Two new visitors today.

 

DSC_0002 (800x533)

I’ve spent most of the day sleeping watching ski biathlon or talking walks that took much longer time than usual because of the snow. Not that we’ve gotten moire than 20 cm (8 inches) but it’s that kind of fluffy snow that’s impossible to make snowballs from, it felt like I was walking in fluffy mud🙂 A northeastern wind, no matter how weak it was, made the walks rather nasty when not walking in the forest.

DSC_0007 (800x536)

DSC_0008 (800x536)

DSC_0009 (536x800)

I didn’t watch that much skiing either to be honest, I fell asleep most of the time🙂 I think the rather early mornings letting out Sune finally has taken its toll🙂 I think I’ll be awake all night after all this sleep🙂🙂🙂 It’s been snowing most of the day but it’s that kind of tiny flakes that can snow for ever and never looks to make the snow cover thicker anyway🙂

DSC_0011 (800x536)

DSC_0012 (800x536)

Ravens, we have lots of them here.

Ravens, we have lots of them here.

Talking about Tiny, she does come back by her self every morning and eats what’s left from the night. I got a bit surprised when I saw three deer coming to my garden at the same time this afternoon, They all went to a pile of food of their own and no one harassed anyone else. Finally I thought, they’ve realized that there’s food enough for them all. I didn’t wonder about the fact that Tiny had grown considerable during the night🙂

 

DSC_0021 (800x536)

DSC_0023 (800x536)

DSC_0025 (800x536)

 

It shows that a buck has started to follow Doris and Lotta so now I have four deer to feed🙂 I did give them more food than usual today so there should be enough for Tiny as well. I wonder why the buck decided to follow these ladies, it’s not the time for being jolly when it comes to deers. That doesn’t happen until July and I do wonder why they accept him and not Tiny? A son/ brother perhaps?

 

Suddenly this bird just swooped down from nowhere. It's very beautiful but I have no idea what it is called :-)

Suddenly this bird just swooped down from nowhere. It’s very beautiful but I have no idea what it is called🙂

it wanted something bigger than this House sparrow though.

it wanted something bigger than this House sparrow though.

But nothing as big as a Sune though :-)

But nothing as big as a Sune though🙂

 

I can’t tell You what the wheat porridge tastes yet, I’m making it while I’m writing this but I’ll let You know tomorrow. Smells very different though🙂 Later tonight it’s the second semi final (there’s four of them and an extra one for those not reaching the final in every semi final, it’s complicated things🙂🙂🙂 ) Last week a young man or very old boy (17 years old) called Yohio (click on the name and You’ll come to a Google site showing photo’s of how he looks) won a place at the big finale. He’s popular in Japan and his style is called Visual Kei. He’s a swedish boy who learned Japanese by himself when he was ten years old. I don’t know but my guess is that he must have been very bullied when growing up, that usually happens when a kid choses an unusual style.

 

The new kid on the block.

The new kid on the block.

Lotta.

Lotta.

Doris.

Doris.

 

The porridge is almost ready and I better try it before I fall asleep again🙂

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Two new visitors today.

  1. LOL, your phrase “it’s not the time of year to be jolly”!!! You better watch out or you are going to end up with a huge herd of deer; the word has gotten out about your deer buffet!! That hawk is gorgeous. We have a couple hanging around here and a lot of days the little birds hide. The hawks love the mourning doves, which is sad.
    Sune and his snow face is hilarious! Enjoy your naps and your porridge! It stopped snowing finally, but now the sun is shining and I have just become blinded by looking out the window. Take care, Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      I thought that would be an appropriate phrase to use🙂🙂
      I know my old neighbors had around ten of them before they moved but I don’t think we have that many left after this years hunting.

      I love all predator birds because of their look! This one was trying to catch a Black bird but missed.

      No sun here, it’s grey and cold this morning and I think it will snow some more.

      Have a great day in Your snowy world🙂
      Christer.

  2. Kul att “dina”rådjur har namn,men klart vänner ska ha ett namn.Kan fågeln vara en falk?Hundarna är söta som vanligt.Gröten får du behåller för dig själv,sorry gillar inte gröt något vidare.
    Ha en trevlig helg

    • Hejsan Renate!

      Tror jag att de skall ha namn🙂
      Det måste vara antingen en duvhök eller sparvhök, men enligt all litteratur skall sparvhöken ha flyttat söderöver nu, men samtidigt verkar den för liten för att vara en duvhök.
      Gröten var faktiskt inte dum alls🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!

      I don’t think any of the falcons we have here stays over winter, this is most likely a hawk. But it’s beautiful no matter what it is🙂

      There are limits to my hospitality, they can use the garage but that’s it🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I think it’s a Eurasian Sparrowhawk.
    Would a male deer start hanging around a female ahead of time in hopes of establishing friendly relations that might enhance his chances at scoring two females in July? Maybe three if you count Tiny?
    I wonder if deer give restaurant reviews. Maybe you have 4 hooves up for good grub and now Chez Christer is the place to be.😀😀😀
    We got a ton of snow overnight; about 2 feet with even deeper drifts. There is a ban on all but emergency travel so if you go out in your car, you can get arrested and sentenced to a year in jail. This probably explains why my plow guy hasn’t come yet. I had huge drifts up against all three of my doors this morning. I managed to clear the front door and the cellar door. I can’t open the side door and I can’t get to it from the outside either. It will have to stay that way until the thaw. I have had to shovel a couple of pee patios for Rocky. He’s short and can’t plow through the drifts. He tried to jump but sank in over his head a couple of times before giving it up.
    I was posting pictures of the storm in my neighborhood on Facebook. One of my friends in Texas commented that he would post pictures of his neighborhood, too, but his camera has trouble with warm and green. Grrr.🙂
    Enjoy your naps and the wheat porridge.

    • Hi Caryn!

      According to all literature the sparrowhawk wouldn’t be here right now but enjoying life further south🙂 I think it’s more likely to be a Norther Goshawk even if this one is slightly too small. No matter what, it is beautiful🙂

      I looked at Your photographs on Fb🙂 I’m glad we didn’t get that much snow at the same time🙂 Poor Rocky, he can’t have a chance moving around in that much snow.

      I liked that comment🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I was undecided between Northern Goshawk and Eurasian Sparrowhawk but thought it looked more like the Sparrowhawk. Couldn’t tell the size and the tail is hidden by the branches. The chest barring looked similar and the range map online said the sparrowhawk is a permanent resident in your area so I went with that. No matter. It’s beautiful.
        There are lots of redtail hawks around here. I also have seen one of the smaller hawks going after birds at my feeder. It flies too fast for me to see what it is except that it’s a grey and white streak in the air. Well that narrows it down.😀
        I still can’t get to my car or get my car out of my driveway. My plow service hasn’t shown up and I can’t shovel all that snow with my tiny snow shovel. I’m too old and decrepit.🙂🙂 And I don’t want to, anyway, which is why I hired someone.

      • It must be a Sparrow hawk because it’s so small but it should have moved south long ago. But there’s always those trying to stay every year, if they survive they’re the winners and can pick the best nesting place.

        I rarely see any predator birds but that say we have plenty of them here🙂 Yes grey and fast really narrows it down🙂🙂🙂

        I’m so happy that I only have a few yards to shovel🙂 and if I’m lucky the plow guy plows the spot I park when I’m at work🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  4. Hi Christer! How are you? You sound great, energetic🙂 and that sort of thing. Beautiful snow. I used to dream of living in a place like you live..sitting on a little porch near a forest, etc. but I think I will be contented with my rather city life..and accept that there will never, ever be a forest and little cottage in my life. Takes being born to it or having money to buy one and here they cost a fortune.🙂 I talked about it so much once that I think you expected to find an old lady on your front porch some morning. I’m a dreamer, I think. Patrick and I bought a sweet little motor home and traveled to different forested area’s and camped.
    I think your bird is one like I photographed on my front porch sitting on the back of my wicker chair. Same coloring even. Isn’t it some sort of Hawk? I’ve seen them tear a little sparrow to pieces in seconds.
    It’s neat how you have named the different deer and recognize each one.
    I had to run and take a picture yesterday when a bit of ice and snow fell on our patio and blanketed the back of my patio furniture. It was already beginning to melt when I remembered my camera.
    Have a cozy day, Christer.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m fine and I hope You are too!

      Snow is more beautiful and lovely in photographs than in real life🙂🙂🙂 No more snow at the moment but we’ll get it later in the week.
      I would have been pleasantly surprised if You had turned up here🙂🙂 No one finds this place even when they have gps or/and maps as help🙂🙂🙂

      So You got snow and ice🙂 Not bad for a place that has higher temperatures during winter than we have during summer🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Det låter som om du snart har en hel flock med rådjur att mata – i alla fall om vintern fortsätter att vara snöig och jobbig för dom!🙂
    Idag har Santos haft besök, det var LEO – en annan Podengo, fast en strävhårig på bara 2-år. Dom träffades när han var 9 månader och det gick bra och det gjorde det nu med. Dom for som galningar ute på tomten i snön – det ser precis ut lika jäkligt vitt som hos er – och när vi sen gick in för att fika så fortsatte dom inne. Leo – som är yngst och snabbast – sprang först hela tiden och så Santos efter. När dom blev alltför jobbiga så släppte vi ut dom ett tag och då såg man bara två streck som for förbi utanför fönstret. Dom hade vansinnigt roligt tror jag!🙂🙂 Gissa vem som sovit alldeles utmattad hela kvällen och nu har gått in och lagt sig i min säng!🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Så härligt för honom! Det är så bra när de får rasa ut ordentligt🙂 Det är därför jag alltid har minst två hundar, vi träffar så sällan några här ute i vildmarken. Jag kan tänka mig att Santos sov som en stock hela natten🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

