A bit contradictory.

Tiny.

Tiny.

 

If the sky had been clear I would have seen that the moon won’t show at all tonight, it shows during the day at the moment. I got a question here if we ever can see the moon and the sun at the same time and that’s the fact and I’ve always thought it was the same all over the world, is it? But the sky is filled with clouds so it’s actually the same anyway, I won’t be able to see the moon tonight🙂

 

DSC_0001 (800x536)

DSC_0002 (800x536)

DSC_0004 (800x536)

 

I went out with the deer food as soon as we had been out on our walk after work today, the sun didn’t go down until 4:47 pm today so I even managed to take some photographs on our walk. Anyway, it didn’t take long until Tiny came but like yesterday Doris and Lotta came and chased her away. But she’s no fool, as soon as they had walked away she came back and ate some more🙂 We have around 15-20 cm with snow now (6-8 inches) and we’re having a nasty wind so I think I need to place some more food outside until the weather gets better.

 

DSC_0008 (800x536)

DSC_0011 (536x800)

DSC_0012 (800x536)

 

It’s a bit strange really, I don’t like winter at all and would probably love to live in a tropical climate but I love to watch winter sports on tv🙂 This weekend they show lots of ski championships so since it will be snowing a lot again I’ll probably park myself in front of the tv. I especially like Ski biathlon and that’s even more strange since I am a conscientious objector and refused to do my military service. I handed out post in the swedish “Pentagon” instead. Well I did start the military service but jumped of.

 

DSC_0013 (800x536)

DSC_0015 (536x800)

DSC_0019 (800x536)

 

The winter sort of demands cocoa and warm sandwiches today so that’s what I’ll have in a while, tomorrow I’ll make porridge of the food wheat (since that is what they made “finer” porridge from back in the days when we didn’t have rice here) and I’ll tell You what I think of it🙂

 

DSC_0021 (800x536)

DSC_0023 (800x536)

DSC_0024 (800x526)

 

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “A bit contradictory.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I have often seen the moon in the sky during the day. It seems to be most often when the moon is quarter moon or less. It’s probably the right angle of sun/moon that makes it happen. Once can also see the rising full moon and the setting sun in the sky at the same time. So, it’s not an unusual sight except, perhaps, for the many people who seem never to actually look up at the sky and are always surprised when they do.😀
    I have a friend who always says that her idea of winter sports is knitting with two colors. I think I agree.😀
    We are waiting for winter storm Nemo. Apparently the weather service has taken to naming northeasters now. (Please excuse my eye roll.) Everyone is posting pics of Nemo the fish. My nephew had a meltdown on Facebook and ranted long and profanely about it being CAPTAIN Nemo not the stupid fish Nemo. I think he needs a vacation. Working at the zoo in the winter cannot be much fun.
    It is snowing sideways now but there isn’t much on the ground. It’s wet, sticky snow, too. Oh joy.
    Time for lunch. I have snow emergency goodies like chocolate and pizza so I am ready.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I don’t think I’ve ever seen a full moon at the same time as the sun in the middle of the day, so I think You’re right about that. I guess You’re right about them getting surprised when actually looking at the sky🙂🙂🙂

      My favorite winter sprort is to watch sports on tv🙂

      It’s the Norwegians naming storms here and they are content with just naming the storms🙂🙂🙂 The newspapers on the other hand names anything🙂 Like the Russian cold, the Polish rain and the German heat🙂🙂🙂

      I sort of feel sorry for Your nephew🙂🙂🙂 and to be honest, how many pictures are there of Captain Nemo and how many would know who he is🙂🙂🙂

      No storm here so I’ll just make some pancakes tomorrow🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • In order to see the full moon and the sun in the sky at the same time you would have to plan ahead. You’d need to be somewhere that you could see both horizons so that you could see the full moon rising as the sun is setting. Then you sit quietly and watch the quality of the light change around you as the moon takes over from the sun. It’s cool.
        Considering that my nephew is only 20 it was surprising how many of his friends knew who Captain Nemo is. One even knew the title of the book.🙂

      • So I’ll have to go up on the mountain on the right day. I’ll keep my eyes open so I know when this might happen again.

        I have to be honest, I don’t think anyone of the twenty year old people I know ever have heard of captain Nemo🙂🙂🙂 So I’m impressed🙂
        Christer.

  2. hi christer. i think i have seen the moon and sun at the same time. this storm is huge! i have been watching it on tv all day. as much as i like the snow, this is a good one to miss because of the damage it will cause. everything is cancelled. they are lucky it is hitting on a weekend. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      So I was right, it is the same all over with the moon and sun🙂

      Som,e storms are best to avoid but I do hope You’ll get some snow anyway. I hope people are prepared if the power breaks! A camping stove is always good to have even if it doesn’t give any heat to mantion but at least one can make some warm soup.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. We are getting hit with snow, but not from the big blizzard, we live further inland. But I still laid in a lot of supplies and will snuggle down with kittens, books and movies. Dogs are sound asleep on the sofa. That biathalon is a strange sport, skiing and shooting. But I guess it breaks up the monotony of cross-country.
    It is always odd to see the moon during the day, especially in a bright blue sky. You have given me the idea to make pancakes tomorrow! with very good NY state maple syrup. Have a good warm-in-the-cottage weekend.

    • Hi Robin!

      I’ve just woken up and I’m trying to find some news about Your storm but there’s none. I do hope it isn’t too bad!
      But I did find the story about the Amish that cut the beards of other members when they didn’t do as they were told. I agree with the court, this was a hate crime and I think this was a needed warning to others that even in a rather closed religious congergation they just can’t do what ever they want!

      It is a strange sport🙂 It’s very big in Europe though. There are some gpod Americans and Canadians too but Norway (like in all skiing) is probably the best nation and has been for a long time.

      I see the moon during the day quite often here, perhaps the angle of the earth helps with that?

      Yes pancakes with maple syrup🙂 I think that will be my dinner today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Det är lika vitt hos er som det är hos oss! Nu börjar det bli segt, väldigt segt – jag vill att det ska vara vår nu för jag har massor av nya frascha idéer för trädgården.🙂
    Fast å andra sidan kanske det är tur att man har ett antal tråkiga veckor framför sig då man inte har så mycket att göra. Jag har nämligen idag blivit ombedd av Studieförbundet att hålla ett föredrag/bildvisning om trädgård på biblioteket i Hemse. Har redan bestämt temat och dom inledande orden – alltså presentation av mig själv och min trädgård – men det kommer ju till en massa bilder som jag också ska prata till. Dom ska alltså väljas bland mina tusentals…blir förmodligen ett mastodont jobb. Men ett kul sådant…..🙂🙂
    I morgon får Santos besök av en tvåårig strävhårig – kastrerad (!?) – hane vid namn Leo. Dom har träffats här en gång senthösten 2011 och då hade dom vansinnigt roligt. Sen blev det vinter och därefter följde allt strul med kisseriet och operationer, så sen dess har dom inte setts. Ska bli riktigt spännande att se vad dom två små “busarna” gör ute i snön!🙂🙂🙂
    Ha en skön helg!
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Nu har vi fått ännu mera snö men om jag fattarv det rätt skall det vara östkusten som drabbas hårdast igen. Ni kan få allt för jag känner inget behov av mera snö alls🙂

      Alltid roligt att hålla föredrag🙂 Då har du inget problem med fritiden att tag framöver🙂

      Så kul för Santos att det kommer en kompis. De får nog hur kul som helst🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

