I don’t like morning surprises.

DSC_0001 (800x536)

 

I never like surprises in the morning, not even if they are good ones. I want my morning to stay calm and nice and much like every other morning in my life. Everything started out as it should but it was when I was going to work the surprise came. The oil lamp started blinking.

 

DSC_0005 (800x536)

DSC_0007 (800x536)

 

To be honest, I haven’t checked the oil for quite some time and I had to fill it every now and again a year ago or so but suddenly I didn’t have to so I just forgot about it🙂 But I knew I had a bottle of oil in my car so I thought no problems. I just reached behind the passenger seat and grabbed the bag with the bottle in it, or so I thought.

 

DSC_0021 (800x536)

DSC_0014 (800x536)

DSC_0020 (800x536)

 

That was when I got my second surprise. There was no full bottle with oil, there were two empty ones🙂 I really can’t drive to work with no oil in the engine and since I only had reached my mailbox I turned the car and drove home again. In my mind I could see how I had to walk 5 km ( 3 miles) to the bust stop. wait for the bus since it doesn’t go more than once every hour. Buy the oil and walk around in what ever town I got to waiting for the bus to go back homewards and then walk back home again. Perhaps good for my health but nothing I looked forward too🙂

 

DSC_0006 (800x536)

DSC_0007 (800x536)

 

I parked my car and for once I opened the garage door and there it was, the bottle stood by the window in the back of the garage🙂 So off to work I went again🙂 I wonder what my dogs were thinking when I returned just to go away again🙂 I better start checking that oil again even if i don’t think my car will drink it like an alcoholic🙂

 

DSC_0008 (800x536)

DSC_0010 (800x536)

 

Times must be really tough for deers now, they came running as soon as I had poured out the food on the ground. It was Doris and Lotta that arrived first and the buck came a few minutes later. They were worried because they were skittish the whole time they were here. Every single little sound they heard made them jump so I guess the lynx must be close now. They finished all the food this time, normally they just eat some and then walk away again, so I have already been out with more food for them.

 

DSC_0017 (800x517)

DSC_0028 (800x536)

 

It’s snowing again and I’m a bit tired of it now, well I’ve been tired of it since it started to be honest🙂 The fire is burning in the stove and I’m trying to decide whether I should have blueberry soup or rosehip soup tonight. I love them booth but since I just can’t remember to buy macaroons I think it’ll be blueberry this night🙂

 

DSC_0031 (536x800)

DSC_0033 (800x536)

 

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “I don’t like morning surprises.

  1. Hi Christer,
    It looks like you are tired of blue photos, too.😀 They look really good in black and white, though. I kind of like black and white a lot. I’m not Ansel Adams so I don’t do it very often because I hate to disappoint myself.🙂

    Does rose hip soup require macaroons?

    My last Jeep had the oil binge habit. I used to keep several bottles of oil in the back because it needed a hit every couple of weeks. Towards the end the poor thing was practically hemorrhaging oil. It had over 250,000 miles on the odometer so I couldn’t really fault it.
    Good thing you found the can of oil. A walk like that on a winter morning just for oil would be most unpleasant. I’d be calling Triple A or a tow truck.

    Sunny and warm here today. Much melting going on right now but there’s more snow in forecast.

    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi caryn!

      yes I am tired of the blue light but there isn’t a single black and white photo in today’s post🙂🙂🙂 This is how it looks here now, all dark colors look almost black.

      No it doesn’t but many of us love macaroons together with rosehip soup🙂 Well I love macaroons any dau with or without soup🙂🙂🙂 I have a package rosehip soup here for You, I’ll send it to You at the end of the week.

      This didn’t drink a lot of oild before so I do hope it doesn’t start with that now. My car has only been around for 167700 miles give or take a couple of miles🙂 I really didn’t look forward to walk around all day so I was so happy when I found the oil🙂 But I wonder why I put the empty bottles in the car and the full one in the garage🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Fooled my monitor.🙂 The two photos before the red barn at the bottom have absolutely no color in them. Black and white all over. No hint of blue in the sky, no hint of green in the conifers. Only shades of grey. The red barn photo does show a faint hint of green in the conifers.

  2. Aggravating start to the day. Glad you didn’t have to do all that walking and bussing and walking again.
    I feel bad for the deer with their worrisome ways concerning the lynx.
    I can’t imagine blueberry soup. Do you eat it hot or cold? how do you make it?
    We had snow this morning and now it is going up to about 35 degrees F. cloudy, chilly wind. typical February. Typical tired of it.

    • Hi Robin!

      I really don’t like to be surprised like that especially not when itä’s cold and winter🙂 Everything is so much easier in the summer🙂

      Thankfully I’m not the only one feeding theese deers🙂 They walk between three different homes🙂 I give them deer food, one neighbor gives them apples and hay and the third one give them silage. So the five ones walking bewteen our homes will survive this winter unless the lynx takes them.

      One can have it either way but I prefer both bluberry soup and rosehip soup warm. I posted a recipe for blueberry soup when You had a busy time and couldn’t visit. I can post it again if You like too (I don’t have it in my heads otherwise I would have written it down now🙂 Today I used powdered soup wich taste really good).

      I was tired of this weather before it even came close🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. sounds like a frustrating morning, I’m so glad you feed the deer, I know ther are mixed opinions on feeding the wild but we have always felt it was the right thing to do.That blueberry soup sounds intriguing, I will google it, I collect rosehips for jelly but i have not had the soup, I’ll google that too! have a good day,

    • Hi Laurie!

      Most people here think we should feed the animals during winter but we rarely feed them during summer unless it’s hedgehogs of course🙂 We stop feeding the birds when spring arrives so they eat as many of the plant pests as possible🙂

      I love both soups and they are perfect hot during cold winter days.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. The oil issue sounds like a bad way to start your day. In a few minutes you went from the dread of thinking you would have to make an epic adventure by bus to get some oil to that wonderful sense of relief when you found the bottle in the garage. Make sure you stock up before you forget & get stuck again with nothing in reserve. I have to make lists for everything I need to do these days and have even resorted to putting Post-It sticky notes on my front door so I cannot forget things to do before going out the door. Somehow I still manage to not see the note.All those years of multitasking have drained my brain for good.
    I really enjoyed the photos you have posted lately, The ones with the red house or barn in contrast with the stark white snow are particularly appealing to me. The deer must be having a hard time finding adequate food as Winter drags on. It is good that Tiny is a bit braver and getting to eat her share. I laugh thinking that you might end up with a heard of deer in your yard because the first three deer are telling every deer they come across that you are a good source of food.
    I think you mentioned last week that you watched Grim. The show films all the episodes here where I live in Portland. Most of the cast lives here half the year and you can often see the film crew out around the city & forests shooting episodes. It has been a boost to Portlands’ tourism & economy. They also hire almost all locals for extras and film crew so it creates extra jobs that are needed in this poor economy. I will be intrested to see what President Obama has to say in the State of the Union speech that will be on TV tonight. Things do seem to be improving,
    The blueberry soup sounds delicious. My sister owns a blueberry farm and so my freezer is full of them. The sister who owns the farm hates blueberries, but everyone else loves getting them free for the picking.
    Have a wonderful day.

    • Hi Ellen!

      How I wish I lived in Portland fright now🙂 Grimm is the only thing I watched regularely on tv but then someone got the idea to show it on Sundays at 10pm!! The rerun is shown on Monday morning at five am!! So now I’ll buy it instead🙂 I do miss that show a lot and how great to be an extra, prehaps a body🙂 in one of those episodes🙂🙂🙂

      I still have half the bottle left but I will buy a new one on Friday as latest. I’ll check if it has drunken any more oil tomorrow afternoon, it’s just to darm here in the morning. I do write notes but the problem is that I always forget tom read them🙂🙂🙂

      These deers walk between three homes and we all feed them in one way or the other. I give them deer food, one neighbor give them apples and hay and the third gives them silage. But it still looks as if they are really hungry, the nights are really cold so I guess that takes a lot of energy.

      I’ll read about Obama’s speach tomorrow, I’m interested in American politics perhaps even more than Swedish🙂

      I’ve bought several bluberry bushes these last two years but they are still rather small but gives rather many berries. It’s not our native ones but what we call American bluberries. The bushes are much higher and the berries nuch bigger but less sweet than ours. Ours are also blue all the way in to the middle🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! i lecture my kids all the time about making sure they don’t run out of oil. a cracked block kills the car. i hope the lynx stays away from your deer. it got a bit colder here but it still feels like spring. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I did have oil, just not in the car🙂 As You say a cracked block and it’s good bye to the car.

      Awfully cold nights but rather warm and nice during the day, strange. this lynx has actually taken deers in gardens here so I understand if they are skitty when it is around. But at least Doris and Tiny is here now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Såna där små “överraskningar” vill man helt klart aldrig vara med om!😦 Fast det kanske egentligen inte var så mycket överraskning, eftersom det hänt tidigare!? *fniss*
    Det är konstigt men en del saker har man en viss förmåga att “glömma bort” eller helt enkelt bortse ifrån. Speciellt om det inbegriper både jobb och kostnader. Fast ibland kanske det är lika skönt det…..🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Inte trevligt alls! Fast det var över ett år sedan den drack någon olja senast så jag hade fullständigt glömt av det🙂

      Jobb och kioóstnader har tyvärr en förmåga att bränna sig fast i minnet hos mig, det är de roliga sakerna som kan försvinna helt här🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, surprises of the automotive kind are never good early in the morning and on a snowy and cold morning they are much worse. Glad you found the full bottle of oil and suppose you will keep one in the car now as well? We enjoy blueberries too but more so in jams, jellies, and muffins. Grenville is not a fan of coconut so no macaroons served here.

    • Hi beatreice!

      No especially since I must have a funktioning car when living here! I wouldn’t have mind that much in the summer though🙂🙂🙂

      I love blueberries but the nacaroons I mean are made from almond and they are delicious🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Christer,
    It sounds like rain here right now as everything is melting. We had a couple of inches more of snow last night, and now that is melting while the stuff in the road is slush. It will get cold again tonight, and we’ll have black ice. Knowing me, I’ll have to walking gingerly tomorrow.

    I have never been so cold in a house before as i was on Monday. Your snow pictures look so dark and cold they remind me of that.

    Stay warm and cozy. Enjoy that soup.

    • Hi Kat!

      Nasty cold nights and rather warmish days here and it’s still long to spring I’m afraid. So far no black ice though and I won’t complain about that🙂🙂

      It’s amazing how cold it gets indoors when the power breaks! It actually feels warmer outside even if it is colder🙂

      The fire is burning in the stove as soon as I get home after work🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. car stuff drives me completely insane.
    My van is still under warranty so I have to take it in for regular oil changes and tune-ups or whatever.
    As long as i do that, they honor the warranty for things going wrong.
    so I let them fill up the oil thing.
    I hate to think about when the time comes when the warranty expires.
    I assume the van will promptly die.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Long time since my little Mazda had any warranty🙂 but it still works pretty well🙂

      Car surprises should only happen during summer when everything is so much easier🙂 I can take anything during summer🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

