank You🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi dq!

      He is cute and he’s fantastic when it comes to catching mice but he is a nasty little gremlin most of the time. He loves “his” dogs but is known for attacking any other dog that comes down the road. He only accepts me because I give hiom food but that doesn’t mean he won’s scratch me every now and again. He was half wild when he came and has not improved at all. He only lives because I didn’t want him to be killed as a kitten.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Tänk att det finns en del hundägare som blir arga på sina djur när dom råkar göra något inne!?😦
    Förstår dom inte att hunden egentligen inte vill göra något där den bor, den vill ut en bit i naturen. När dom då inte ges den möjligheten – antingen man nu inte hör dom när/om dom säger till, eller att djuret är dålig i magen och inte hinner – så kan man ju inte skälla på dom. Det här är något som alltid förundrat mig!?
    Har aldrig skällt på någon av våra hundar och skulle ALDRIG skälla på Santos om han råkade ut för en sån olycka!!

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det hjälper ju inte att bli arg men min första hund var nära att driva mig till vansinne, det tog 1,5 år innan hon blev runmsren🙂🙂🙂 Vissa hundar gör det faktiskt helst inne eftersom de har så dåligt självförtroende, inne i hemmet finns inga andra djur som känner doften av den då, medans ute finns allt möjligt som kan vara farligt. Men då gäller det ju att öva upp självförtroendet på stackarn istället, så löser sig det andra av sig självt.

      Olyckor händer, det är bara så och inget att bli arg över.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,

    Bertil as a Cat Nap Plant.😀

    It was a nothing day for me as well. I shoveled a bit of snow off the walkway. I took the dog for a tiny stroll down the street. That was it. Oh, I accumulated some more dishes in the sink because I cooked.

    Are the deer pawing through the wood chips in search of food?

    Just looked out the windows and it’s wicked foggy here. Warm air over cold snow, I guess.

    Enjoy the day and hope you are feeling a bit better.

    • Hi Caryn!

      That’s the best way to have a Bertil, asleep and cute🙂

      I went to work today, i wasn’t really sick but not really healthy either so I thought I at least could test if I had the energy. Goo´d thing because other people got sick during the day and went home instead🙂

      The wind is blowing hard but from a direction so it doesn’t hit my home or garden🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Sorry to hear about Orvar’s accident and suppose that dogs like humans can have those “senior” moments. ENjoyed the closeups of the deer and birds and the one of the cat in the flower pot does show that they will sleep anywhere…sorry forgot if this is Bertil or Teodor…my senior moment today.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Yes they do and his grandmother was so senile at the end that she really didn’t remember anything but she was always happy anyway🙂 Orvar is mor a worrier I’m afraid but so far things works good anyway.

      That’s Bertil, Teodor is orange and kind🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Oh! I have a funny styrofoam story!
    Well funny now but…at work they get all sorts of medicines shipped in BIG styrofoam boxes with lids. They can’t be recycled so they just go into the dumpster. I told them to save them and that I would take them. So, I get a bunch of them and used them to store all sorts of stuff down in my basement. they keep everything nice and sometimes when it rains, water leaks a little bit into the cellar door at the far end of the basement. I figured this was a great idea to keep things from any mildew and…they were FREE! I was so proud of myself. What a great idea, right?
    OK, so the cats stay downstairs when I’m at work. I have one end really fixed up nice with a rug and elevated beds and a dehumidfier running and the furnace blows out on that end so it’s actually the warmest spot in the house.
    So, I come home and go downstairs and discover that the cats have decided to use these boxes as scratching posts and there were tiny little white bits EVERYWHERE! It looked like it had snowed down there and it was horrible to clean up. I tried sweeping it up and finally had to drag the vacuum down there.
    so yeah. I get it.
    (so much for a great idea!🙂🙂 )

    • Hi Cindi!

      That was hilarious🙂🙂🙂 I can just imagine how all that styrofoam flew around and stuck to the broom when You were sweeping🙂🙂🙂 But it was a good idea despite the result🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    I’m still sounding awful as well. I’m also sort of grumpy. Being sick for this long tends to take a toll on the disposition. When Gracie was a puppy, she used to stand at the door hoping I’d see her, and when I didn’t, she’d go right there. The poochie bells worked perfectly so she’d ring them when she wanted out. She’ll even ring them now if the back door is closed.

    I was in bed early last night as well, and I even had a nap in the afternoon.

    I hope you get better soon!!

    • Hi Kat!

      I sound much better now, but not when I wake up🙂 Still tired but I’m at work again.

      I haven’t found any poochie bells over here, I must probably make it myself. I think that’s a great idea! I’m not sure it would work on Orvar since he is a bit senile but all the others, perhaps even the cats?

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

