The moon is more important than one might think.

DSC_0002 (800x532)

 

I woke up at 2 am this night and the first thing I was thinking was please good lord, don’t let it be morning yet because I’m so tired it hurts🙂🙂🙂 All the dogs woke up too since I did so I dragged me up from bed and let them out for a minute or so. After that it was impossible to fall asleep again. Well I must have but it didn’t feel like it🙂

 

On their way home to me.

On their way home to me.

DSC_0005 (532x800)

 

Nothing was fixed when I came to the neighbor factory to work but a little hint about me going back got them started🙂 It’s still a mess in there but I’ll clean it up next week when I’ll go there again. I was lucky with the weather once again and was in no hurry to get back to my usual work place🙂

 

DSC_0006 (532x800)

DSC_0012 (800x532)

 

Have You ever been thinking about how important the moon is for this planet? I have to admit that I haven’t, not until I learned something about it. Do You know that the moon is leaving us with around 3 cm (1,2 inches) every year? It has almost since it was created in a big collision between the earth and a planet in the size of todays Mars. The full moon was really something to look at in the beginning because the moon was so close that it looked gigantic in the sky.

 

DSC_0011 (800x532)

DSC_0010 (800x532)

 

Just because the moon was as close as it was the day didn’t have 24 hours, it had around 21! The closer the moon is to the earth the faster the earth spins. That means that in lots of millions years the day will have 25 hours instead, thankfully I’m long gone by then🙂 The high and low tides were very different as well back when the dinosaurs lived, the high tide went far up on land and the low one showed miles of the ocean floor. It would be hard to have a cottage by the ocean back then🙂

 

I saw three deers leaving my garden and thought it was Rune, Doris and Lotta so I called on them. The deers ran like crazy and it wasn't until I looked at the next photograph that I realised it wasn't my deers but the new ones showing up yesterday :-)

I saw three deers leaving my garden and thought it was Rune, Doris and Lotta so I called on them. The deers ran like crazy and it wasn’t until I looked at the next photograph that I realised it wasn’t my deers but the new ones showing up yesterday🙂

Long antlers means not Rune :-)

Long antlers means not Rune🙂

 

Many believe that it will be the sun that finally destroys life on earth but it will most likely have to do with the moon. When it finally leaves us the earth will tilt almost 90 degrees instead of the 23 degrees it does now. That will make winter at todays Antarctica look like summer temps and it will last for a much longer period that it does now. Summer on the other hand will be so hot that todays Death Valley in the summer will look rather pleasant. Life will have huge problems adapting to a variation like that.

 

Doris was the one coming first today.

Doris was the one coming first today.

But she couldn't just jump in to the garden, she had to take a long detour to jump in on the right side :-)

But she couldn’t just jump in to the garden, she had to take a long detour to jump in on the right side🙂

 

But I guess we humans will have done our best to wipe out life long before that anyway🙂 But if not I think that even this village at the outskirts of the world where nothing ever happens will feel the effects of that climate change🙂

DSC_0027 (800x532)

DSC_0029 (800x531)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0020 (800x532)

6 thoughts on “The moon is more important than one might think.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I was reading the last post about the big antler buck being aggressive and the hunters wanting to shoot him. It made me wonder if they can shoot deer that are in or near your property or is there some kind of town law that forbids the discharge of weapons within a certain distance of houses? Those other three deer are going to get used to you and your property quickly enough. I’d hate to think the habit of visiting you would be a danger to them in hunting season. As it is, the path they use to get there will be plain enough to hunters.

    The moon is very important indeed. The thought is that there might not be life on the planet if we didn’t have the moon that we have. I don’t know about that. Life seems able to evolve to fit the circumstances assuming there is any chance for life at all.
    It’s interesting that the magnitude 9.0 earthquake that caused the Sumatran tsunami in 2004 actually slowed the earth’s rotation by a tiny bit. I think that keeps the moon closer for a little longer. I’m not worried.🙂

    I was also noticing that your deer all have cute upturned noses. The ones in my yard don’t. They are very stern-looking deer.

    It’s dark, damp and dreary over here. Again. Today is meteorological spring, whatever that is, so there should be some spring-type weather outside. It should be a law.🙂🙂🙂
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      No they can’t shoot it in my garden and they are not allowed to shoot near homes either. They are safe as long as they stay in my garden or close to any of the houses nearby. I think the distance to homes are quite long actually so as long as they walk in this part of the village there’s just to many homes too close to allow hunting.

      I can’t say I’m worried either🙂 But it would have been cool to see that giant full moon millions of years back🙂 Just imagine how big it must have looked!

      Different species of deer I guess, the bigger ones looks much more serious🙂

      I think the meteorological spring is when the average temperature during an entire week never falls below 32F and personally I think it never should be any colder than that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

