What’s lurking out there in the night?

I didn't take any photographs wort showing, so they all come from the weekend that just passed.

I didn’t take any photographs wort showing, so they all come from the weekend that just passed.

 

Something was lurking around outside my cottage yesterday evening, something that neither Sune nor the cats liked. I had opened the door so Sune could go out to do his business. He stopped for a second and sniffed in the air, ran towards the gate and started barking like crazy. He didn’t want to stay but still this was so interesting that he didn’t want to get in either.

 

DSC_0001 (800x521)

DSC_0012 (800x525)

 

 I opened the door for my cats shortly after that so they could go out and do what ever cats do in the night. Bertil refused to get out at all but Teodor stepped out on the stairs, just to stop and sniff in the air. It didn’t take ten seconds before he jumped right back indoors again🙂

 

DSC_0019 (536x800)

DSC_0028 (800x536)

 

I think an hour had passed when I opened the door for Sune again but the same thing happened again. He really didn’t like what ever was out there.  It wasn’t until just before we went to bed that he finally couldn’t feel any smell from the thing he didn’t like and finally my cats also went outside. I do wonder what it was.

 

DSC_0029 (800x536)

DSC_0031 (536x800)

 

I know we have a wolf couple in this region but I haven’t heard that they are close to here. It could be the lynx that followed the deers, because I don’t think a single deer was here all night after that. My dogs like foxes and badgers aren’t something they fear either. But then I came to think about wild hogs. They have never been even close to my cottage before but they walk on the bog and the bog starts behind my garage. But do cats fear wild hogs? I have no idea.

 

DSC_0033 (800x535)

DSC_0042 (800x536)

 

The deers came early today and i hope they eat what is left from last night too even if it is rather wet this evening. They really must because they were rather many at the same time here just minutes ago🙂 The fire is burning in the stove and since it is rather warm outside I don’t think I’ll have to keep it alive for very long tonight.

 

DSC_0010 (800x536)

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “What’s lurking out there in the night?

  1. hmmmm…i wonder what was out there? scary! i wonder if it was the lynx looking for the deer? a big storm is on the way for us. it starts tomorrow afternoon. teddy was walking on one of our frozen ponds this morning and the ice cracked and she fell in. she is black. and it’s not even mud but more like tar. and she refuses to go to the groomer. i’m not sure what i am going to do with her.

    • Hi Joyce!

      My guess is that it is the lynx or possibly wild hogs. But just in case we didn’t walk out to the bog todsay if it was wolves🙂

      I guess it’s all kinds of stuff at the bottom of the pond that got stuck in Teddy’s fur. Can be a bit hard to remove I’m afraid. Would she allow You to clean her up?

      I hope the storm isn’t too bad but since I know You most probably will like it I hope it’s bad enough🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Well, whatever was lurking outside your door must have been big and mean or maybe just evil-smelling.🙂 I thought it was enough to have coyotes. Wolves and lynxes and wild boars. Oh, my!🙂

    It’s partly sunny here today but there’s a strong, cold wind out of the east so it isn’t very pleasant to walk around outside. I filled the bird feeder, took some photos of stuff and ran back inside. Rocky didn’t hang around out there very long, either. Much nicer to sleep in the sunny chair on the enclosed porch.🙂

    Enjoy the evening and I hope you don’t have any more scary visitors.

    • Hi Caryn!

      I really don’t mind wolves and lynx’s but I really don’t want hogs in my garden. I think I’m glad that we don’t have coyotes, I like watching them on tv but I wonder what they would be able to do towards dogs like Sune. Nova is just slightly bigger than he is but much more capable to take care of herself and the other ones🙂

      It would have been nice to sleep in a glassed porch on sunny, windy winter days🙂 I must build one when I win the lottery🙂🙂

      I think the lurking one is out there again, Sune wasn’t too happy when he went out minutes ago🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Would the wild boars be out there at night? Would Doris and company be coming to your yard if it smelled like wolf or lynx?
        Coyotes are not much afraid of people and they do very well in urban environments. They are also very clever about getting at prey so they would be more of a threat to your dogs and cats than wolves or lynxes.

      • Hi Caryn!

        Yes they would if they wanted to, especially now since the ground is frozen and covered with ice during nights. I guess they are pretty hungry now.

        There were no deer in sight that night and lots of the food was still left the next morning. But I don’t know how deers react to hogs though. I think it’s horses and wild hogs that can’t stand each other so perhaps deer thinks tha same as horses?

        So it’s a good thing we don’t have coyotes here🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  3. ok, that sounds scary. I’d be afraid to open the door again…which reminds me, they just advertised on TV last night that Grimm is going to start up again!

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m not worried for my own sake but for my animals. Both the ones living in the cottage and those outdoors.

      They show Grimm herev on Sundays at 10pm and the rerun on Mondays at 5 am!!!! I’ll buy every season on dvd instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Skrämmande! Det måste ju vara antingen lodjur eller varg eftersom katterna inte heller ville gå ut:( Lustigt att de känner på lukten att det är något konstigt/farligt.Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Nja, mera spännande och hade jag haft en rejäl ficklampa hade jag gått ut och letat efter vad det kan ha varit🙂

      Jag har alltid undrat om hundar tänker varg eller annan hund när de känner vargdoft. För vargar ser ju hundar som vargar och dödar dem om de kan.

      Ha det!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!

      Oh I think it’s interresting! I would have gone out to see what it was if I had had a good flash light, so that’s on my list to buy now🙂 Besides, it’s good to know if we have wolves in the neighborhood so I can have my dogs close to me.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

