Nasty cold but wonderful morning. (and the meeting yesterday of course)

DSC_0002 (800x535)

 

The meeting went well despite most of those that usually argue and complain was there🙂 I think it had to do with the fact that people from the county council were there and that the meeting was held by the castle owner and his staff. I do understand those that wants municipal water and sewer, I really do. But I don’t understand why they lied and said that almost every household was going to join. It turns out that 1/3 of the households won’t connect to this.

 

DSC_0022 (800x536)

I walked around for two hours and some more close to the ruins of Gudhems Abbey while waiting for my car to be repaired and here are some photographs I took during that time.

I walked around for two hours and some more close to the ruins of Gudhems Abbey while waiting for my car to be repaired and here are some photographs I took during that time.

DSC_0026 (800x536)

DSC_0027 (800x536)

 

There were other things that made me doubtful of this, for instance the other economic association  that we want to join for this isn’t even sure they want us with them and if they would we now only have one week to decide whether we want this or not, after next week they start digging. The price is another factor, it’s high enough as it is but can become even higher because we haven’t negotiated about a loan yet, so the price we have to decide on isn’t sure at all🙂

 

DSC_0031 (800x536)

DSC_0032 (800x536)

I wanted to buy this property before I bought the cottage I live in now but back then it was a mess. I would have bought it if I've been a carpenter because then I could have done most of the repairs myself. Unfortunately I'm a painter :-)

I wanted to buy this property before I bought the cottage I live in now but back then it was a mess. I would have bought it if I’ve been a carpenter because then I could have done most of the repairs myself. Unfortunately I’m a painter🙂

DSC_0034 (800x536)

 

There are too many buts and ifs so I won’t connect to this and neither are the most of the other neighbors close to me. Those wanting the sewer connected are the ones whose sewer system is condemned. They can’t even think of the alternatives that we have today like the modern composting toilets or the freezer kinds that freezes everything to ashes. They also believe that the property value will rise as much as this system costs. Unfortunately for them, no one that wants to move here belongs to those people who wants any connection with any municipal department🙂 It’s way too long to the bus stop and the bus doesn’t pass by especially often and it’s even longer to the closest grocery store.

 

DSC_0035 (800x536)

DSC_0037 (800x536)

Lots of old tombs in this area too.

Lots of old tombs in this area too.

DSC_0043 (800x536)

 

I took the day of from work today, I had to get that thingy in my car swapped so it can pass the inspection later on this month. The sun has been shining all day and the temperature has been below 32F all the time. We have also had a nasty, raw and biting weak wind that really destroyed much of the morning when I walked around in Gudhem while waiting for my car. But it was wonderful as soon as I could get away from the wind. I walked around for two hours and after that I went to Falköping to buy more deer food and some fire logs.

 

They have a small shop/ cafe in one of the smaller buildings at the mantion You can see in the photo before this one.

They have a small shop/ cafe in one of the smaller buildings at the mantion You can see in the photo before this one. The signs says “The Heart of Gudhem. things from now and then”.

Flea market, cafe, craftmanship.

Flea market, cafe, craftmanship.

The property I once wanted.

The property I once wanted.

DSC_0051 (800x536)

 

They didn’t have any deer food and wouldn’t get any until next week so I didn’t know what to do. But the personnel started calling around to other shops (that also was out of deer food) and the head quarters and asked what else I could use. Everyone they asked said that I should by a horse feed pellet instead and now I’m waiting to see what the deers think of it🙂

 

I have some more photographs but I'll show them tomorrow. I passed the lake on my way home and then my dogs and I walked in the forest when I camne home.

I have some more photographs but I’ll show them tomorrow. I passed the lake on my way home and then my dogs and I walked in the forest when I camne home.

DSC_0080 (800x517)

DSC_0086 (800x535)

DSC_0090 (800x535)

 

It’s time to make something to eat, I haven’t had anything since 6 am this morning and that’s 11 hours ago🙂

 

DSC_0089 (800x536)

DSC_0092 (800x525)

DSC_0093 (800x536)

DSC_0095 (800x536)

Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Nasty cold but wonderful morning. (and the meeting yesterday of course)

  1. Hi Christer,
    It doesn’t sound like much pre-planning was put into the water-sewer proposal if they aren’t even sure about the financing. I would have thought the supporters would have had that part of it all lined up before hand.
    Property values might go up by a lot if there is town sewer and water. The bus thing won’t matter because the people who buy those properties have disposable income and use cars.
    The property you wanted to buy looks very large. Does all that field come with it? How many acres?
    Lovely sunny weather over there even if it was a nasty cold wind spoiling it.
    Here we are having another northeaster. It’s been snowing heavily since last night and will probably go on for another few hours. There has been a lot of damage to property along the coast. One house has already gone over into the sea and there are several others that are condemned because the seawater has undercut the foundations. I think I might have 18 inches or more of the snow on the ground at my house right now. And it will be 54ºF by Sunday! March…gotta love it.🙂
    Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!

      No it isn’t but I have to admit that they have done as good as they can. But this is just a too short time to calculate anthing since they actually don’t know what the bank will say. All they really know is that it would be even more expensive if they had to start all over by themselves again.

      People moving out here is the kind that wants to get away from all community influense and want as few bills as possible. Those that want municipal water/ sewer can get better properties closer to one of the bigger twons nearby. Property values would rise but not even close to what they would have to pay for this. But if we’ll get fiberoptic internet, that would be a whole different thing out here.

      No, no field to that property, only the space where the buildings stand. I loved that place but for me it just was too big problems to fix. But someone that could fix most things by him/ herself would get a great property

      It was a lovely morning as long as I could stay away from the wind, but it was nasty cold anyway🙂

      I read about that in Coffee! I can’t understand why they absolutely must build their homes by the water! I do hope no one gets killed by this storm!
      18 inches is an awful lot! We’ll get mos´re snow after the weekend but not even close to that🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i love the photo of the stone wall with the moss! that property you were interested in is gorgeous! what does a property like that cost? we have a sunny cold day here but tomorrow it will start a big warm up! good that you have a long weekend! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I wish I had such a wall but it has been standing there for a very long time🙂

      I loved that place the moment I stepped in to it but I would never have been able to renovate it myself and it would have been way too expensive to hire someone to fix it.

      I don’t know what a place like that would cost today but I’ll see if I can find something similar and then I’ll tell You. But property prices isn’t that high in this area.

      It will stay cold here for at least a week or more but we’ll have sun most of the time🙂
      Yes a long weekend is always nice🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    I love the pictures of the houses, and I envy you the sun. I wouldn’t care if it were cold if the sun was shining.

    Here we are connected to town water, but we have no sewers. We have septic tanks buried in the yard. With the ocean so important, there are no sewers except for run offs on low lying parts of a road. Some people still have wells, and they lose their water when the electricity goes out.

    That land and house you almost bought looks enormous. Did it have all those buildings when you were thinking of buying it?

    You couldn’t have done the carpentry but at least it would have looked good!

    • Hi Kat!

      More will come tomorrow.

      We can get only water too but the cost won’t get much lower I’m afraid. I have a septic tank too but in the neighbors field🙂 I’ll have water for a while if the power breaks, it rarely does though. The water preassure keeps it running anyway for quite some time because I have over 200 hyards water pipe from the pump🙂

      I loved that property but there was just toom much to do befrore it was liveable. All the building belonged to the property already then. The closest neighbor however was and still is a juvenile prison and they do escape every now and again🙂

      Yes the wall painting would have been beautiful🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!

      But these photographs are taken rather far from my place🙂 Besides, she wouldn’t stand all the flies and biting insects here🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer, enjoyed all the daytime photos today as when you walk the dogs early in the morning or later in the evening it is much darker. Here we will be gaining an hours of daylight this weekend as the clocks move ahead an hour. It will be nice to have a longer daylight time and thankfully darker mornings don’t matter to us retired folks. I think I mentioned before that we have a septic and a well so there are no water or sewage fees and this is for the entire town. The neighboring town has municipal services and as a result the texes are higher. Folks here know that if a major storm is forecasr, like a hurricane, that having bottled gallons of water available is good as is filling the bathtub in advance. We have done both and thankfully not had an emergency. Bet you are glad to have the car fixed and hopefully at not too great a cost. Enjoy your weekend!

    • Hi Beatrice!

      All but the five last ones are and the two foirst ones taken just after the sun rose in the morning🙂 Things cahnge fast here now when it comes to daylight and I love it🙂 The sun is now up 6 minutes longer every day but it get light at least half an hour before the sun shows🙂

      Even our strongest storms are like babies to Your storms🙂 The two strongest we’ve had lately barly made it in to Your scale at all🙂🙂🙂 But we usually have enough food and drinkable things at home to last for a week or so.

      Yes it’s always nice to have the car fixed since I do depend on it so much. But I think I would have cared less if it was summer, everything is so much easier in life during summer🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer, I am dragging in late tonight to read your post.
    Great photos today of different views. You didn’t stop at the cafe for a coffee and pastry? I would love the flea market and crafts part (well of course the coffee and pastry too! lol)
    I hope whatever happens with all the water/sewer issues, that you won’t be affected.
    Have a great weekend.

    • Hi Robin!

      Well the cafe didn’t open until 11 am and I walked around there at 7 am🙂 I was long gone before they even was thinking of opening up🙂

      I won’t connect so I won’t be affected thankfully🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Har varit ute och FÖRSÖKT hitta en plats att ta en prommis på. Antingen var det barmark och isande vind eller också var det isigt på marken – och det senare är inte alls OK för mig just nu. Har ryggskott och minsta halkning (och därmed sträckning) skulle förmodligen förvärra det ryggonda avsevärt. Om man nu kan få ondare!? Har bedrövligt ont just nämligen och igår när vi hade middagsgäster så var det inte speciellt kul med en värdinna som vrålskrek var 10:e sekund och inte kunde resa sig från soffan när dom skulle gå hem!

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja vägarna nu är inte roliga alls! Har man dessutom ont i ryggen är de ju vidriga att gå på! Jag hoppas verkligen det släpper snart på dig! Har ju reumatism i ryggraden så jag vet hur ont det kan göra.

      Ta vara på dig!
      Christer.

  7. I’m sorry that you have to go through all this worry and expense of this water and sewer situation.
    It sounds awful.😦
    That property you liked does look nice, Especailly if you could have the acreage around it. You could have had HORSES!🙂🙂🙂🙂
    I totally understand about the carpentry problem.
    I get frustrated because I don’t have that talent nor the funds to hire anyone.
    Most of the women in my family or my girlfriends are married to handi-guys and they just point at stuff and it gets fixed. Or they open up their wallets and take care of it. Oh well. You can’t have it all I guess and I’m happy with my dogs/cats and peace of mind.🙂
    Sune looks to be a dog now, no longer the puppy….they grow up so fast!😀

    • Hi Cindi!

      I won’t connect so I’m not especially worried to be honest. But I don’t like when they lie (or tell half truths) and are aggressive towards those that doesn’t want this. But I’m not afraid of answering aggressively myself🙂

      It is a nice property but it would have been nasty expensive if there had been some fields to it as well🙂 and horses would never even come close to me🙂

      I do wish I had become a carpenter even though I love being a painter. But it would make life so much easier and cheaper if I had become a carpenter🙂🙂🙂 I have friends who are and they help me when I need it but that property would have been just too much🙂🙂🙂

      No, Sune is a big boy now, even if he is small🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

