It smells nice in my cottage.

Doris is getting bigger, soon a new little one will grace the fields :-)

Doris is getting bigger, soon a new little one will grace the fields🙂

I have a bread just waiting to be placed in the oven and it’s already so warm in my cottage that I almost wish I never started baking🙂 Well the night will be cold so I better keep the fire burning. Yesterday morning it was -20 C (-4 F) and my car didn’t like it at all. The oil lamps shone bright and refused to stop shining. The car didn’t lack oil but I think it’s the sensor that freeze and sort of gets short circuited. I had the engine going for a minute or so and went indoors to call my boss, after that I went out to the car again and started the engine. The lamp flashed a couple of times and then the light went out.

 

DSC_0008 (800x527)

DSC_0013 (800x532)

DSC_0011 (800x532)

DSC_0015 (800x532)

 

This is the second time that happens when it’s really cold outdoors, it never happens when it’s warmer. But I’ll give the garage a call later on so they can check it. I hate when things like that happens, especially when it’s winter and cold. Things are so much easier to cope with when it’s summer even if it would rain🙂

 

DSC_0020 (800x532)

DSC_0022 (800x502)

DSC_0023 (800x532)

DSC_0026 (800x532)

 

We’ve had another springwinter day here and it will be much the same tomorrow they say. But real winter will return again next week so I better enjoy this as much as I can. Spring will be delayed but I heard that we have over 100 cranes here now🙂 Thankfully they will get fed during this cold period otherwise they most likely would freeze to death. I’ll go to the lake as soon as more cranes arrive.

 

DSC_0031 (800x532)

DSC_0038 (800x532)

DSC_0041 (800x531)

DSC_0042 (532x800)

 

It’s time to put that bread in the oven, today I don’t have rosemary in it, I forgot to buy that when I was in the store. Today I have Oregano instead, I do hope it will taste good🙂

 

DSC_0016 (800x532)

DSC_0019 (800x532)

DSC_0018 (800x532)

DSC_0024 (800x532)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0002 (800x532)

20 thoughts on “It smells nice in my cottage.

  1. hi christer! i hope your bread is good. it will be sort of italian? i have a bad cold. i almost made it through the winter without one but brendan had a bad one and i got it from him. i have a horrible cough! i am surrounded by crazy noisy parties for st. patrick’s day. teddy is on guard! enjoy your springlike weather! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      too bad You got that cold! I do hope it will turn to the better quickly!

      Thankfully the bread smelled stronger than it tasted 🙂🙂🙂 It’s actually quite good and as You say, sort of Italian🙂
      Not fun having a cold and noisy parties going around nearby!

      Take care!
      Christer.

  2. Jag kan nästan luktar ditt bröd,jag bakade igår,Hade lite italienska kryddor i degen,rosmarin har jag inte provat.har en ny kruka med färsk rosmarin.Russin,torkade tranbär,hackade aprikoser och ibland katrinplommmon ingår.Lite havregryn osv.Jag gör bullar av det så jag tar upp ur frysen till frukost.Fina bilder med glada hundar och en söt katt.På den ena bilden ser hunden lite trumpen ut,eller bara förvånad.
    Ha en trevlig söndag.

    • Hejsan Renate!

      Rosmarin i brödet är så gott! Ibland tar jag basilika och gärna lite ingefära i också. Men det är sällan jag har russin eller annan frukt i, inte för att jag inte gillar det utan för att jag sällan har det hemma🙂

      De kan se lite trumpna ut när jag fotograferar dem🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Christer,
    Rosemary grows nicely in the house, and that way you’ll never be without it. It has such a lovely smell.

    It is cold here too, in the 20’s, not as cold as where you are, and we have no snow at all. This year, though, has been horrible for the beaches. Many of the dunes have disappeared and several houses had to be torn down as they either fell over where the dune had been or they are not safe because there is little left under them. Two storms were especially destructive with their winds. Another storm is coming, but they don’t know how bad it will be yet, too soon.

    Gracie is out far longer than she had been all winter so I guess that’s a good sign!

    • Hi Kat!

      We need extra light here if rosemary should grow in the house, but I could of course have it in my cool cellar where I have greenhouse lights. I need to go down there every now and again to water the plants that spends winter there even if they have no leafs. I do tend to kill a lot of plants down there🙂🙂🙂

      I think You actually got lower temperatures than we did last night, but this is just temporary because already tomorrow it will get colder again and after that the snow will arrive. Well that’s March here🙂

      You’ve had a couple of nasty storms! But I still can’t understand why people want to have their houses so close to the water. We all know that storms and flooding sooner or later will destroy them. We rarely have as strong storms as You do though, I’m glad to say!

      Dogs are a sure sign when seasons changes🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Sounds like the bread turned out just fine.
    I don’t know what today was like. It seemed not too cold this morning when I dropped Rocky off at doggy day care. I spent the rest of the day with a group of friends and that is always warm and inviting. The sun was out and it didn’t seem too cold when I left for home.
    Hope your car is okay. I hate mystery lights. My jeep was telling me that it’s right front parking light was not working and when I checked it I agreed. It kept telling me the light was not working right up until I bought a new light and then it started working again. I bet it will stop working at the very moment it goes on the inspection lifts next month.🙂
    Enjoy the bread and the warmth and the rest of the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it did and it got even better today🙂

      I’m pretty sure that light will stop working the second You drive in to that inspection🙂 It always works like that🙂 I’m guessing that perhaps a mouse has been chewing on the cable to the oil lamp and when it’s cold or high humidity that lamp will shine bright again :-)But I better get it checked just in case.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Nothing drives me as crazy as when something is wrong with my car. I hate it because I feel like I am other peoples mercy and also the car repair place can tell me anything and I won’t know if they are lying. so sorry you have to deal with it.
    Nova and Sune look like they are playing pretty rough there!
    and Bertil looks kinda “sweet”.
    I’ve had a long crazy week. It’s Spring break and the kennel is over flowing! I worked a double today and I’m exhausted. The vet clinic parking lot was packed when I left tonight because the neighboring bar/pub has big tents set up for St. Paddys and everyone is out there celebrating and drinking.
    And it’s still cold here.
    I’m praying for Spring.🙂

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’ve found a garage that is well known for being honest so that’s nothing I have to think about thankfully. The fun thing is that I can actually build en entire car, something I learned when working at Volvo. BUT I have no idea which thing is what🙂🙂🙂
      I think this problem has to do with a cable most possibly chewed by mice, happens rather often out here, especially if I have my car in my own garage🙂

      So the kennel is full and there’s a bar nearby with loud and drunken people? sounds like a fun combination🙂 It’s actually hard to find a kennel like that over here when one needs to go somewhere. They are usually way out in some forest where no one can hear any dogs barking. I think most of us rather ask friends if they can help, much cheaper to do so as well🙂

      Cold here too but that’s just normal. It seems though as spring will arrive late this year because of a high pressure that refuses to move away🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • A lot of the kennels around here are in the country too but since ours is connected to the vet clinic it’s only a block off the main busy 4 lane street. Of course all the businesses including the vet clinic are probably less than 10 years old since it’s all new developement in this area. Actually there are medical buildings to one side of us, a woods behind us and a cornfield on the other side because……….it’s in Iowa after all! Hahahaha!

      • Sounds as if it’s a perfect place to have a kennel! Close to the vet just in case and still a sort of feeling of countryside🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  6. Det är ALLTID när det är dåligt väder och man behöver sina fordon som bäst som dom börjar krångla. Det är lagen om all jävlighet som slår till…..😦
    Brödet blev säkert jättegott, jag gillar oregano bättre än rosmarin.🙂
    Här är det – 2 grader och strålande sol just nu, men det har varit bittert kallt dom senaste nätterna (ner till -15 grader) så man undrar ju hur länge den efterlängtade våren ska lysa med sin frånvaro!?😦😦

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja det verkar höra till🙂 Tror du man kan vända det och säga högt till sig själv, bredvid bilen, att det vore hemst om den gick sönder på sommaren🙂🙂🙂

      Det blev inte dumt alls det brödet, fast i början trodde jag det skulle smaka alldeles för mycket oregano för det luktade nästan jobbigt mycket av det🙂 Fast jag tror nog jag gillar dem bägge lika mycket.

      Våren dröjer nog minst en vecka till, kanske mer här i inlandet tror jag, men jag hoppas jag har fel🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi dq!

      Not so lovely to be honest. He had dug up lots of soil and spread it over my sofa. But he is qute, that’s for sure🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

