I really don’t like winter!

DSC_0001 (800x536)

 

The snow has been pouring down most of the day here. I don’t think  that snow and pouring is used together especially often but it was so much rain mixed in to it that pouring sort of fits🙂 But the day started even better, thick fog and icy roads🙂

 

DSC_0006 (800x536)

DSC_0008 (800x536)

DSC_0011 (800x534)

 

I didn’t know where I was a couple of times or where on the road I was either, I was mostly on the right side of the road but I’m pretty sure I was on the left too a couple of times🙂🙂🙂 A couple of times drivers passed me in high speed just to slow down quickly as soon as they were ahead of me on the road. It was fun to see how surprised they got when they realised that I didn’t drive to slow. It’s so much easier to follow another car in the mist🙂🙂

 

DSC_0015 (800x536)

DSC_0017 (800x536)

DSC_0018 (536x800)

 

The fog was gone by the time I drove homewards but the snow fell instead and the wing gusts were nasty. The ice on the road hadn’t melted during the day and on top of that there was a thick layer of slush. The tires didn’t get a grip anywhere and some gusts were so hard that it made my car slide to the side of the road. I can’t say it was a boring ride home, that’s for sure🙂 Tonight it all will freeze so I guess I’ll have as much fun driving to work tomorrow morning🙂

 

DSC_0020 (800x536)

DSC_0022 (800x536)

DSC_0025 (800x536)

 

I think that Lotta might be back again🙂 It was a bit too dark to be sure but I’m pretty sure it was her I saw. So I’ll go out in a while and pour out some more food, life is always worth celebrating🙂 The fire is of course burning in the stove and as always I have a cup of tea by my side. I’m already dreading the drive to work tomorrow.

Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “I really don’t like winter!

  1. Låter som om ni haft ett riktigt skitväder idag;) Vi hade dimma också i morse men sedan har det regnat hela dagen. Hoppas att det inte blir för jobbigt för dig att åka till jobbet i morgon! Vad roligt om Lotta har klarat sig (om det nu är hon) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Det mesta slapp jag ju att märka, men det räckte gott och väl med att köra till och från jobbet🙂🙂

      Jag kommer att köra väldigt lugnt kan jag säga🙂 Det kanske kommmer att ta sin tid men fram skall jag🙂

      Jag hoppas också att det är Lotta, hon har ju blivit en del av familjen nu🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I like the photo of the shaggy ponies looking back at you.
    It would be great if it was Lotte that you saw and to now that they are all back in the fold and safe. Hope so.
    Sounds like a crappy ride to and from work for you. I’m so glad I’m retired and don’t have to go out in the mess unless I want to. The storm we had yesterday was not so much snow but a lot of wind. At some point late in the day the snow stopped falling but I couldn’t really tell because the wind was blowing so much of the fallen snow around that it looked like a blizzard was still going on. Now it’s sunny but very windy and cold. The sun is melting the snow off the roof and walkways so that’s good. I have snow melt pellets out on the driveway and walks so it won’t turn to ice again. I want SPRING!🙂
    Enjoy the rest of the day and be careful driving.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I oiked that one too.

      It was Lotta🙂 She tried desperately to chase away any other deer in my garden today but failed🙂 Something must have happened to her to loose that much strength, she had no such problems before.

      The slush is now frozen and they say we might get a clear night so the crust will be hard enough for me to walk on again🙂 Death for deers but easier walks for me🙂
      I keep wishing for an early spring but I’m afraid it’s no use🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I was wondering how far you have to drive to work, safe journey tomorrow, same weather here, yukky!The water out front has opened a bit with the strong winds, thats a promising sight anyway,

    • Hi Laurie!

      Around 32 km. the birds way is much shorter though, perhaps 10 km.

      The roads were awful and they kept on reporting car accidents all way to work.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! the bug slayer! haha! we are in for some of the same tomorrow. first it will rain and be warm but then quickly it will drop and snow will arrive. i am sure we are in for ice too. why would this winter be good for stink bugs? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!🙂🙂🙂

      Lots of ice on the roads today and lots of car accidents reported on the radio. The biggest problem I had was that my tiny wheels got stuck in the frosen tracks made in the slush, I really had no idea where I might end up sometimes🙂🙂🙂

      This winter You’ve had is great for the stink bugs I’m afraid. Short and warm and most of them will have survived even if they found crappy places to spend winter. Your best hope is for a week of nbasty cold weather so most of them die.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hello Christer – I was happy to learn that you, the Slayer, as well as Joyce are continuing to battle against the DAMN STINK BUGS. I have begun to think of them as the Godzilla of pests and cannot believe that they are not on the World leaders adgenda as a top priority to irradicate. I have tired to spread word of their spread & destruction – so when the World is overtaken by them I can say ” I told you so”. Thanks for the tip that Joyce posted today. I will mix up a batch of the spray later today.
    I was happy to see that you are missing only Lotta as of today. I will be optimistic and still hopeful about her return for a while longer. That crap combination of rain & snow is what we call sleet. I do not envy your having to drive in that.
    Those cows in your photos today look like they are asking you if their plane tickets for Hawaii have arrived in the mail yet? That where I wish I was today, dont you? Talk with you later Slayer
    Ellen

    • Hi Ellen!

      I don’t need to fight stink bugs here, the relatives to it that we have is relatively harmless. Thankfully this difficult growing zone that I live in kills most pests, the only good thing with that zone really🙂🙂🙂 But all animals will soner or later become resistant towards pestesides but no living thing survives suffocation, not even stink bugs🙂

      Just remember 9/10th water and 1/10th soap and add a litrtle alchohol to it so it spreads easier and covers the ENTIRE! bug. If a tiny piece of the bug isn’t covered it will still have a chanse to survive and produce more bugs.
      It’s always nice to be able to say I told You so🙂🙂🙂

      Lotta is back🙂 She came and ate in my garden just half an hour ago. But she’s weaker, normally she can chase away any other deers from the food but not so today but at least she’s aliwe🙂

      I think I would like to go somewhere closer though, like the Canary Islands🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    I am sick and tired of winter too. The weekend might bring more snow. If it does, I’m going to run screaming up and down the street. They’ll all point at the mad woman.

    Your snow pictures have narrow roads and animals so they don’t look much like mine, but the snow is the same.

    It is supposed to be warm tomorrow but warm is relative this time of year! I have to go out so I’m hoping it will be pleasant!

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes bring us sunshine and warm winds and fast too🙂 It snows a little almost all the time here now but I can’t see that we get anything on the ground and I’m not complaining about that🙂

      I’ll come over and run screaming with You🙂 It’s so much easier to be mad if one isn’t allone🙂🙂🙂

      It will get colder here again and I really can’t complain. It is after all ponly February still.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Here I was going to share with you that we had a BIG storm on the way…and that the snow would be down to about a thousand feet and that’s LOW for us. AND then I saw YOUR storm..and the snow at Joyces..
    We won’t get any snow, just a good drenching it seems. So…I will have to visit yours and Joyce’s snow. Extremely heavy SIGH here!

    My friend in Iowa is expecting two feet of snow tonight…What the heck?? Winter is really fooling with some folks.
    Joyce’s snow is pretty and so is yours..but some folks are drowning in the stuff.
    I went out and checked my flowers in front. Tomorrow I’m am going to take some pictures before the rains come.
    I trimmed my rose arbor today..and it has some sort of white stuff…thick..all down the stalks of the roses. Do you think a good dousing of dish soap and water would do it? I hear you know how to kill “stink bugs”…ours in California don’t look like hers..ours are a shiny black beetle of good size and they stick their behinds in the air if you bother them. Nasty creatures!
    I don’t have a single one..I think they lived closer to the ocean..and further south.🙂 Lucky me.

    • Sorry to see that you are still getting lots of snow and ice. I’d be happy to send you some of the good weather from Texas, but I don’t want to spoil you!

      Just keep thinking that Spring isn’t that far off!

      • Hi Jim!

        And I’m afraid it will continue like this for quite some time. Mars can be a nasty month and I remember some years when we still had snow in May!

        It would be nice if You could send some of it over here🙂

        I do hope for an early spring, late Mars perhaps🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

    • Hi Mona!
      🙂🙂🙂 But I bet the mountains will look fantastic!

      Two feet is an awful lot! Thank god we don’t get that here🙂 But we can have snowstorms in late Mars so it’s not over yet.

      It sounds as if Your roses have gotten some kind of mildew. I don’t think soap alone will help but it might help if You add some baking soda in the solution, Mildew usually don’t like that. If You’re successful killing it all places that had it will look rather sad and sort of blackishdirty if You understand what I mean🙂

      Our relatives to the stink bug is rather harmless so noo need to kill them here, we call them Berry Farts🙂 No animal survives suffocation and that’s what the soap solution does to the bug. Works on all insects actually.
      Yes Lucky You🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. glad to read in the comments that Lotta is back🙂
    I guess the horses are so woolly so that they can tolerate the weather.
    second to last photo, is that your house and your neighbors to the right? are you that close to one another?
    I’m just trying to picture it all in my head.
    I hate when people follow closely behind me, in good or bad weather but I kinda laugh when they speed up, only to find that they have to slow down again. Today is Thursday afternoon as I write this and our forecast is that at least 8 inches of snow is on the way. Hopefully it will hold out and not start until I am safely home from work.

    • Hi Cindi!

      Yes Lotta is back🙂 But she is hungry and stays much longer than the others.

      Those horses usually tries to refuse going in no matter what weather we’re having🙂

      No, no photo of my and my closest neighbors cottages in this post but I do have a very close neighbor and thankfully he’s the best one can have🙂 Otherwise there’s about 150-200 yards to the other neighbors here. Thankfully those are also the best one can have🙂

      I can’t but smile when they pass me in a high speed just to realise that it’s impossible to drive that fast🙂🙂🙂

      No more snow here thankfully and I do hope You won’t get that much of it!
      Drive carefully!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

