It was rather tasty.

DSC_0002 (800x517)

 

It has been one of those days when it has snowed all day but it really doesn’t show on the ground. The flakes weren’t especially big and they fell far apart. It’s just a waste of water really, that water would have done so much better use down in the Sahara desert🙂🙂🙂

 

DSC_0003 (800x536)

DSC_0004 (800x536)

DSC_0005 (800x536)

 

The Sparrow Hawk (it must be because of its size even if it shouldn’t be here during winter, but some always try to stay anyway) were more lucky today, it caught a House Sparrow I’m afraid and after that all little birds vanished from my garden. I know the hawk needs food too and my garden is filled with birds but does it have to take my sparrows🙂

 

DSC_0009 (800x531)

DSC_0011 (800x521)

DSC_0012 (800x536)

 

Doris, Lotta and the buck that I now call Rune came back during the day and ate what I’d left to them in the morning. when they had gone and I’ve placed some more food outside Tiny came and she had another small one with her. So now it seems I have five deers here🙂 I think I need to buy two sacks of food next time I go to that store🙂🙂

 

DSC_0014 (800x525)

DSC_0019 (800x536)

DSC_0022 (800x536)

 

I made the white porridge or wheat porridge yesterday and it was quite tasty but in a strange way🙂 It looked rather disgusting since the wheat kernels turned sort of grey🙂 but otherwise it was just fine and I will make it more times. But now I’ll make rosehip soup, have You ever eaten that? It’s one of my favorites a cold winters day. I haven’t picked any rosehips myself so today I’ll use powder, it may sound distasteful but it’s actually very good. Normally I have macaroons with it but I forgot to buy some last Friday.

 

DSC_0044 (800x536)

DSC_0053 (800x536)

DSC_0036 (800x536)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0063 (536x800)

18 thoughts on “It was rather tasty.

  1. hi christer! my gardens are like killing fields. since i live in the city, all of the birds have found my gardens. they like the ponds and all the trees. so, the ferel cats have found my gardens too. they hide in the bushes and get the birds when they come to the ponds. then teddy kills the ferel cats. it’s a vicious circle! since i will be planting gardens this summer i will be spending lots of time down below and i am hoping it helps keep the cats away! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      So far my garden has been rather far from being a killing field🙂 Teodor has taken the occasional bird and Bertil lots of mice and voles but that’s it. My dogs loves cats too so they are all welcome here by them but not my cats🙂🙂🙂

      I guess that if You’re going to be there a lot more most other not invited cats will stay away.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Vad var det jag sa (skrev)! Du skulle snart ha en hel flock med rådjur att mata – och det stämmer ju nu!!🙂
    Det är inget kul att se djur döda varandra, men så är det ju i naturen. Dom flesta – ja, nästan alla – gör det ju också bara för att själva kunna överleva. Fast trevligt att är det inte…..😦😦
    Jovisst sov Santos jättegott inatt, faktiskt även i morse. Han ville inte gå ut och kissa förrän klockan blev halv tio!🙂
    Jag har tänkt fråga dig tidigare men glömt det; Leker dina hundar ihop, eller är det som när man är hundvakt och dom busar dom första timmarna – efter det så leker dom nästan inte alls!? Folk jag känner såm har både katt och hund säger att dom leker bättre med med varandra än två hundar eller två katter – fast jag tror inte riktigt på det!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      🙂 så sant🙂

      Det är bara människan som dödar för nöjes skull, det går en myt att järvar gör det för nöjes skull men det är inte sant, den gräver ned mat för senare tillfälle när det är ont om det. Visst känns det trist när den tar mina gråsparvar men den skall ju leva också.

      Jodå, de leker med varandra hela tiden. Orvar och Hector är ju dock gamla så de hoppar bara in i leken ibland. Nova gillar att leka med Bertil och Sune med Teodor men då är det lugnare tag, katterna blir ilska om hundarna tar i för mycket🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. I didn’t realize that you can eat rosehips!
    Your porridge sounds like my oatmeal that turns a purply blue when I add blueberries.
    Sounds like your “family” just keeps growing!😀😀😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      Rosehips are delicious! Lots of vitamin C in them too. One can use any kind of rosehip too, none of them are poisouness but I don’t like those rosehips that turns black when ripe, not because of the taste but of the color🙂🙂

      That porridge sort of tasted somewhat like oatmeal but still not🙂 I liked it though🙂

      Yes it seems times are tough for small deers now. They don’t even run away when they hear me talk any more.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I have heard of rosehip tea, but not soup. I really can’t imagine what that would taste like. I know you are going to end up with big herd of deer!!!
    The hawk, so beautiful, but so deadly.
    Cute photo of :Sune at the end. He obviously loves the snow.

    • Hi Robin!

      Would You like me to send a package with rosehip soup? I would gladely do if You want to. It’s better than rosehip tea or jam🙂

      It seems to be a tough winter for the small deers so I guess I’ll have plenty here by the end of winter🙂

      So true! But I wish it could take some other birds than my house sparrows.

      He does love snow that dog🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    When you plant those thuja, the little sparrows will have someplace to hide. That’s where mine go when the hawk comes by. The hawk sometimes chases them into the thuja but I don’t think he has ever gotten one in there.
    Word is getting out among the deer that your place is the place to go for good eats.
    I’m finally plowed out completely. I managed to shovel my way to the car and clean it off. Everyone in my neighborhood is shoveling off their roofs. I don’t have that much snow on mine so I will give it a pass.
    It was sunny and almost warm today. I sat out on the front step with the dog and chatted with the neighbors for about an hour. It was nice.
    Rose hip soup sounds interesting. I have had rose hip tea and rose hip jelly but never soup. Lots of vitamin C in it.
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do hope so, I like my house sparrows🙂

      I think You’re right🙂 I didn’t think Doris and Lotta would be stupid enough to tell the others though, less for them in the end🙂🙂

      I’m glad You finally is plowed out🙂 It takes a lot of snow on the roof before it becomes a danger, my roof has managed a yard of snow without any problems. Sunny winter days can be the best of the year actually but we’ve had none of those so far.

      I could send You package with rosehip soup if You like, I love it and would gladely send some to You.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I would love to try the rose hip soup. I wonder now if I could use the vicious Japanese rose hips for jam or something. They’re so annoying that they should have something good about them. They’re very small, though.

      • Hi Caryn!

        I’ll get some for You tomorrow then🙂 I really hope You’ll like it🙂

        Those hips are triny🙂 The taste is probably just fine but the work to get enough🙂🙂🙂

        Christer.

  6. We too have a hawk that has been hanging in the trees near the feeders. It’s a sharpshin and I have shooed it away several times. And, like you, I do know that in the food chain, everything is something else’s dinner but also do not like it to happen in my backyard. A friend has also seen this hawk in her backyard and she many more feeders than we do. Nice snow shots; only lots of rain here, but famly in New England got the snow.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Yes they do need to eat those hawks too but can’t they take birds in another garden🙂🙂🙂 They are very beautiful though so I tend to forgive them🙂

      They sure did get a lot of snow in New England! I better not complain about the little we’ve gotten here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

