I get Bosnian text messages to my computer.

DSC_0039 (800x525)

 

I have a mobile internet connection and therefore I also have a mobile phone number so I can connect to the net. Every now and again I get a text message on what I think is Bosnian. I usually translate the text with the help of Google and sometimes it’s a blessing because of a muslim holiday, sometimes it’s just a hello and best wishes. Even though I like getting messages I finally answered and told them they have the wrong number, I wrote in english since I thought most people would understand that.

 

DSC_0004 (536x800)

DSC_0005 (800x536)

DSC_0006 (536x800)

 

It took a minute or so and then I got a new message saying the text was in spanish and that they don’t understand that language🙂🙂 But Google helped me again, I translated it all to Croatian instead (The both languages are very close and Google doesn’t have Bosnian). It seems to have worked because I haven’t gotten any new messages🙂 I couldn’t but start thinking of who had sent these messages and to whom it should have reached. Especially since I found out that my grandfather on my father’s side came from the southern parts of former Yugoslavia.

 

DSC_0014 (800x525)

DSC_0016 (800x536)

DSC_0015 (800x536)

 

As most of You know I took a DNA test to see from where I descended since we thought we might be gypsies on my mother’s side and I had no idea from where my grandfather on my father’s side came from. Well as You know it turned out that I’m Russian on my mother’s side and Serbian/ Kosovar/ Macedonian on my father’s side🙂🙂🙂 (that Y-chromosome isn’t especially common even where it is as most common🙂 and since Yugoslavia back in 1936 was more or less Serbia I’m most likely a 1/4 Serbian) I have most likely cousin’s down there unless my father was the only child that man got.

 

DSC_0027 (800x536)

DSC_0033 (800x536)

DSC_0034 (800x536)

 

So I started to think if my Yugoslavian family perhaps was the ones behind those awful war crimes during the Balkan wars or if they hopefully was amongst those who were against it. I’ll never know since I have no idea what name my grandfather had (has? he would be very old though) and I don’t think it’s possible to find it out either since my father’s mother is dead since a couple of years and she refused to tell my father the mans name. Perhaps it’s best not to know, then I can imagine them to be the ones fighting against those war crimes🙂

 

DSC_0046 (800x536)

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “I get Bosnian text messages to my computer.

  1. hi christer! that is very interesting. i have no knowledge of any of my family since all of them died long ago. i would like to know where i came from though. joyce

    • Hi Joye!

      It is🙂 I know some of my family on my mother’s side but almost nothing on my father’s, except for the Yugoslavian bit🙂 and that’s just the DNA part. You can find out some via a DNA test, the origin of Your family anyway.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. that is really intriguing, it’s amazing you tracked your DNA like that, the wonders of sience, Its so hard to know whats the best thing, to find out or to imagine what we hope to be true.You seem like a nice kind man so it doesn’t seem likely you had bad family, doesn’t that sound naive of me, I laughed after I wrote it too but as you see I have left it, don’t worry about your past, we can’t help if our family made bad choices, its what you do now that counts,

    • Hi Laurie!

      I don’t believe in bad blood🙂 It’s all up to the individual. I will never be able to learn the name of my grandfather so I’ll keep on imagining that my Yugoslavian family belongs to the good guys🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer, these DNA tests can certainly cause mixed emotions. And none of us can hold responsibility for what ancestors did. I wonder if you might get texts from somewhere very far away, say, the Milky Way. Now that would make for some great blogging!!

    • Hi Robin!

      I’m thrilled about my Yugoslavian past and I can after all be either Kosovar or Macedonian too🙂 I’m so happy that I’m npot a dull Swede🙂

      I think Bosnia is far enough to be honest🙂 :-):-) But I will tell You if I got a message from outer space🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    My ancestors apparently married whoever they damned well pleased without regard to political or religious affiliations. They were on all sides of any conflict so, whatever happened, they did it to each other. I can’t change history and I must honor my ancestors for contributing to the person that I am even if some them did things or believed things that I would despise. I can’t hate some of them and revere others. They’re all part of me.
    My ancestors were on all sides in the American Revolution: Patriots, Loyalists, Native Americans who got screwed by patriots and loyalists. I often wondered which side I would have picked. Knowing myself, I think I would have been in the 1/3 of the population that just wanted it all to go away and not bother them.🙂 Have whatever kind of government you want just leave me the heck alone! Jeeze.😀😀😀
    You got a Bosnian text, answered it in English and got a reply that said it was in Spanish which you answered in Croatian? I’m shaking my head.🙂 Also, given the accuracy of Google Translate, I’m wondering what you really said in any of those languages.🙂
    Oh, the deer are back in my swamp today! There are at least 3 of them. I can see them from the laundry room door but they are too far away for my little camera to capture. Besides, they blend in very well. I’m happy they are back even though it means the coyotes will probably return as well. Now that I think about it, I haven’t seen any rabbits around so perhaps the coyotes are already here.
    Sunny, very windy and not as warm as yesterday but I’ll take it.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes they’re all a part in me and what’s done is done. But I was more thinking of the eventual relatives did during the Balkan wars. We will never know each other and perhaps they have no idea that they have relatives here in Sweden. That’s most likely since I doubt my grandfather told anyone about his Swedish son🙂🙂🙂 It would be sad if I could know them and realised they were awful🙂🙂🙂 But then again, they could be just the opposite too🙂

      I do wonder why she thought my text was written in Spanish? It might be the same number but mean to be sent to Spain? I think the Sweden number is 046, I’ll check what number Spain has. I do hope Google translated my short text right🙂🙂🙂 I might have been really nasty🙂🙂🙂

      I would like to see a coyote some time, we don’t have them over here so it’s quite unlikely🙂 I haven’t even seen one in a zoo anywhere only on tv.

      Storm last night but now it’s calm and the temperature is dropping like a stone.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Spännande!🙂 Det är kul att fantisera om såna här saker, så det är helt klart bra att du inte kan gå vidare. Oftast blir man ju då så besviken!!😦
    Jag har en kusin som släktforskat lite och på min mors sida (hennes fars) så fanns det en massa spännande historier, men på min fars sida är det garanterat urtråkigt. Om nån såg ut som en typisk nordisk man så var det han! Och hela hans släkt var väldans tråkiga och mycket seriösa!!😦 Men man vet ju aldrig….. *fniss*

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Fast de kan ju vara macedonier eller Kosovarer istället🙂 Men jag nöjer mig gott med mina fantasier🙂

      De flesta på min mors sida verkar ha varit antingen sjömän eller pigor, jag skall kolla vidare senare när andan faller på för det är ju så lätt numera när man kan göra det via internet.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. I sort of would like to do a DNA test just to see if what my Mother told me was true or not. She had a way of bending the truth until it appeared as she wanted it. She always said she was French and a little bit Swedish. But my Dad told me that her father was pure Swede. And her maiden name was Lind. So…anyway it would be interesting.
    My Dad said on his side that his mother was English and his Dad was German. Then he said there was a little bit of Pennsylvania Dutch thrown in the mix. He would never explain that part or what he meant by it.
    Now everyone has died, so I guess I will never really know.
    Oh well!

    • Hi Cindi!

      The DNA-test would show from where Your mother, her mother Your great grand mother and so on comes from, but it isn’t cheap I’m afraid. I’m glad I did it though, now I know I’m not a boring swede🙂🙂🙂 You could also start with genealogy, it’s so easy now days with the help of internt! But it takes lots of time but is verry funny🙂 The handwriting can be really bad in the old church books, I once read a man sat in prison because of a murder. Not true, I later found another text with much better handwriting, he was in the navy and had murdered no one🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

