Water and sewer seems to bring out the worst in people :-)

DSC_0003 (800x513)

The day has been pretty nice despite the fact that it snowed early in the morning and that we’ve had a strong wind all day. But some geese were flying towards the lake when we were out on our morning walk and my heart jumped a bit when I heard them passing๐Ÿ™‚ I know it’s way to early for spring up here but still, it was rather nice to see them๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0004 (800x532)

DSC_0005 (800x532)

 

A rather aggressive lady came knocking on my door today, well she wasn’t aggressive at the beginning but became so when I told her I didn’t want municipal water and sewer๐Ÿ™‚ I told her that it just was too expensive and if I ever want to be able to renovate my cottage in the future I really couldn’t afford that. She told me that an economic association would take the loan and that I could pay to the association every month and I told her that I still would have to pay too much. I doubt that the association would say that it was fine that I didn’t pay if I couldn’t afford it๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0007 (800x532)

DSC_0010 (800x531)

 

I could of course just pay so that they place a pipe in to my garden so that who ever lives here in the future could connect if they wanted too. That would only cost me 1000 swedish kronor every month (that would be around $ 140/ month). Well how fun is it to pay for something I won’t use? AND that would be the price only if every house would be connected to the system. I know that several don’t want to connect so that amount is just nonsense, already now๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0012 (800x532)

DSC_0015 (800x532)

 

I don’t want to say that those that want this have lied about what people wants in the village, but they sure haven’t told the truth either๐Ÿ™‚ So it will be interesting to go to the information meeting next week. I have already written down several questions I want to ask, like what interest have they made the calculations on? The ones we have today that are so low we rarely will have something like that again๐Ÿ™‚ We need two huge pumps that will pump back the sewer over the next highest mountain on the county, who will take care of those and what will it cost? I doubt they’ll do it for free and is that also calculated in those 1000? The meeting will be interesting๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0018 (800x532)

DSC_0025 (800x530)

 

But there’s no use in getting annoyed already now, the time is better spent to think of questions to ask next Thursday. The fire is burning in the stove and my home is warm and nice. Time for a cup of cocoa I think๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0031 (800x532)

DSC_0036 (800x531)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0038 (800x532)

DSC_0039 (800x531)

12 thoughts on “Water and sewer seems to bring out the worst in people :-)

  1. that would make me so nervous. these types of people make all kinds of promises up front. you have to be so careful with them. we got more snow and a big one might be coming our way on tuesday!

    • Hi Joyce!
      I don’t trust them for a second and I will most likely not sign up for this and I know others won’t either.

      I hope You’ll get snow if You want it๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    If people have lousy water and problem sewerage, yes, they will get nasty. It’s awful to live with a system that doesn’t work. When I was a kid this house I live in now had a cess pool in the back yard. It worked fine most of its life but eventually the water table got higher and it had a partial collapse of a wall so it couldn’t hold as much as before. The bathtub had to be emptied a little at a time or the cess pool would overflow. I remember standing in the bathroom, looking out the window and watching the steel cover rise up as the stuff in the cess pool started to overflow. And it smelled. Many houses in the neighborhood had cess pools and also had the same problem. It was a common smell around here in the 50’s and early 60’s.๐Ÿ™‚ My parents had to have the cess pool pumped out 2 or 3 times a year and that was expensive. And did I say smelly?๐Ÿ™‚
    Town water and sewer is wonderful. I’ve lived with outhouses and hand pumped wells and those are okay for a short time. Give me town water and sewer for the long haul.๐Ÿ™‚

    If town water and sewer comes to your village, will you have to pay for the pipes that go by your property? In my town the homeowner was assessed for the cost of the lines that went along his property even though he wasn’t connecting. My father waited for several years before he connected to the town water and sewer and by then the cost was much more than it would have been if he had done it while the town was installing it.

    I love that next to the last photo but I don’t know why. Maybe because there is green in it and I would like some hint of spring. Geese don’t work here because they are always around.๐Ÿ™‚
    Enjoy the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Most people have no problem with the sewers here, it’s the water they want. We have different kinds of system for the sewer here and I have a closed septic tank. We all get our different systems emptied once a year whether we want it or not๐Ÿ™‚ and it isn’t especially expensive to be honest.

      But I’m pretty sure that they would have met less resistance if they had been friendly from the beginning and even further if they hadn’t started lying๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Nothing is as useless as being aggressive and lying towards someone that doesn’t know how to do๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ The price they mention now is probably $ 7000 too low per household. They know this but really just don’t want to talk about it๐Ÿ™‚

      If the systems comes to the village but don’t want to connect but still want the ones coming after me (hopefully I’ll live here until I die) it will cost me 12000 kronor (around $ 1700) per year and I will most likely have to pay for any problem that costs money even if I don’t use the system. If I want to connect I will have to pay for the part the pipes goes through my property and the 1700 every year plus what ever the cost of the water and sewer is. But I’ll know much better after the meeting next week and I’ll tell You all what we learned.

      No geese here all winter๐Ÿ™‚ But there’s always some that comes way to early, like these did๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Lying often gets you something but being nasty when you lie is counterproductive.:)

        You would have to pay 12000 kroner a year for what? For a pipe that comes from the street to your house but isn’t connected?
        Here’s another question you should ask: if the neighbors on either side of you want town water, the pipe that goes under the street will have to pass your property to get to the guy on the farther side. Will you have to pay for that section of pipe that goes by your house even if you don’t have a supply line brought from it to your property? Here you would have to pay for it but it would be a one-time cost and you would not be solely responsible for any subsequent problems. Money from local taxes is budgeted for that.

      • Hi Caryn!

        So true!

        Yes according to them I would have to?! If I want the connection so that they can connect later on if someone would want to. If I don’t care about that it would of course cost me nothing. But I still think it’s odd that I would have to pay that much every month to get nothing! This could be yet another lie, like if I should have to pay that much perhaps it’s best to connect now anyway.

        I won’t have to pay for anything outside my property if I don’t want to connect now or later on, thankfully๐Ÿ™‚ Since this is a request from this village and not the county we will have to pay for any future problem with the pipes and pumps. It would have been better if it was the county that wanted this, then lots of the costs we’ll have now wouldn’t be at all. The county would have taken almost all of the costs and future problems with pipes and pumps.

  3. I can not stand it when people come to the front door trying to sell something, or canvassing, etc. Stick to your guns and don’t let them get to you. Good luck at that meeting.
    I love the photo of Nova and Sune; they look like they are dancing!!

    • Hi Robin!

      Long time since I had someone trying to sell me anything by the door but people like this isn’t better. They could just have put the little note they gave me in my mailbox but they do try to intimidate people to do as they wish!

      Those two always have so much fun๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. This little town we live in here in VA also does not have municipal water and swered, which was a big change from the towns where I lived in nj. Most homes have a well and septic tank. The tank is pumped depending on usage of how many people live in the home. Recommended pump-outs are 3-5 years and the cost is now about $500. We are only 2 living here now so can seem to go a bit longer. The well is older and if it has to be replaced would likely cost about $5,000 so we are hoping not to have that expense before we relocate.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      We don’t have those huge septic tanks that You have and we must empty them every year. But it is fairly cheap, around $50.

      The well I sahre with a neighbor is deep drilled so we won’t have to do anything with it for ages I hope๐Ÿ™‚

      I do hope You can move before You have to do anything about Your well!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. well, I finally got all the posts read. I’m so far behind. I also read tomorrows post but decided to leave my comment on this one to say that I LOVE that photo of Teodor and pinned it to my Pinterest. It’s pretty late so I’m just going to leave the one comment here. I’m glad I didn’t know about that tire! In this case it’s best not to know until afterwards I guess.๐Ÿ™‚ I love that you have a deer family now.
    I am so sorry that you are having to deal with this sewer pipe thing. I think I understand what you are talking about. I of course live in the middle of town so I don’t have a well or a septic tank thing. At least I don’t think i have a septic tank?!?! As far as you having to pay so much more per month, I really feel bad for you. If that happened to me, I’d be in real trouble seeings how I live paycheck to paycheck and some times not even that. Good Luck and hopefully you will get some honest answers and they will be what you want to hear.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!

      So You have already read the post I’m about to write right now๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚ Was it any good or should I just quit writing it๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

      The deer family is getting so big though, I think that at least 10 deers comes here now and I wonder if there’s food for everyone?

      I don’t like the way they try to force people to sign for this with half trues and preassure. I don’t have to sign for this and I don’t think I will, it’s insane how much they want us to pay fir this!!! I’ll go to the meetinmg and I’ll ask lots of questions that I doubt they can answer. I’m pretty sure the price will be even higher than they say too!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

