All Creatures Great and Small.

DSC_0054 (800x531)

 

I could hear the over hundred cranes, that have arrived so far, shouting on the fields this morning. This was the last day with reasonable heath for quite some time so I do hope they enjoyed it. They get fed so they will survive but I doubt they’ll like the ten coming days. We’ll have temperatures way below 0C (32 F) and we’ll get more snow too.

 

DSC_0002 (800x532)

DSC_0004 (800x521)

DSC_0005 (800x527)

 

I have bought the first season of the great BBC series “All Creatures Great and Small” and the series is based on the British veterinary James Herriot, or as his real name was James Alfred wight. He started to work as a veterinary in Thirsk, Yorkshire, 1940. Thankfully he wrote a diary and later on he published what he had written in several books (to be honest, much of the stories are only loosely based on things he experienced himself). He’s a favorite of mine and one of my dogs are named after one of his dogs, Hector🙂

 

DSC_0007 (800x532)

DSC_0011 (800x532)

DSC_0013 (800x531)

 

I’ve seen the three first episodes and I think I’ll watch one episode every week so it lasts longer🙂 Well I’ll watch a fourth tonight since there’s nothing worth watching on tv. After that I simply have to buy all the other seasons too🙂 Even though they were filmed in 1977 they still are easy to find due to how popular they always have been. If You haven’t read his books I highly recommend them. And Yes Cindi they are sometimes rather sad but there’s so much fun things in them so I think You would like them a lot🙂

 

DSC_0015 (800x531)

DSC_0017 (800x532)

DSC_0018 (800x532)

 

It’s time to start the fire in the stove again, the night will most likely be cold since there’s no clouds in the sky. After that I’ll make myself a sandwich or two and a cup of coffee. Then I’ll go up and watch the fourth episode of All Creatures Great and Small🙂

 

DSC_0019 (800x521)

I was surprised to see a bunch of Waxwings in my garden today.

I was surprised to see a bunch of Waxwings in my garden today.

DSC_0041 (800x533)

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0031 (800x532)

18 thoughts on “All Creatures Great and Small.

  1. I have collected these books too, I love them all but the one book about cats is dear to my heart.We hav this series on DVD across the street at the library, the shows also come on periodically , mostly Public Television channel.I agree, even though the years have past they are timeless in their message, we should all treat animals with love and compassion, dignity and caring, you r photos today are beautiful, Bertril has quite a resting spot, hope he doesn’t take root!

    • Hi Laurie!

      I actually don’t have the cat book🙂 I’ve forgotten about that so now I must check if I can get it🙂 But there’s another book about cats that I love written by Doris Lessing. It’s called On Cats.

      I do love the James Herriot series and how he describes how it was being a vet back in the days.

      You can’t see all the dirt Bertil dug up from the flower pot though! The nasty littkle cat spread it all over my sofa🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I love the potted kitty.😀
    It’s amazing how animals can make the most outrageous positions look like the ultimate in comfort. If I curled up on the carpet for a snooze, I’d not be able to walk upright for a week always assuming I could get upright to begin with.🙂🙂🙂

    Is that your back door? It looks a bit like mine with all the stuff but I have more steps. And lots of moss and leaves. I don’t use it so it doesn’t get swept.

    We have Cedar Waxwings. I love to see them but they don’t come through very often. I always forget how small they really are because they project big personalities that make them seem larger. They’re noisy, too.
    The redtail hawk pair is back. They were out hunting together the other day. I got a very bad picture of a hawk shaped spot against the sky.🙂 Need that telephoto lens.

    The shaggy ponies are still looking very shaggy. I bet they are starting to shed out just the same because the daylight is getting longer and that’s what triggers it. I really miss my horse but I don’t miss shedding him out in early spring. There was so much hair every time I brushed that I could have stuffed a cushion.

    I watched the early episodes of All Creatures Great and Small. Helen Mirin was playing James Herriot’s wife but she left after the first season, I think. Peter Davison was in it as the younger brother of the older veterinarian. He later played Doctor Who after Tom Baker.

    It’s sunny here today but the wind is chilly. We’re expecting another intense winter storm tomorrow night. I know it’s not spring yet but winter should just give up at this point. Really. It’s done its job for the year. It can stop now.🙂

    Enjoy your DVDs and the rest of the evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      The nasty little animal dug out the flower pot and spread the dirt all over the sofa! But he was comfortable that’s for sure🙂 I wouldn’t be able to get up either if I’ve been curled up on the floor🙂

      No thank god that’s not my door 🙂 I hate figures like lions and gnomes in gardens🙂🙂🙂 No one has lived in that house for almost a year now, that’s why it looks like it does.

      Waxwings usually only come here during early winter so I guess these are flying north to nest. It’s fun really, they fly down here to get an easier winter🙂🙂🙂
      A telephoto lens is worth its weight in gold🙂

      I don’t know much about horses but my dogs have started shedding now so I guess those horses do to🙂

      It was Carol Drinkwater (wonderful name🙂 ) that played his wife the first seasons. In think they actually got married in real life too and she didn’t want to continue playing her after the divorce. I have to admit that I liked the second one better but I can’t remember her name. To bad I haven’t been able to see Doctor Who after moving from Gothenburg, I can’t remember him playing Doctor Who but I do remember Tom Baker.

      I agree, winter should give up now but it has a will of its own I’m afraid🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • How can you live without being able to see Dr Who!?!😀
        I could have sworn Helen Mirren was in that series and I guess I am not the only one because there were a bunch of questions on the internet about the same thing. I do remember that the original actress didn’t come back for later series.
        I had a teacher named Carol Drinkwater. In my town the Drinkwaters are usually a branch of the Bevilaguas. There were two brothers Bevilagua who came from Portugal. One brother was traditional and kept the name. The other brother said it was a new country with a new language so he translated the name to English.
        Or so the story goes.🙂
        A mossy old lion in the garden is not necessarily a bad thing as long as he is a well executed mossy old lion.🙂

      • Hi Caryn!

        It’s hard🙂 He never got popular here for some reason I just can’t understand!

        I’ve read that made a film too, perhaps she was in that movie? I’ll see if I can find anything about it!

        TDrinkwater is a name that definitely would be very odd here🙂 But it has become popular to change names now days so perhaps we’ll soon have something similar here too🙂

        Well, one mossy lion somewhere it can’t be seen to well then🙂 But I don’t mind them in other peoples gardens🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  3. Det låter som en intressant serie:) Ibland är det så härligt att ha serier att titta på när det bara är “skit” på tv, inga reklamavbrott blir det heller:) Underbart foto på katten, är det en stickling:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!

      Så du har inte sett den? Min absoluta favoritserie🙂

      Nä det är ingen stickling, ett ogräs snarare🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. I am watching All Creatures Great and Small on Netflix – there are 87 and I am on 65 – they are wonderful. Netflix is only $9.00 per month here and so worth it.

    • Hi Dee!

      The internet connection I have now isn’t good enough for having netflix but I’ll have 4G on my next one and then I can start use netflix. But then again, I like to have dvd’s so I can watch them whenever I want to🙂 It is a great series but I didn’t know there were so many episode🙂 The more the better as we say over here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer…..your kitty is growing so nicely! do you have to water him much? we are waiting for a big rain/snow/ice storm to arrive. and i am sick…really awful sick…ugh! and i have days of cooking for braedon’s event. all i want to do is sleep! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      No he doesn’t respond well to watering🙂 I think he might be a cactus, his temper shopws signs of it too🙂🙂🙂

      We’re already having the storm here but it looks like weä’re missing most of the snow🙂

      Your cold is still hanging on? It isn’t fun to have loads to do when feeling ill!

      Take care!
      Christer.

  6. Det var en underbar serie och min gubbes favorit.🙂 Vi pratade faktiskt om den i förrgår, då vi påpekade att av dom tre huvudpersonerna så har man sett två under åren i olika produktioner. Men inte den skådis som spelade Harriot!? Och sen så nämnde Rolle förstås “favorithunden” Trickywoo (jag tror namnet stavades ungefär så). Så du har en underbar serie att njuta av!!🙂🙂
    annars är det inte så mycket att njuta av just nu, jo solen kanske, men denna kyla och blåst gör att det ändå inte är kul. Nu vill vi ju ha lite värme…..🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Visst är den bra! Men jag måste erkänna att jag inte visste att de gjort 85 avsnitt! Så många har de då inte sänt i SVT.

      Jag tror att han som spelade Herriot föredrog scenen, har för mig att jag läste att han gillade pantomim! Något jag själv tycker är obehagligt🙂🙂🙂

      Tricky Woo🙂 Han dyker upp rätt tidigt i serien🙂 Naturligtvis är han en favorit🙂🙂

      Det blåser något väldigt ute just nu och det var ganska obehagligt att gå omkring i kylan och vinden när jag kom hem.

      Ha det gott i stormen!
      Christer.

  7. Ha! OK, obviously you were reading my mind because I was just thinking that they would probably make me cry! But maybe I will see if I can rent the series from my library.😀
    I just finished one of the best books EVER. It’s called “The Art of Racing in the Rain”. by Garth Stein. Actually I was listening to it on CD’s in my car. There were 6 discs and I listened to the first 3 and realized I couldn’t listen to any more while driving. So I listened to the last 3 while trying to clean my house but when I got to the very last one, I found myself just standing in the room, listening. Towards the end of it, I sat down and just sobbed. The kind of crying where you can hardly breathe. But….it was a good book and I glad I “listened” to it.
    Yeah, one of the best books ever. You need to get it.😦 🙂🙂🙂

    • Hi Cindi!
      🙂 I knew that You would wonder about that🙂 and yes there are some really sad parts in both books and tv series but mostly it’s just fun🙂

      I’ll see if I can find that book over here but I can’t listen to books being read. My thoughts tends to wander away and suddenly I don’t know what has happened and then I have to start all over again🙂🙂 But I have to admit, I rarely cry when reding books.

      Have a great day!
      Christer

Leave a Reply

